Humans logo

Seaside wedding

Destiny calls

By Sherry jacksonPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1

The ferry pulled away from the station into the choppy waters of the ocean going to one of the island situation close to Seattle. As I stood near the railing I couldn’t help but admire the

beautiful cape cod houses clinging to the hill side. The sun was shining and fluffy white clouds were floating in blue sky.

My best friend Frances was getting secretly married and invited me to be her only bridesmaid. Suddenly a gust of cold wind hit my face. .

It push me a little so I accidently stumbled fell back on someone standing behind me. I turned around to apologize and looked into the most handsome man I had ever seen. At the same time my silk scarf slid from my neck and fell to the deck floor.

He quickly picked it up and gave to me.

Oh thank you! I took my scarf and tied it around my hair to keep the wind from blowing everywhere.

He smiled at me and I returned his smile.

He then turned around away from me, looking out to sea.

We didn’t talk after our short conversation but I was acutely aware of his presence. Something about it felt warm and relaxing and seem to cover me.

When I got off the ferry, Frances and Jeff were waiting for me.

Frances and I embrace. I had not seen her since she moved up to Seattle. We grew up together in San Francisco.

Then to my surprise the nice gentleman man came over and they were greeting him like he was a old friend also.

They introduced him to me as Jim who was Jeff’s best man for the wedding.

We all got in the car. With Jim and in the back seat.

I turned to him and he looked at me.

Wow! What a coincident ! I said.

He smiled and look deep into my eyes and said to me almost in a whisper—-is it?

I felt puzzled by the look in his eyes and turn to look out of the car’s window

The car turned down a gravel road. In the distance there stood a tall oak tree with many branches intertwined with a massive wooden tree house.

My dear friend Frances had not told me where we were staying. My eyes lit up and I couldn’t help feeling excited.

I had always wanted a tree house when I was growing up.

Jeff and Frances got out the car and kissed in front of it.

Well guys what do you think?

asked Frances.

It’s charming! I happily replied.

I’m game! Said Jim.

We climbed up the three leveled treehouse to the middle section where the balcony had a beautiful view of the hilly woody surroundings.

We went in side and it was just like a house with a fire place in the living room. It had a dinning area

and a Kitchen with all the normal .

appliances and running water .

I went over and hugged Frances.

This is so perfect for the night before your marriage. I love it!

We laughed and like two little girls we hugged remembering the nights we spent together when we were young in her family treehouse.

Yes, Jeff said, you two are on the upper level and Jim and I are on the lower.

The dinner was already ordered and in the refrigerator to be warmed. After dinner we had wine in the living room area and talked about old times.

That night I couldn’t sleep so I got up, put on my coat on and went out side on the balcony.

The night was still and beautiful with a full moon and stars filling the dark night sky.

Well, someone said, looks like I’m not the only one that couldn’t sleep.

I turned around in surprise and Jim was sitting in one of the balcony chairs.

Oh, I didn’t know you were here. I exclaimed.

He got up and waked slowly to where I was standing and stood next to me.

You know I’m very attracted to you, he said,

From the moment I saw I felt something—- a feeling there are no words for-a feeling from deep inside my life and I was actually following you to ask you your name when I saw you were meeting my friends.

Then all of a sudden we heard something like leaves shuffling.He grabbed me and held me close. He put his finger to his lips to tell me to be quiet . We looked down and their was it was a raccoon.

We both signed in relief.

The raccoon didn’t see us and soon went back into the woods.

The closeness of him was over whelming and I could feel he felt the same way as he seem to force himself to release me.

We both looked into each other’s eyes and I felt like like I was floating. I stood there frozen and i I felt my heart pounding.

I managed to pull myself together and with a weak smile said to him as I stepped away from the hold he had on me.

That was unexpected. I said.

Yes like so many things—-. He replied.

I looked at him- knowing in my heart what he was trying g to say to me and knowing I felt the same way.

Well, I think I will turn in- I finally forced myself to say to him

He took my hand and gently brought it to his lips and kissed it gently.

- [ ] Good night ! He said as he gently released my hand.

I crawled back in bed,

Frances turned over.

She was awake and I think she may have heard us on the balcony because she said to me,

,

I know you have been having a hard time getting over your last relationship but Jim —well. he is a good man.

I smiled at her and the.

she turned over and went back to sleep.

I drifted off to sleep seeing Jim’s face and still feeling the warmth of his embrace.

The wedding was perfect.

Frances and Jim stood on the rocks with the wind blown waves crashing against them as they said their wedding vows.

Jim and I stood on each side of them.

The magical snow stared to fell just as they had planned covering everyone in sparkling flaked.

Jim and I looked at each other and as they said their vows our eyes locked.

The snow fall like white soft feathers gracefully covering the ground and turning it into a white beautiful blanket.

We dinned at a lovely elegant seafood restaurant overlooking the ocean.

Afterwards Jim and I got a Uber ,leaving them at a local hotel where they were goi g to stay for their honeymoon.

We took the ferry back to Seattle.

- [ ] Standing next to him on the ferry in my warm synthetic fur coat with as the wet flakes felling on my face, his lips found mine. It felt so natural as

- [ ] I eagerly responded to his tender kiss.

- [ ] Words were not needed as we held hands the rest of the trip enjoying each other in silence and comfort.

- [ ] A year later Jim and I now are planning to visit that same treehouse again with our dear friends Jeff and Frances. Only tbis time it is going to be our wedding

dating
1

About the Creator

Sherry jackson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.