Humans logo

Scorned Pt. 10

The Derek Morgan Chronicles Fan Fiction*

By Cynthia FieldsPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
Scorned Pt. 10
Photo by Kristina Tamašauskaitė on Unsplash

Potomac General Hospital –

Penelope wasn’t sure if she’d heard him correctly and she was too afraid to ask him to repeat himself. Being his wife, hearing the words and the question, had always been a dream of hers. The fact that they were actually a couple seemed too much to believe at times. But here he was lying on his back and barely awake, processing the news of their impending parenthood.

“I know you heard me.”

...and he was a mind reader. Was there nothing this man couldn’t do? Well, perhaps there was but she believed that would be something he’d figure out how to defeat like everything else that had dared confront him in his life. He was Derek Morgan after all; he was her hero.

“Yeah, I heard you.”

“Well?”

“Derek maybe you should wait until...”

“Until, what? Until I can walk again?”

“No, that’s not what I ...”

“I get it, Penelope. You can do a whole lot better than a cripple!”

“STOP IT! That’s not what I was going to say!”

Derek saw the anger in her eyes and his heart stopped.

“Don’t do this! Not now; not after you’ve asked me the question.”

“Baby...”

“No, you’ve said enough. Now it’s my turn.”

Derek watched her as she stood and then found a way to sit next to him on the edge of the bed.

“I’ve dreamt of you asking me to marry you. I’ve dreamt of being a bridezilla and driving everyone crazy planning the perfect wedding. I don’t care if you have to be wheeled down the aisle in an iron lung, I’d marry you. I just want to make sure you’re awake and that it’s not the pain medication talking. I don’t want you waking up and regretting what you’ve done.”

“I’ll never regret asking you to marry me. I love you and our baby.”

“Are you sure this is what you want?” She asked.

“Yes, I’m more than sure.”

“Then ask me again. I love you.”

“What?”

“I love you, ask me again.”

“Penelope Garcia, will you marry me?”

“Yes; yes, I’ll marry you!”

Penelope leaned down and gently kissed him. Then before kissing him again she looked deep into his eyes and just beyond the fear and pain was the man she’d fallen in love with so many years ago. She knew he would fight for her and their baby...and so would she.

BAU Headquarters – Afternoon –

Reid had not visited Derek since he’d allowed them all back in his room; that was almost a week ago. He felt like the lowest of scoundrels and the worst of friends. He knew that Morgan would have never left his side had he been in that hospital bed and not Hotch nor anyone else for that matter would have been able to change his mind. But Dr. Spencer Reid, the resident genius could not bring himself to see his best friend, his brother lying helpless; it was too hard, and he hated himself for it. So, here he sat in front of his computer looking for another way to help Derek that would not require him to step foot into his room. He’d read countless medical journals from dozens of countries looking for what he knew he wouldn’t find but it gave him an excuse for not being where he knew he should be.

JJ had watched Spence waste his time for nearly a week now; pretending to be researching but she knew him and even though he was the smartest in the room, he couldn’t fool her. The rest of the team had made time to visit even with their busy schedules and more than that, they all knew that Derek wanted to see his young friend even though he refused to mention the fact that he had not been there.

“Hey Spence.”

Reid looked up to see JJ standing over him.

“Hey, JJ.”

“Whatcha doing?”

“I found this report from a doctor in Switzerland that deals with cases like Morgan’s.”

“Spencer, I’m sure if there was anything or anyone else that could help Morgan, his doctors would already know. Potomac is one of the top hospitals in the world.”

“I know but maybe they missed something.”

Reid went back to his search ignoring JJ and hoping she would give up and go away.

“I’m going across the street for lunch; want anything?”

“No. Thanks.” Still not looking up from his computer.

Just before she walked away, she placed a calm hand on his shoulder.

“Spencer, I’m not sure why you haven’t gone to see Derek, but he needs you; he needs all of us.”

“I can’t JJ. I keep thinking that if that can happen to Morgan then it’s just a matter of time before it happens to the rest of us. I know it’s silly, but...”

“Morgan is human, just like the rest of us.”

“Not to me.” He began quietly. “He’s this super-hero man of steel. He always gets back up, always.”

“And he will this time, no matter how it looks. He’s saved all of our lives more than once; this time he may need us to save his.”

Then without waiting for him to respond, JJ walked away and headed toward the elevators. Reid watched the doors close; he knew she was right, and he’d been selfish in his thinking. Morgan had protected him with his life, and he was the only brother he’d ever known. Reid had to admit that it was no longer about him or his fears. He needed to do better.

Potomac General – Evening –

Everyone had secretly planned to meet at the hospital for dinner; with the exception of Reid who had not responded to texts sent out by Fran and Dave. Derek and Penelope had no idea that the team was coming but the couple was excited to see them all arrive one by one bearing food and drinks and silliness to distract Derek with a much-needed family reunion.

Fran Morgan Rossi had somehow managed to transform the private hospital room into an elegant dining room with food cleverly stationed in every nook and cranny. She’d mastered the small space and still found room for everyone to sit comfortably while eating and enjoying each other’s company. JJ and Will had insisted on providing sparkling cider to go with Fran’s amazing menu of baked chicken, prime rib, roasted red potatoes, green beans, a garden salad and white chocolate and raspberry cheesecake. The feast would be enough to send everyone home with to-go containers.

For a few hours Derek forgot about what he was facing, and he simply enjoyed the company of his family and friends. He and Penelope quietly and without fanfare shared the news of their engagement and the baby; joy and a hidden sense of sorrow seemed to overcome them. The only thing that would have made the evening better was Reid who again had not come to visit.

Fran and Penelope exchanged glances after about two hours. Derek was beginning to drift off to sleep and it was well past visiting hours. They all agreed to clean up and put the room back in order so that Derek could get some rest. He wanted Penelope to go home as well but he lost that fight this time.

“JJ, can you stay for a second?” Derek asked.

“Of course.” Shooting a look at Will.

Will nodded and pretended to suddenly get busy packing things up.

“Handsome, I’m going to help Fran load the car, but I’ll be back.” Said Penelope.

Derek nodded and turned his attention back to JJ. After everyone had left the room, JJ took a seat next to her friend.

“What’s up?”

“I didn’t want to say anything while the others were here, but how’s Pretty Boy?”

“He’s struggling, Derek.”

“Yeah, I know. I need you to do me a favor.”

“Sure, anything.”

“Don’t pressure him to come. It has to be his decision.”

“I have to admit, I spoke to him earlier today.”

“What did he say?”

“It’s...” JJ wasn’t sure if or how to share with Derek about Reid.

“Come on, tell me.”

“He’s having a hard time dealing with the fact that you’re a flesh and blood human being.” She half-heartedly chuckled.

Morgan looked away and chuckled to himself.

“Yeah, believe me I get it. I’m having a hard time with it too.”

For the next several minutes the two sat quietly wondering how to carry the weight of the world that had suddenly landed on their shoulders.

...to be continued

*Disclaimer: The Derek Morgan Chronicles is fan fiction based on the CBS Crime drama, Criminal Minds. We do not own Criminal Minds or its characters.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Cynthia Fields

I adore words and I love what happens when we grab them, sleep with them, holler and scream and laugh at them! I love what happens when we throw them in the air and watch them fall magically from our minds onto paper!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.