Humans logo

Reverse Harem (Pt.1)

What Every Girl Wants… Attention, Right?

By Robyn WelbornePublished 6 years ago 5 min read
Like
“Reverse Harem: Is where a single (often ordinary) girl is liked and followed by a bunch of handsome men (three or more) who are all madly in love with her. The girl often cannot pick which guy she should go out with and remains indecisive.”

Some people will say that my life was pretty great. I have an A-average in high school, a college degree, currently a working girl at The Smoothie Shack, oh and most importantly, somehow I manage to get every guy in Seaside Heights, New Jersey on my arm. Yeah, everyone says that I have it all, and nearly everything I can ever want! I guess that is true; to them at least. I was never really anything special to look at. But still, I do not see how all of this attention is a good thing. In fact, it drives me crazy. The last thing I want to do is to get caught up in other people’s feelings, but lately, it seems that the only feelings I am getting caught up in are my own…

I. September 5, 2012: The First Day Of School

I cannot be happier! I am finally a senior at Belmont High. What makes things better is that my best friend, Ida Hillcrest, is going to be in the same class as me. This year is going to fly by quick—or so I think? Regardless, I am not worried in the least…

* * * * *

“HURRY UP, SHANE! Or we’re going to be late!” Ida screams back to me. Her yells are muffled out by the wind. She is faster than me. Ida Hillcrest, captain of the Belmont High Bulldogs track team.

I struggle to keep up. “COMING!” Yes, that’s me. Shane Whitmore. I know my name sounds like a guy’s name, but my mom picked it. What can I do? I can feel myself getting winded. I look at my watch: 7:55 AM. We only have three minutes left to make it! “THREE MINUTES, IDA! HURRY!” I sling my backpack onto both arms and force my body to speed up. She was holding the door open for me. We both run down the hallway. Two minutes left… one minute… OUCH!

I was knocked down onto my butt. Who hit me? Who did I hit? What did I hit? I was dazed and confused; my glasses were thrown somewhere on my ground. “Are you alright, Miss?” I feel a hand touch my shoulder.

I look up but everything is blurry and unclear. “I-I-I’m blind,” I stutter, “without my glasses.” Why am I stuttering? Why am I nervous?

“Here you go,” The foreign voice sang through my ears like a fine tune. I feel something being placed in my hand. It was my glasses.

“Th-Th-Thank You.” I put them on. Everything was becoming clear again. This tall figure was standing in front of me. It was a He! He had dark brown hair, a piercing white smile, and dazzling gray eyes. I noticed that he was wearing a blazer and a necktie, which meant that he was an Upperclassman. He was perfect. He was handsome! From the way that he wore his crisp navy blue pants with the creases still in them to his ever-so-charmingly polite manners, he was the type of guy every girl dreamed of.

He helps me to my feet. “You must be new here. Allow me to walk you to class, Miss...?”

“... Shane. Shane Whitmore.”

He flashes me a quick smile, “... Miss Whitmore.”

I can see out of the corner of my eye, Ida staring me down with a big grin on her face and thumbs up. I blush. “No need for formalities.”

On our way to class, it's all eyes on us. I'm not used to this much attention—or any, really…

* * * * *

Karaoke night was fun. I sang with my girls over a few beers and white wine. I’m not really the partying-type, honestly, but I definitely need this girl’s night. I've been too busy worrying about school and people and other things that I didn’t fit in to. I blast out the song “Fireworks” by Katy Perry, my drunken friends squawking out broken lyrics after me. We were having the time of our lives.

I am interrupted by a sudden knock on our suite door. “Ladies, ladies! Mind if we join in?” These three boys come walking inside.

Ida stumbles to her feet. “Who—are—you?”

The guy with the devilishly-michevious smile, hipster beanie, and shaggy brown hair that drapes over his eyes grabs the bottle out of her hand. “The man of your dreams, sweetie,” he says. Ida rolls her eyes. I let out a laugh. Our third friend that we brought along, Lisa Ridwell, was unfortunately passed out in the corner.

I stared at Ida and this mystery guy for a moment, watching her try to fend him off. He was very straight-forward, I give him that. But strong-willed Ida wasn’t going to give in. "Who are these guys?” I thought to myself, "and why are they here?" I shrug it off—not thinking too much about it—and continued my song.

I was interrupted again, this time by one of the other guys. He was tall and had captivating blue eyes. I was a bit tipsy myself, but I tried to resist his charm. “How’s about a duet?”

“... Yeah, sing for us, Julian!” the brunette hipster blurted out.

So, his name is Julian. We sang three songs. I never got the fiery guy’s name but I could tell that Ida was the only thing on his mind. Sadly, we had to scrape Lisa out of her corner before we left. What a shame, she looked so peaceful. I hate that it is time to leave. I really enjoyed his company. He was fun… and I needed this in my life.

* * * * *

II. December 17, 2012: Winter Break

FINALLY! I can sleep in, no more lectures, complete freedom for a whole week! It’s a nippy winter’s morning; I awaken to Jack Frost tapping at my window pane. The sun is shining, but clearly not enough to glow through the clouds. It was going to be a very chilly day.

I glance out my blinds to see some flurries begin to fall. "I want to go outside," I thought, "but is that even want I want to do?" I sat upright in my bed, questioning myself.

There was a loud knock at my door. I got up to see who was here so early…

To Be Continued.

humor
Like

About the Creator

Robyn Welborne

I am an aspiring creative writer who is currently working for my double Associate’s Degree in English. My writing has no limits and no filter. Anything and everything from all genres; if I think about it, then I will write it down. Enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.