Humans logo

Self Discovery

How Much I Do Care

By In_SketchedPublished 4 years ago 7 min read
Like

Let’s call this therapy? Mental relaxation? A vent?

Legally, I must put down that I am female. It has not been until recently where I find that I am struggling coming to terms with this. Yes, physically, I am female; however, emotionally and mentally, I don’t feel this way. Those within my social circle have often said something similar along those lines. While physically unable to really vocalize it, I guess this is my “coming out story.”

As a child, I had always participated in gender specific activities because that was how I fit in for the most part. I did competition dance, played with Barbies, wore dresses, etc. I never found much joy in any of these. I mean, I would pull the heads off of Barbie and friends. I felt more comfortable in the baggiest clothes that my mom could buy for me. Unlike some, I had both my parents never question why I was the way I was. Instead, they both encouraged my psychopathic energy of ripping heads off of Barbie and friends. I did not change until middle school.

Middle school is when I experienced my first crush. It is when I first started to get back into typical girl clothes with skirts and tight fitting shirts. It is also when I experienced my first encounter with a teacher who tried to “help.” This particular teacher had mentioned something about wearing a bra because it would be easier on the boys in the class to focus. I was not the only female student to experience this from this particular teacher. I was friends with some of the others who had a similar issue. I graduated middle school in the baggiest clothes, the most comfortable covering for me.

High school was a bit different. Self discovery, right? Finding out who you truly are. I did not do this self discovery stage correctly, I think. Instead of finding my identity wholly, I found that I suffered from depression! Whoot! Ugh.

I did have some good self discoveries, I guess. I found that I am, in fact, one of the boys. I blew up Mountain Dew cans in a friend’s driveway while his parents were not around. I deeply punctured myself while showing off skateboard tricks to my younger siblings. I found out that I was attracted to both women and men and that my friends were highly supportive when they noticed. I also found that I did not particular care over gender until someone approaches me about it aggressively.

There was a time where I was headed to to the bathroom during class. I heard footsteps coming from down the hall behind me. I tried to quickly enter into a ladies room when my arm was grabbed. I turned to look at who had grabbed me to find it was one of the janitors. He told me that the particular restroom I was heading into was for girls only.

“I am a girl, dimwit.”

I wrenched my arm out of his grasp as he would stand there dumbfounded.

I hate this story, but it happens. It sucks when it does though.

In the couple of years I spent in college, I had a steady boyfriend. He was the first I admitted to as to being bisexual at the time. As far as I know, he was the only one outside of high school I bothered to tell. Unless if he told his friends, which I doubt (he was pretty nonchalant about it for the most part). I never thought about gender in those couple of years.

Skip forward to 2014 when I landed my first job. I do not quite remember exactly what I was doing except filling out something. It asked for my gender. I remember getting irritated about it though. This goes on for several years. Still, I never put much into thinking about gender.

At the beginning of 2020, I went to Ohayocon with my roommates. First convention outside of the local one, Animarathon. If that does not tell you where I am from, I do not know what will. Anyway…I got introduced to a group of con-friends by my roommates. Here I was posed with the question, “What do you prefer?”

I had to stop and think about it for a second. I had never been asked. No one ever really gave me the opportunity to think about it. I never gave myself the opportunity.

“I don’t really care. Whatever you like.”

A simple response? Yes.

A defining response? Definitely.

A few months later, in the middle of a rush at the fast food chain I worked for, I was thinking about what I would prefer. I knew someone who goes by they/them. However, that does not really fit me. I am just me. Nothing in-between.

I don’t really care.

That has stuck with me since. I do not really care what I go by. It took me all the way up until July of 2020 to really confirm that with myself. It does not matter to me in a way that it matters to others. I do not have a preference in the matter. I can go by she/her, they/them, or he/him. It really does not bother me until someone just assumes aggressively and puts their views on it.

I tend to go with the flow easily.

After the convention, my roommates and I had gone back to one of their friend’s house, who offered us a place to stay instead of a hotel. She had introduced (I say that like we have not heard of it) to Hazbin Hotel. She then proceeded to explain the things that she knew about it, much like I can when watching Animaniacs or Invader Zim. Ah, passion over shows that you identify with.

When she got to explaining Alastor, I was brought back to thinking about myself. Particularly my response to the whole “What do you prefer?”

I don’t really care.

Except, that is not true evidently. I do care in a twisted sort of way. I just project that I do not. I get easily irritated over the gender question on surveys. I am easily aggravated when being told about a restroom’s gender usage. I am uncomfortable when talking about easy “distractions” as these are not a thing except for “boys will be boys.” I have walls up around certain people so that I feel like I can respond properly to anything related to gender. I am uncomfortable with me.

I do care. And it depends on those around me.

I am Alex to those who have met me this way. I am hidden in the back among others with the name. I am she/her.

I am Rae. A name given by a good friend and my favorite manager at one point. I am they/them this way.

A recent Facebook post from a good friend asked a very simple question: “What would you choose for your real name, other than [what] was picked for you at birth?”

I hate the name Alex. Too many of them around me all the time. Let someone else have it.

Rae. No. It is a managerial position. That’s not me outside of a 9 to 5. Let me think for a moment.

Nichole. Ugh. Too feminine.

Nick. Too masculine, but also kind of perfect. Could go into Nicky. Pretty unisex.

That is the one. Nick.

I would choose Nick. It has the more masculine form of my middle name. I have always liked my middle name.

It could be the name I use for when I sell art. It could be the name that I would put on the comic book I have in the works. It could be the name for In_Sketched works instead of the username itself. It could be the one.

An answer the questions at the very beginning is needed by now.

Self Discovery.

That point that I prominently missed in high school as well as college.

Hi. My name is Nick. I am non-binary, demisexual. I am very fluid in the pronouns you may associate with me. For those who will ask, they/them is always welcome as I will not know how to answer in the time most likely. I prefer to be referred to as an artist. Everything else is just an accessory of my identity by now.

I do care.

lgbtq
Like

About the Creator

In_Sketched

I am just a hobbyist writer. I have a lot of concepts roaming around in my head that I do not have enough notebooks or sketchbooks to places them all in. I am mainly an artist as opposed to a writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.