Humans logo

Reactions as Tiwa Savage opens up about struggles with eye problem

People's reactions are...mixed

By Jide OkonjoPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
1

Nigerian singer Tiwa Savage yesterday revealed that her eye sight has gotten worse over the last three years and the reactions she's been getting have been very...mixed.

In case you don't know, Tiwa Savage wears circle lens a lot. It's why if you've noticed, in the last couple of years, her eyes have looked bigger in pictures and videos.

Now, circle lens have been in existence for a while now and a lot of people have used them as fashion trends, but now, because of Tiwa's vision problem, a number of people are blaming this lens and old age for her bad vision, even though Tiwa didn't say specifically that either are the cause. Here's what Tiwa said, and here are the reactions.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Speaking about her bad vision and need for glasses now, Tiwa Savage said in an Instagram story:

TIWA SAVAGE: So guys the last two or three years, I have been noticing that I will be squinting sometimes and when I read some stuff, it would be getting blurry. And in the last few months, I noticed it got really bad that sometimes I will have to screen grab a message and then I would now have to go back into my camera roll and zoom. So when I was in London, I was like let me go and see the optician and now [I have to wear glasses].

So my long sight is okay for now, he said, not great; but my short sight [shakes her head]. Literally, I will be in a restaurant and sometimes, I won’t be able to read the menu. But now [after the glasses], your girl is back and you know I had to make it luxury so I had to get me a Cartier pair because ABG don’t play. But guys, do I still look sexy?

Reacting to the news online, people had a lot of thoughts:

Some people blamed her age saying: "Welcome to your 40s", "These are normal age related problems", others blamed her eating habits saying "Adding sugar to your amala, welcome to bad eyesight", while others blamed her bigger eyes from the circle lens saying "why she go enlarge her eye?", "when she doesn't want eyes like a normal human why won't her vision go bad", amidst many other comments.

What do you think about all this? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

Btw, in addition to blogging, I also make money through Whatsapp Status Sessions. If you also want to earn money through status sessions, I've created a complete guide to help you get started so we can all eat! Download it here.

In addition to running a blogging page, I also run a writing community called "Jide Okonjo Writers Club" where you can create, earn, participate in critique, and mingle with other writers. To join us, click here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Abdullahi Ibrahim mk2 months ago

    Good job

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.