Humans logo

Released from jail into a world of Pandemia! pt. 3

I'm Rachel Schuyler, a 31 year old (forgot my birthday just passed a few months ago) houseless female living in Austin, Texas. I'm praying for the chance to get my life back together so that I may reunify with my youngest daughter and make a difference now and for future generations to come. So far not having much luck...

By Rachel SchuylerPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
PBS news hour 2nd search for justice episode interview

I've now been interviewed a total of 3 times. Like Marlon Wayan's said in the movie "White Chicks"... "Better yet... I'm gonna write a letter! Dear Mr.... Royal.... Hampton... I ... am... a... white... woman... in ... A MER ICA." (this is not at all meant to offend anyone, BLACK LIVES MATTER!!! Anyway, what he said there holds truth...

The episode with my interview with Frank Carlson aired last week on world wide television. I think it was beautiful yes, however the reason in the beginning that I had written to the news was only partly due to the reentry system, or the jail's sanitation situation. I had originally sent in the letter more to highlight for the government that TXDFPS/ CPS (Texas Department of Family Protective Services/ Child Protection Services) and the justice system are both this nation's biggest human trafficking schemes. The fact that poverty is reason to be punished for entire lifespans. Really to inform anyone who will have compassion and humanity enough to reason with me for a moment and maybe spark something that I feel has been impeding the quality of life for all humanity as a collective in very detrimental ways. Ways that have led to war and famine, as well as our own planetary natural selection for example: COVID-19.

I personally have been going through some major changes in my own life that have led me to believe this way, anyway. No one but US as a collective are responsible for this "Pandemania" in all that it is. I mean to think that this all probably wouldn't have gotten as bad as it has if we had all just been more hygienic in the first place. That and if we all could survive on the necessities instead of just absolutely wasting the resources that were provided to us from all that we are and create in our own perceptions. We invent things constantly for mere convenience when the only thing that we are collectively and eternally battling is inevitable... Our key enemy in life is what? TIME...

So back to the here and now and me and my Homeless life and the "crisis" as the sheeple have thus far decided we (homeless PEOPLE) are to be called, and this "Pandemania". It's December 23rd, 2020, today we are by the skin of our teeth still staying at the extended stay across from the bridge where our "loft" was. I am still writing every entity that I can as well as putting in application after application for employment. We are both on unemployment which thank heaven is a very helpful 372 each every 2 weeks (1488 a month). Mind you the rent for a 1 bdr apartment in the "ghetto" here in Austin, Texas is roughly 1000 to 1400 a month. Then you have to think that they require you to be making at least twice, some want 3 times the rent on paper for the gross monthly income. and to move in they want the deposit along with both first and last months rent so 3 times the rent upfront, decent credit and NO RECENT FELONY CONVICTIONS. Now most places say on the application that they will go on a case by case basis which could mean that they don't accept violent, drug related, or sexual related convictions OR that they don't accept any convictions less that 7 or 8 years old.

That being said the TXDFPS took my daughter from my brother who I placed her with at the time I was being arrested in January. Let me rewind a bit here though. Last year in July of 2019 the hubby and I were living with our seizure response dog in a tent under the bridge at Burnet and 183 right across from the 7/11 and the Jim's. Homeless and on the run still, and get this 8 months pregnant. Can you imagine being 8 months pregnant and homeless along with diabetic in the summer in Texas? Now I already know that TXDFPS will show up at the hospital regardless of my living arrangement and employment etc. So what am I gonna do right... Who cares about the fact that I can't cater to the pregnancy cravings in the least or that temperatures outside are upwards or 93 degrees Fahrenheit here in the summer. So while pregnant we had initially lived down south in the woods about 15 mins from any civilization till I got too big to make it all the way to a restroom every time. We moved up North and I flew a sign while my husband dumpster dove and did odd jobs to keep us hydrated and fed and the one phone bill on at least so that I could use Jim's wifi to call if I ever went into premature labor. This is baby number 6 for me though and I delivered that last one in the ambulance so that's unlikely but just to be safe with being diabetic and all.

Right about the time I'm trying to decide what exactly we are going to do about the situation we meet this older guy who needs a stay at home caregiver and help getting rid of the "current slob on the couch". We moved in with him and were able to save a little more up. I still had no idea what I was going to do about the fact that they were going to show up at the hospital regardless and take my baby AGAIN. So I researched housing programs up there in Colorado which was where we had to take the couch dweller back to his parents to see what if anything maybe by some miracle we could do because we had only saved up enough to get a u haul and get him home and if his parents weren't able to pay us back upon arrival then we would be stuck at that point... So "Ollie Dactyl" (she didn't really cry she just kind of screamed like a baby pterodactyl) was born in Colorado Springs in August of 2019 a week after the guy took off with the u haul while we were collectively trying to make and save the money to get back home since his parents would not let him come home as planned.

We were then homeless in a whole other state where we had no body we knew and no resources with the baby. Our room mate couldn't afford tickets for us to come home for 3 weeks. DHS up there got us replacement baby things since hers was lost in the u haul and they had originally said they could help with 2 weeks of hotel room which we took. They had told me to talk to whatever service providers and churches I could find about paying for our bus tickets home, which I did to no avail at which point the department eventually just paid for our bus tickets to get back to Austin Texas. Now Yes I agreed to take the guy right when I could feel the baby dropping into my pelvis because I knew that if I had her out of the state CPS would not get involved like they do right away without giving me the chance. I had planned to have a ride home though at the time also. The room mate situation fell through because the old man became violent so we removed ourselves from the situation, moved down to my brother's house so that him and Grandma could help us get an rv which we had to remodel and repair a bit. Then my brother was going to pay for 2-3 months rent on a lot for us in Austin but the cost was higher than anticipated so he was only able to cover the deposit and first months rent.

We were both on the run at the time and I was working out appointments with the Downtown Austin Community court to take care of our warrants outside of jail since I was breastfeeding entirely and we were both trying to get fulltime jobs and keep up with lot rent etc. when of course I'm starting to get something going for myself and Booom!! Just got paid and got money orders for rent and while I am sitting at the bus stop headed home I lean over to tend to Ollie and someone swipes my whole Purse.... I didn't even get a chance to write out who the money orders were to be paid to... $800 in money orders and $349 in cash all our money for rent and bills gone in the blink of an eye.... to be continued...

family
Like

About the Creator

Rachel Schuyler

Hi! I'm 31 and I am a "classy hobo" have been my entire life basically... well since I was about 13 off and on running from foster care, Now to hopefully share a day to day life story of a real live girl hobo... ME!! hopefully anyway...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.