Humans logo

Romantic Scenarios

I have these moments play in my head sometimes.

By Don Anderson IIPublished 6 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Ibrahim Asad - Photo by Pexels

I was talking to a friend the other night and we were talking about our celebrity crushes, we both ended up talking about Emma Stone (La La Land, Birdman) and how gorgeous she is. He ended up telling me that we'd make a good couple and when things like that are told to me when it comes me being paired with a gorgeous woman, my mind tends to think about moments where I'd do something.

I was listening to "Cable Car (Over My Head)" by The Fray and it took me to this moment in my head where I'm actually talking to her. Now, all of my friends know how awkward I am especially when I like someone so there's this moment in my head that I was seeing when I was talking to my friend while we were talking about Emma Stone.

I was listening to the song but I put them together like a puzzle and it depends on the weather in the season. Say it's fall or winter and in this scenario, I'm a recognizable actor who hangs out with other actors who are a lot more recognizable than me and everyone is hanging out like Woody Harrelson (War for the Planet of the Apes, Solo: A Star Wars Story), Jesse Eisenburg (The Social Network, Zombieland), Brie Larson (Captain Marvel, Scott Pilgrim vs. The World), even Jonah Hill (Superbad, 21 Jump Street) is there. So let's say Emma is getting drinks from the cooler outside of the house while everyone else is inside having a good time. I go outside because my tic is itching for me to bounce my tennis ball and I end up bumping into Emma, from there, we could just be bantering back and forth while I'm being awkward since I'd be the one who likes her and eventually, I might end up telling her how I feel about her.

Another scenario that runs through my mind sometimes is when I listen to, "Pop Thieves (Make It Feel Good)" by Childish Gambino. So in this scenario, Emma and I are really good friends and we end up traveling to an island somewhere like Hawaii or Barbados or even the Caribbean. We stay at a hotel but we have separate rooms because it'd be my idea since I don't want to share rooms and I respect a woman's privacy too much. Right after we get settled in our rooms, we go to the beach with each other and we have an amazing time. We're just talking more and goofing off while we walk on the sand barefoot, then Emma goes in the water for a bit. She drags me in with her and we're just enjoying each other's company.

Then, as the sun is setting, we sit on the beach while we look at the sunset and try to count it down like in the pie bomb episode of SpongeBob SquarePants but we always start at the wrong time. After that, Emma rests her head on my shoulder and we tell each other how glad we are that we went on a vacation like this so from there, that's when the magic happens, either our first kiss happens in the moment or she gets comfortable with me by hooking her arms around mine and we cuddle a little.

After I told my friend these scenarios, he pointed something out to me that I haven't really noticed these days: I'm a bit of a romantic. At first, I was in a bit of denial because I haven't had good encounters with romance in the past three years but if one thing was for sure, it's that he's right, but not many people that I know get to know that because it's easier for me to be this hardened fellow who's gone through some things, and it just gets harder, so I have to harden up a little more than I usually do.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Don Anderson II

Movies, memoirs, music lover, graduate of community college, and university

Quiet writer but I'm sure my stories from years ago are still of interest

Tips are welcomed

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.