Humans logo

Simple Indulgence's

Pinot noir and Merlot

By sandra pikePublished 3 years ago 7 min read

The clicking of my heels echoed off the sun mellowed, brick and stone walls of the otherwise quiet street. I walked alone in a town small enough to sit for an hour in the right place and not see a soul, as all the towns inhabitants are inside their often quite lavish homes. As I walked the setting sun was in the right position to illuminate the highest tree leaves to a golden hue. The tops of buildings which housed flourishing businesses were also aglo. I passed by a park, near the middle of the town’s center, and spotted a miniature lake with a swan floating gently across the reflective water. Its form was a silhouette against the dusk light, but the shape of its craning neck gave it away. Just when my feet were starting to ache in my rarely-worn stilettos I spotted a neon sign in the window of a simple looking Italian restaurant which read ‘Semplice Indulgenza’. With one last look around the dusk soaked scenery I took a deep breath and walked inside.

“Hi, I'm here for a reservation under the name Klaus Vitkus” I looked around the small seating area for my date, but the only patrons in sight were a small group of older men in velvet high chairs at the bar, and a middle aged couple by the windows.

“Right this way, miss.” The hostesses' soft tone and warm smile were comforting to my nerves.

“I guess he’s not here yet.” I pointed out with a lighthearted smile at the sight of the empty booth.

“You are a little early, I'm sure he’ll be here soon.” She said sympathetically before walking back to her stand.

I chose the seat facing the door so I could see when he arrived. I didn't have much time to think before a waitress popped up beside me.

“Hello, my name is Andrea and I'll be your server tonight, can I get you anything to start.” Andrea was about twenty, her bright blue eyes stood out on her porcelain complexion.

Of course in a town like this I'm sure most of the girls would have celebrity-status good looks.

“Hello, Andrea.” I greeted her with a smile, “I would just like a glass of water for now, thank you.”

With her gone and my date still absent I was able to get lost in my own thoughts for the time being. Images of Klaus drew my focus, I pictured the first time I saw him all those years ago when we were just kids, at a regional music competition of all places. I’d played the clarinet, he’d played the cello.

The pressure of representing my school had been enormous, but still, I believed he had earned his victory. I remember him smiling at me with excitement when I received second place. I'd figured there was no way a human being could fake the enthusiasm and joy for life this boy embodied.

After the show he talked his parents into taking all the friends he’d made to get pizza, and somehow I had made the cut. Even though I spent more time eating than talking it was still a good memory.

We didn't talk much after that for a few years until we ended up at the same ivy league college. I had earned a scholarship, and it was because of my fear of losing my scholarship that I dedicated myself to my school work. Because of this we were regretfully absent from each other's lives. Except for special occasions like birthdays or when I broke my arm. Even though I'd asked him not to, he showed up at my dorm room every day for weeks with a different gift. It was just his nature to spoil his friends. Eventually he’d been given the nick-name Santa Klaus (pronounced Kl-ow-s) by some of his closer friends, who were evidently close enough to make lame jokes comfortably.

“Here's your water.” Andrea cheerily interrupted my reminiscing to put a glass of water down in front of me.

“Oh, thank you.”

“Do you wanna order something while you wait, an appetizer or a drink?” Andrea asked sweetly.

“No thank you, I think I'll just wait for my date.” I checked my phone as she walked away, to see what time it was.

Ten past seven, he was ten minutes late. My thoughts began to trip over each other in an eagerness to stoke my anxiety.

‘What if he’s mad at me for avoiding him and this is his revenge.’

‘What if he forgot.”

‘What if the date was supposed to be tomorrow, what if the hostess just assumed I was right and sat me without even checking for his name.’

Just as I was about to fake a trip to the bathroom and run out I saw him dressed up in an expensive looking, navy blue suit, right outside the restaurant. He appeared to be enjoying the scenery and breathing the fresh air. After a moment of this he stepped into the building and greeted the hostess with a warm smile and a confident “Hello!”

Once the hostess turned to lead him to me I caught his eye, he raised his hand to give me a curt but friendly wave. I waved my hand gently in response. I was finding it hard to keep the smile off my face now even though only moments ago I had been planning my escape.

“Klaus!” I found myself standing to give him a hug, immediately he opened the wide span of his lean arms to embrace me.

It was the kind of hug I always assumed must be better for the taller person, I felt my spine breaking backwards as he leaned his tall frame against me. Even so we shared an effortless laugh before sitting down across from each other.

Immediately Andrea came back with a big smile, and better posture than she’d had before.

“Hi there. My name is Andrea, I'll be your waitress tonight. What can I get for you?” She spoke slower than before and had her full body turned towards him as if I still wouldn’t want to order.

“Hmm,” Klaus hummed thoughtfully, “I would like a glass of pinot noir and the Osso Buco. Thank you.”

Upon finishing his order he handed the menu back to Andrea with a smile and she returned the smile eagerly. Finally she turned to me and asked with intensely fake niceness. “Have you decided on anything?”

“Um, the chicken please.” I said quickly so she’d go away.

“Nothing to drink?” Klaus asked skeptically.

“You know I've never been a big drinker.” I shrugged, but under the table I was pressing my hands into my knees anxiously.

“Of course, when you were dedicated to your school work and your brilliant mind was still developing.” He spoke to me the way I imagined a knight would speak to his squire. “Please, let me buy you a glass of merlot, it pairs well with chicken.”

“Oh, well, why not.” I bit out, growing more annoyed by the way Andrea kept looking at him.

Noticing my shift in attitude she said with an arrogant smirk, “I’ll be right back with your drinks.” And left.

With Andrea gone my anxiousness began to fade and I was able to appreciate just being alone with this interesting person. Klaus, completely at ease, quickly checked the time on his wrist watch before leaning in towards me.

“Reina,” He began in a low voice, drawing me in, “I can’t tell you how much I’ve looked forward to seeing you alone.”

“Really?” I said shyly.

“Of course,” He grinned wryly, “You kept me waiting for so many years, but now that you’re out, you’re all mine.”

He grinned boyishly, showing swan white teeth.

“I admire your confidence.” Again I couldn’t stop myself from smiling. “Is that why you were late today, because I ‘kept you waiting’?”

He shrugged archly.

“You were at the top of your class, weren’t you?” He asked, never breaking eye contact.

“I was.” I confirmed.

“What kind of job does an accomplishment like that earn you?” His brows drew together inquisitively.

“I work in a lab, taking down data and writing articles about my discoveries.” I explained.

He narrowed his eyes, “What kind of lab.”

“If you must know, I work for NASA.” I shook my head lightly, smiling.

“Well look at the big brain and Breina.” He teased.

“Oh, god.” At my old ‘nickname’ I filled the room with an ardent laugh. “Do NOT call me that. What about you Santa Klaus,”-I pronounced it Kl-ow-s- “do you have any gifts for me besides merlot?”

Just then Andrea returned with our drinks and a forced smile.

“Thank you.” Klaus and I said in unison.

“Hmm,” He hummed thoughtfully, “I didn’t bring you any gifts tonight but perhaps next time I will.”

“Next time?”

“Did I tell you that my sister is getting married?” He asked, his glowing amber eyes stayed firmly on mine.

“No!” I exclaimed. “That’s so exciting.”

“I don’t have a date yet.” He said suggestively.

“Are you asking me on a second date already?” I probed slyly.

“Maybe,” His grin left a crease in his cheek, melting my heart. “Would you want to go?”

“I would.” Still smiling, I raised the glass of merlot to my lips. “It’s been so long since I’ve indulged myself.”

dating

About the Creator

sandra pike

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    sandra pikeWritten by sandra pike

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.