Humans logo

Reincarnated Tribe

Chapter One: Intro (still in writing)

By NebulaWolfyy Published 3 years ago 10 min read
Like

"Cora Ann Black"

The bell rang indicating that it was time for the students to head to their first class of the day. In my case, however, was trig. It wasn't an easy class and one that was complicated to grasp unless you were born to be smart. As everyone rushed to their classes, I stood at my locker with my head against my locker as I attempted to will away the throbbing headache caused by the echo of the bell. My headaches have occurred more recently in the last few days than I would of liked and the worst part was, is that they keep getting worse by the day and I had no proper answer on why that could of been. I was new here and don't have anyone to call friend. I was lucky enough to find my assigned locker for the year without any guidance. My thoughts got interrupted as a wave of pain erupted from my temples and forehead, causing me to kneel over and drop anything that I had been holding, fell to the ground. I clutched my head as my felt my vision go black and then there was nothing. Just a black void that had dragged me under.

Where I am? In the sea of darkness, I could hear voices but they all sounded distant and hard to hear. None of that really mattered because what stood before me was more concerning than what was going on outside of my body. A road stood before my feet and in the far distance I saw a faint glow. Apart of me wanted to the see what it was but I couldn't make my feet move for some reason. I looked down and saw that my shoes were stuck in a substance of goo that prevented me from doing anything. I looked around to see if there was anything that I could use as leverage to pull myself out but saw nothing. "Take your shoes off dummy." I said to myself then as I reached down to pull my toes out, I stopped. "This is some sort of goo that got me stuck here in the first place. If I take my shoes off then I would be stuck here forever." The road ahead of me seemed to get longer as I glanced up. The faint glow that I saw before was now gone and in place of it was a dark hooded figure than wasn't there before was silent.

"Who the hell are you?" I asked as I slowly stood up from not taking my shoes off. "And where am I?" I asked as I crossed my arms in front of my chest. The figure was quiet as though they had nothing to say. "Look buddy," I said again. "I really don't have time for your guessing games so if you have any idea on how to get the hell out of here, that would be amazing." I heard a hint of sarcasm in my voice but that didn't stop me from saying anything and before I could speak another word a voice whispered in my mind which had me look at the figure in confusion.

Your path awaits you. The figure pointed down the path that once held the glowing light and I looked over their shoulder to see what it could of been but saw darkness ahead. You will come across many obstacles to discover your true nature and abilities. Choose wisely. I didn't have a clue what this person was talking about and by the look of it, they weren't releasing me from this void that I was in. "Who are you?" The question rolled out of my mouth as easily as I thought the question. You will find out in due time. The voice echoed off the walls of my mind which made me realize now that had been a woman talking. In the meantime....She snapped her bone like fingers and I fell back into oblivion....

My eyes fluttered open, my vision blurry from being out for too long, and once they cleared I noticed that was someone was standing near a door with their arms crossed over their chest. A dark navy blue bag was hung over one shoulder and that he wore faded jeans and a black tee-shirt. His hair was a light blonde and by the look of it, he had bright green eyes, which to be honest was unusual for someone like him. At the sound of my groan, the boy had straightened his posture and asked, "Are you alright?" I all but nodded as I tried to get up but felt the dull throb of yet another headache come on. I opened my mouth to ask where I was but the boy had already got me beat. "I found you laying on the hallway floor unconscious and I brought you to the nurses office."

I looked at him weirdly. "Why do I get the feeling that you trying to save me from complete embarrassment as well." I gave a small grin but grimaces as I felt my headache come on again then fade. I looked on the floor and noticed that I didn't have my belongings. "Where is my stuff?"

He looked toward the door and back at me. "I didn't necessarily have the time to pick it up considering I was carried someone to the nurses office." He pointed. "I am sure that it's still out there." He had better hoped it was because I knew how people could be, they'd see something and either take it or just kick it off to the side.

"Who are you?" I asked as I swung my legs over to the side and planted my feet on the solid ground instead of the goo substance that I had encountered when I was out like a light. I couldn't help but remember the figure and what she had told me. What did my path mean to her anyway? It's not like I had any huge plans to save the world anytime soon. "And what time is it?"

"Lucian Flare but you can call me Luke for short and it's near that time where everyone goes home." Luke replied. "You were out pretty much all day and don't worry about me. Being in the nurses office is oddly better than going to class. Really didn't have to deal with my social anxiety."

