Humans logo

Raw Orchid Tales

Creativity, Spirituality & Magic...

By Sarajai LuanaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Over the years, people have mentioned again and again...”write a book, you have so much to offer”. And that’s a nice thought, to share and divulge the myriad of Tales that add up to a life well lived. We all are incredible concoctions of life experience, all unique, yet innately connected by our small role in this phenomenon of humanity.

Aside from the overall miracle of living, there are a few precious things I hold onto in my life. My amazing daughter, whose love is a part of the flesh of my heart. My creativity, which continues to express itself in constantly transforming ways. And, my spirituality. Not through devotion to religious practice, but still as an aspect of my daily life that guides my manner and conscience. And lastly, it would be remiss not to mention my slight addiction to my Astrologer, who relays the most apt outline and approaches to what’s happening ‘out there’ in the cosmos. I’m intrigued by this. Not in an airy-fairy way, but in an actual ‘gonna keep this in mind’ way..you know, just in case. She quips things like “Shamanism is the key to glamour”. And it keeps my mind and soul entertained.

Over the years, I have traversed a few different creative incarnations. My very first job was as an Assistant to an art gallery director. It was a heady environment, and together with his artist wife, they infused me with the behind-the-scenes goings on, that is required to operate a reputable art establishment. Then, without much foresight or expectation, I was introduced to a circle of fascinating, and accomplished musicians. Talented players whose origins stretched from Bermuda, to the UK, to Senegal and Mauritius, and beyond. Which in turn, led to a career as a jazz chanteuse. It took years to master the sensation of standing front of stage, under spotlights, and delivering my soul through song and improvisation. There were many blessings though, collaborating with incredibly talented artists and technicians. Motherhood changed this lifestyle though. My daughter was born in the excitement of the new Millenia dawning. Smack bang in the middle of the year 2000. And since then, has amplified my understanding and experience of unconditional love, in ways that can’t be crafted into simple sentences. It has too much profundity. Always surrounded by, and enchanted by visual art, I have also professionally dabbled in design and visual art, all my life. And all of these things have taught me the skill of expression, discernment, and creation. And most of all, gratitude. For the capacity to develop my own language in these creative fields.

I’m excited about the new decade. On its Eve, it feels auspicious to begin to divulge and retell stories, and start a journey of exploration and revelation, through writing and sharing with you. In short, being a creative, an artist, a mother, and an “awake” person, has been a rewarding and challenging role. And with plenty of proverbial ups-and-downs along the way. Everything has taught me something. And personal growth is everything. Riches, poverty, travel, parenting, creating and recreating, reinventing myself, praying, surviving, flourishing, thriving and loving. There’s something vital about the development of depth of character. Depth of spirit. Depth of insight. To fully savour life as this unique existence that we have all been granted. To cultivate strength, intelligence, experience and at least some veil of wisdom.

There are memories of India, staying in a guesthouse in the foothills of the Himalayas, and meeting the Dalai Lama at his home. And smoking cigars, with the handsome and prolifically talented bass player, in a night club on tour in a beautiful tropical coastal township. Those kinds of things. Memoirs, I suppose, to share and amuse with.

With grace, let’s have a positive time! Thank you for sharing this proposal of introduction. Let’s revel in our humanness & connectedness. Let’s sigh with relief at the inevitable joining of dots, and empathy...

humanity
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.