Humans logo

Representing Nigeria big motivation for me

UK-based car racer, Gana

By Abhi KumarPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Representing Nigeria big motivation for me
Photo by Jp Valery on Unsplash

I just like the feel of going fast and I like rollercoasters and all that, just going fast. I enjoy the feel of it. So, when I was younger, I always used to be interested in Formula 1, always used to watch the races and then afterwards, I was very interested. So, I asked my parents for the F1 game and I enjoyed it, I was quite good at it. I also went out karting on my birthdays, most years, with my dad and friends and I was good at it. So, I knew I always wanted to be a professional. So, me and my dad contacted the Nigerian affiliate for the governing body for FIA in Nigeria, the Automobike and Touring Club of Nigeria, and we asked them if they had any Nigerian representing Nigeria at the Academy Trophy, and luckily, they gave us a space for the FIA Karting academy in 2021.

How easy was it when you first started driving?

It was not easy. It was quite hard actually because I started racing at European events, which were like the top-level and a lot of the drivers were national champions, been racing for two to three years or even more and I was just starting out and I did find it hard.

And how do you find it now?

It’s getting better. I’m improving, like every time I go karting, I’m getting feedback from my team, getting feedback from my dad. In my last race, I was only about a second and a half off the fastest people in the world.

So, how old were you when you started driving?

Before, when I used to go to the track with my dad to kart race, I was eight but I only started racing professionally when I was 13. I am 15 now.

You competed in the IAME Euro Series in 2022, how did you find it travelling to Spain and Belgium?

Well, it was a big step up from the FIA Karting academy truthfully, it was like more experienced drivers because I moved up to the senior field, which is 14 and above. So, I was racing with way older people like 19, 20-year olds. On the one hand, I found it difficult but on the other hand I found it good for my improvement because I was racing against the fastest people in the world.

So, how did you fare in Germany, Italy and in Sweden at the FIA Karting Academy trophy in 2021?

So, how did you fare in Germany, Italy and in Sweden at the FIA Karting Academy trophy in 2021?

In Germany, it was my first ever major competition. I did okay in Germany; in Italy it was the same again and in Sweden, the same again. So, I was about in the middle of the pack.

How does it feel being Nigeria’s first licensed KART driver in Europe?

I’m very proud, I’m very honoured to be representing the Nigerian people of all different tribes of course. That’s one of my motivations to keep going and to be representing such a good nation.

Can you tell us a bit about yourself?

My parents are Nigerians, my dad is from Kwara State, while my mum is from Niger State. I grew up in London but was born in Hungary. I have a brother James. It’s a great and very supportive family.

What is the most challenging aspect of racing?

The mental aspect is quite challenging you know, you have to bounce back from it like learn what you did wrong and fix it. That’s quite hard, but also the physical aspect of it – you know, you’re in a very fast-moving machine for like 10 to 15 minutes racing against other people, so, you need to be level headed and not try to be excited because one mistake and you cpul hot a wall and get injured.

art
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.