"Your telling me that you stayed here until school was out because you found me on the floor." I scratched my nose and a half smile formed on my lips. "As much I appreciate the gesture, I can say that I can take care of myself."

Luke chuckled which caught me off guard. "Not well enough as it appears." I heard him sigh. "Anyway I didn't catch your name." He fell silent as he waited for my response.

I bit my lip and I felt the odd nervousness I always felt when I was around new people. "Cora." I said softly. The silence of the room was deafening now that both of us had fallen quiet. "Anyway I should probably get going."

"It was nice meeting you Ms. Cora." Luke said as he opened the door for me and as I stepped out, I felt his gaze then the strong sensation of my cheeks flushing in embarrassment. How could I have been careless to have someone like Lucian Flare find me in a state like that? Anyway it should of mattered. I should be thanking him for saving me the humiliations of the school crowd. I shrugged. Maybe tomorrow when I see him I will. I thought as I went over to where my stuff was still thrown everywhere.

"You as well." I mumbled as I turned the corner toward my locker and my stuff that was left there for god knows how long. I heard him say something but couldn't catch it because the door had already closed behind me which made me turn back and stare for a brief moment but then decided to shake it off. I sighed and turned back toward my stuff. "Weirdo."

Lucian Flare

I walked out of the school building doors and down the few steps that was visible and on to the main route home. The sun was at its' peak and the weather was still warm from earlier. My thoughts raced as I thought about Cora. She wasn't like everyone else as far I could tell anyway. Cora also seemed on the shy side considering that I have never seen here before so my guess was that she was new. A vibration cut me short of my thoughts as the realization hit me that it had been my phone ringing. I had silenced it like I had any other school day to prevent any possible distractions from my daily life outside of school. I stopped briefly and fumbled through my right pocket to grab my cell. "Hello?" I asked, not bothering to see who it could of been but knowing full well that was my mother.

"Where are you?" my mother, Katlyn's tone was curious which made me super annoyed because, even though she was my mom, she needed to know exactly where I was every second of the day. When she clearly knows where I am. She was on the average side for body build, short cropped blonde hair and light green eyes. My mother was a control freak and that bothered me the most.

"I am just barely leaving school." I replied calmly as I felt the urge to yell at her. "I should be home soon." I rolled my eyes and silently sighed. I readjusted my shoulder straps as I glanced down the street. There was barely a car in sight and only one or two people walked separately on either side of the sidewalks.

My mother's voice was loud and clear on the other end. "You should of been home half an hour ago." Her tone changed from curiosity to annoyance in a split second. My mother wasn't as cheerful as she presents herself and at times her mood swings get to me. "So tell me son," she continued again in her annoyed tone. "What has kept you?"

"I took up an extracurricular activity that is what kept me." I lied, knowing full well that it wasn't that at all. It was because I got held up due to helping a girl to the nurse's office and that she was out pretty much all day and that I stayed to make sure that she was alright, considering that she was new and looked as though she didn't have any friends. "So in that concept mother, I will see you when I get home." I hung up before she could get another word in, which to be honest felt great to do because anyone in their right mind would take their time getting home but of course my thoughts were I am dead.

I breathed a sigh and started my slow and victorious walk home and dreading it at the same time. My thoughts also was brought back to Cora. I honestly didn't get the chance to ask for her last name either, which on my part was a rude introduction but as far I saw. I had tomorrow to ask so I really had nothing to worry about except of course the lecture from my mother once I walk through that door. At least my step-father, Gabe wasn't as bad as my mother. I honestly don't know what he sees in her. I shrugged and continued my walk. My house wasn't too far from the school and half the time I question why we decided to move so close to the school. Of course I don't question my mothers tactics when it's for the sake of saving money as she once put it at dinner a few nights ago. I just wished that she'd understand that I'm going to be an adult soon and that I won't potentially need her in a few more years after I get out from beneath her wing. I looked up and noticed Cora. Who was standing behind a bush just up ahead. "Hey." I waved at her but she didn't respond. I turned my back to see what she was staring at but there was nothing there, turning back to Cora who was now gone. "What the.." My voice trailed off in confusion. I brushed the incident aside and went home. As always dreading the moment when I walked through that door.

literature
Like

About the Creator

NebulaWolfyy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.