Humans logo

Sibling Disturbances

Reactions to Prince Harry's new book

By Nicole CPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Image source: BBC News (link below)

Quite a few pundits have already shared their two cents, since the recent leaking of excerpts from Prince Harry’s new book, “Spare” - yes, I want to write a proper review, too, after my pre-ordered copy arrives and I get a chance to read it.

I’m actually so annoyed that we’re getting so many spoilers, it has been utterly unavoidable, my curiosity has gotten the better of me and I feel I already know the full plot twists and turns of this autobiography.

Revelation - Harry lost his virginity to an older woman behind a pub.

Revelation - Kate wasn’t being nice to Meghan, was appalled by the reference to her “baby brain” as a joke.

Revelation - William physically assaulted Harry?

Now this is where I have to wonder… I don’t have a sibling of the same gender, however I do hear, colloquially, that it can, indeed - be quiet intense. It’s like the fights are worse than male-female siblings? Somehow you trigger in each other the Shadow selves to be mirrored and confronted.

Yes, most people deal with these issues privately and find some form of normalcy in their lives, or simply continue on in their own ways without making a public spectacle of it.

But these aren’t “most people” - these are Royals.

Is it so alarming to think that William threw hands at Harry? I’m still wondering, how old were they? And perhaps, back then, in their previous positions, it allows them, now, in “promoted” positions, to reflect and vow to never do that again.

Is there a pain in Harry’s heart? That he doesn’t have his mother to turn to, to discuss all these grievances?

Was she previously the mediator for the boys, as children, when they would get into small scruffs?

It’s understandable that Harry may have been missing a gentle, maternal confidante throughout his life since his mother’s passing. It’s even understandable that perhaps, Meghan does now fill that role.

It’s also just as understandable, that Kate fills that role for William.

Now as for Charles and Camilla… (shaking my head)… I don’t know, my opinions about them aren’t going to change anything at all whatsoever, anyway!

I do worry for Harry, as the pundits further explained, that he claimed to have killed 25 Taliban soldiers and that in and of itself - as a public confession - is a security threat?

It’s a lot, you know, it’s been quite a lot of new and dramatic information. One after another, after another, after another. And I’m Team Harry and Meghan! I’m now part of the Sussex Squad.

I want to defend them, because I do agree that they might as well enjoy their freedom in the United States.

Coming from the angle of a deep family rift, however - it’s hard to understand. It’s hard to understand why Harry would do this, if there wasn’t deep seeded resentment in some way. Not only from a fist fight, or whatever that confrontation truly was. But rather - the absolute absence of a sense of protection for his other family members.

That now the only people in his life he needs or cares to protect are his wife and his two small children.

How does that happen? What’s going on in the psyche of a man?

I can’t understand, that’s why I’m asking.

And I don’t have a same-gender siblingship to compare.

What’s going on here with this Spare?

Image source: BBC News

familyfact or fictioncelebrities
Like

About the Creator

Nicole C

Writing sporadically... I tried some challenges but never won anything. Sometimes my poetry helps me process whatever has been going on... sometimes it is pure fiction. Sometimes I like to write about pop culture and astrology.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.