Humans logo

Short Of Cash, A Stranger Paid It Forward And Changed My Life

As a single mother with four young children, a grocery store stranger helped me change my life, and I will forever feel gratitude.

By Chrissie Marie MasseyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Short Of Cash, A Stranger Paid It Forward And Changed My Life
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

When my kids were small, I struggled with money often. After separating from my ex-husband, I had to work and provide childcare. He never helped me and had no guilt about leaving us high and dry.

Speaking of being high, that's what led to this story. After giving my ex money for what I believed to be food and rehab fees (apparently that's not a thing), I was broke. Of course, the deadbeat dad spent my money on drugs and other women, while I struggled to provide for our children. I thought I had enough to spend $75 on groceries for my kids.

My kids were 5,7,9, and 11. They meant the world to me. After being raised by my grandma, I swore when I had kids, they would be my focus.

One day, I strolled into Dillons, a grocery store in Kansas, to buy a few things to get by for a few days. I counted everything exact. I bought cereal, pasta, chicken, rice, potatoes, eggs, bread, and peanut butter. I might have thrown in soda and milk, but for the most part, it was the bare essentials.

The cashier rang everything up. My total was $72.87. I will never forget that total. I swiped my bank card, and it said not approved. What? I had 78 bucks in the bank. I knew that.

"Can you swipe it again, please?" I asked.

Denied again. At this point, I was feeling anxious. How am I gonna feed my kids? I didn't want to have to ask my grandma for money for food. That was embarrassing.

I asked her to give me a minute to call my bank to check my balance. I turned away to make the call. My daughter, age 5, started talking to the man in the line behind us. He smiled at her and said she reminded him of his granddaughter.

By Nathália Rosa on Unsplash

When I was talking to the bank rep, the man paid for my groceries and got $100 cash back - he paid for his lemons - the only thing he bought for himself, and left the store. After I got off the phone with my bank, I turned to tell her to try my card again.

She told me the man behind me in line paid for my groceries and he wanted me to have $100. I quickly put the groceries in my car, hoping to find him outside to thank him.

Just when I gave up on finding him, a man pulled up in a luxury car. He rolled down his window and said he wanted to help and he hopes it didn't offend me. He explained a few months earlier, his daughter's abuser murdered her. He heard me on the phone with my bank explaining my abusive ex wasn't allowed access to my account. He wanted me to know, even if I feel like I was failing, I am alive and my kids are safe.

The man said he could tell I was an exemplary mother. He noticed I took good care of my daughter and he would pray these tough times would be a distant memory for me soon.

By Clay Banks on Unsplash

For this man, helping me was a tribute to his daughter. He helped me because he couldn't help her. For me, he taught me I was not invisible and even though things were rough; I was safe, alive, and employed.

I have paid for many single mother's food many times over the years. For me, I am honoring this man's daughter and my single mom days. I hope showing them they are important, seen, and supported will help them turn their lives around, too.

Just a week after this man helped me, I landed a job with Yahoo News and my life turned completely around. He changed my entire perspective on life in general.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Originally published on Medium.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Chrissie Marie Massey

Chrissie has spent the last 20 years writing online for several major news outlets. When not writing, you’ll find her watching a Lifetime movie, wearing her favorite PJs with a frozen soda in hand.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.