Humans logo

Satoshi

Alternative

By Jose DuronPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Satoshi
Photo by Bermix Studio on Unsplash

"The time has come." The man sitting at the head of the table says as he stands from his chair. The dark meeting room smelled of cigars and alcohol and expensive perfume. They all agree to the man's conclusion.

"I have a question," I ask as I squeeze my mop. "Why now?" The entire room turns to me as if I had just asked the stupidest question in the world. To my delight, I don't give three damns about what they think. I really want to know.

"What is the janitor doing here?" I hear one of the elders ask a woman sitting next to him.

"I don't know," she shrugs and looks at the next member.

"Ahem," I clear my throat, "the real question is, what are you doing here?" I play it cool. "Today is Wednesday, I clean this room on Wednesdays, you should know that by now." They look at each other confused. That buys me some time. Think, think, think. Stay calm. Calm. Caaaalm. Oooooohm.

I keep my cool as my heart beats against my chest. I knew I shouldn't have been here, but when they woke me up from my nap, what could I do? You right. I could've stayed quiet and wouldn't be in this predicament.

"Tell us why we shouldn't kill you here and now?" A lady proposes a fair path to salvation.

"Well, you see," I roll my sleeves up and make my way to the table. "I think it's not such a good timing for your cryptocurrency."

"How is it not?" The elder one asked curiously.

"Think about it," I bullshit, "There are a bunch of cryptocurrencies coming out of nowhere. There are a bunch of tradings apps, look," I show my Robinhood account and my crypto investments. I can't see their faces, but I can feel the shift in the atmosphere. They think I'm an idiot. And I am.

"So, you got some fractional investments." another lady says, she sounds older and intimidating. "Even you see the future in it. Why not make it happen now?"

"Because," I stall, "that would divide the rich and the poor by a chasm?"

"Precisely." They all say in unison.

"How dare you!" I snap. I look at my app and invest all my money in Bitcoin. "You will become the richest people on earth and leave us no chance but to revolt against you."

"So be--"

"Shut up, I'm talking." I point at the head of the table. I hear the table gasp. If I'm going to die, might as well die fighting for humanity. "You people don't learn your history, do you?"

"We don't care much about it." Another man says.

"Oh, that explains," I continue, "I bet none of you have even... wow. That makes total sense." I take my hands to my hips and tap my foot on the floor.

"What does?"

"You people are committing suicide." I state, "When the world finds out who the people behind their economic grievance are, they're going to come after you with torches and forks and I won't be there to defend you." I fold my arms. They murmur amongst themselves.

"So you're saying that merging our mind with artificial intelligence and using bitcoin as our currency won't solve the world problem of overpopulation and starvation by leaving the fittest to rule?"

"Precisely." I frown a bit bewildered about what she said.

"Why?" they ask.

"Well, I don't know." I turn around, "Can I hear the plan again?" I grab a seat and let them lecture me. They tell me everything and I learn more about finances in thirty minutes than in four years of college. "Wow," I say, "This is truly an alternative to..."

"Yes," They nod in agreement. "Amazing." I pull my hairline back. My heart pounds at all this knowledge, but the more I think of it, the more it dawns on me that I won't be able to share this information. The atmosphere in the room feels ominous and heavy.

"I have one last question," I say before saying goodbye to the world. They agree to answer. I look at the old man, the one who sits at the head of the table. The man who is without a doubt the leader of this cult. "What's your name?" I ask. He chuckles and takes his hoodie off. I stare at him blankly and without.

"My name is Satoshi Nakamoto."

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.