Humans logo

Retirement is around the corner

Everything I do for relaxation now and later

By Lawrence Edward HincheePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

My idea of releasing stress isn't crocheting or doing stitch work. It has always been on community involvement such as working with the Cub and Boy Scouts, or coaching t-ball and or soccer. My other interest involves photography and jig saw puzzles. Nothing more relaxing than working a three thousand piece jig saw puzzle, or hiking up a trail just to get a nice photo shot of your favorite spot and posting it online. I also try to read a little bit, my favorite authors are Cathy Glass and Casey Winters, both of whom were foster parents in London for many years.

I also like to watch the classic television shows such as Daniel Boone, Gun Smoke, MASH, The Rifleman, and I could keep going, but you get the idea. So many family wholesome shows back when I was growing up. Another one of my favorites was Adam-12. I had a crush on Randolph Mantooth from Emergency, I also had a crush on Lief Garrett, I mean he was hot and anything he did, I was like a school girl.

I have also written a memoir, and I am spending time promoting it and trying to increase sales. I also have my second book ready to publish and working on my third book. I also write a lot of stories for vocal as well. I touch on subjects from the flag to travel tips. I also built my own website for my book and all other activities. I sell my pictures on picfair. I have about fifty pictures on there so far.

I am also looking find a way to support The Trevor Project. A national 24-hour, toll free confidential suicide hotline for LGBTQ youth. It is an organization to continue to save young LGBTQ lives. Resources & Guides. They provide Volunteers. Crisis Support. LGBTQ Community. Services: TrevorChat, TrevorLifeline, TrevorText, TrevorSpace.It is a way to keep gay youth from committing suicide. Even today parents disown their children because of their sexuality. Two weeks ago a twelve year old boy came out as gay to his parents. They humiliated the boy on social media by cutting the word gay into his hair and slapping him in the face and belittling him on social media. It went viral on social media, he was removed by child protective services and is in their custody. Thank God whoever turned that over to the cops is a hero. Refusing to accept your child's sexuality is child abuse.

All of these activities what is my real relaxation? I have unofficially retired so I believe the next phase of my life is going to be to visit every place that is on my bucket list to visit. I retired from an airline and can travel for free or reduced travel on international carriers. So I believe it is time to start visiting the places than have interested me for years. I feel that will be my main relaxation. Take my boyfriend with me and start in Europe and continue from there.

There is one place I have promised myself I am going to attend and that is the Little League World Series. Baseball has always been my favorite sport and the adult athletes usually ruin the sport with their demand of nearly one quarter of a billion dollars. These kids go out and play the game for the right reason, to have fun. Ten minutes after the tears are over for losing and they have had their ice cream they are running around having fun again, game forgotten. These kids also make friendships of a life time as well. I love their expressions when they meet the major league players. Those guys are so great with the kids.

All of these trips for relaxation will require money, but being retired that's not an issue for me. But I also have to do laundry and pack clean clothes for the next trip so that will require a few days at home to take care of things like bills, insurance etc before we take off again. If my boyfriend isn't willing to go I will take my other travel companion, my daughter or yet my granddaughters. Since 2007, I have been to more places in Europe than before when I was stationed in Germany.

My favorite subject in high school and college was history. I love going places and learning about all of the historical events that happened and when. My first trip out of Germany at the age of eighteen was to Paris, France. I was there for three days and had a blast. Went to the Castle of Versailles as well, Plenty to do in retirement and I can't wait. That is going to be my relaxation. I have been to Rejkeovich Iceland, and plan to spend a little time there as well. Photo of the Northern Lights dancing behind the volcano.

A beautiful site to behold

humanity
1

About the Creator

Lawrence Edward Hinchee

I am a new author. I wrote my memoir Silent Cries and it is available on Amazon.com. I am new to writing and most of my writing has been for academia. I possess an MBA from Regis University in Denver, CO. I reside in Roanoke, VA.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.