Humans logo

Rain 1.4

Short story

By Lily AnnPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Rain 1.4
Photo by Nick Morrison on Unsplash

Rachel's POV

The next night I dreamt that I was walking through the field, it had so many flowers in it. I held up the bottom of my dress, it was a beautiful color of blue, it reminded me of my mothers eyes. I kept walking, trying not to step on any flowers. Until I reached the middle of the field, I knew I had to wait, for what I was unsure exactly. So I waited for what felt like forever until he showed up, William. I could recognize him in my sleep, he walked up to me and wrapped his arms around me holding me there for a moment before leaning down and whispering in my ear in his beautiful accent. "My darling, I love you." I closed my eyes breathing him in for a moment, before opening them and realizing he is no longer gone and I am alone outside in the dark. I opened my mouth to call for him, but I cant speak nothing comes out, not my voice, not his name I cannot even feel air coming out.

I woke up the next morning covered in sweat, I got out of the bed and went over to the window, I heard a knock on the door and turned around to find the maid walking in with a fire starter. "Hello Miss." I said before quietly going over and grabbing one of my dresses for the day. I noticed that she bobbed a curtsy before leaning down and starting the fire then walking out again quietly shutting the door behind her. not long after did I get dressed and make my way down the corridor and to the dinning hall in her fathers building, she sat down in the far corner away form anyone that may be eating and deep in conversation with heir fellow travelers. I slowly took my white gloves off and set them down on the side of the table and folded my hands down on the table, after a few moments one of my fathers maids came over and gave me a small smile. "May I offer you anything ma'am?" I stared ahead and replied with "some brad and eggs please." Then watched as the woman quickly walked away just as fast as she had appeared. I looked down at the table and counted "My daughter, are you alright?" I looked up to find my father standing next to me with Liam next to him whom moved to lean down next to me. "Darling, are you feeling alright?" He hesitated then reached out his hand to feel my forehead. "Yes, I am alright, I am just...Famished." I said as I hesitated from Liam's touch. He let out a sigh then sat across from me. "I would like to announce some news, Liam has asked me for my permission. And I gave it. You are to be married, next month to be exact." My father put his hand on Liam's shoulder and I could see he was grinning from ear to ear, as well as Liam. I looked between both of them then I got out and quickly walked out of the building.

William's POV

I walked out of the office building that afternoon and opened my phone to find a message from Mae "Have you talked to dad today, he's gone completely mental." I replied with "We will speak later, but for now meet me at Café Arose. We will discuss fathers planes later." I agreed then hung up, I found myself still standing outside of my families office building and I looked up at the very top. Ten floors and my father has to go to the very top, I let out a sigh and motioned for a close taxi to come over my way. "Café Arose, please." I told the driver, whom nodded and started driving. We made it to Café Arose in no time, Mae was standing outside already waiting for me. She had her speakers in her ears and she was leaning against the side of the building, her leg leaning up against the wall. I got out of the taxi and she looked up giving me a small smile and a nod to indicate that she was saying "Hello." I put my hands in my pockets and walked over to her, "Couldn't wait that long for me to come over you got bored already?" "Well, you know...With dad asking us to move and all." She said quietly under her breath as she moved away from the wall.

We walked into the café together, and I looked directly across from me to not find the woman that I was expecting to see but a different barista now. I attempt to hide my dismay but Mae caught on right away. "You look let down" She mentions as she walked up to the counter and orders a caramel latte, she then moves to find herself a table near the far corner of the building. I order my usual coffee and follow along behind her, once I sat down Mae pulled her phone out and flipped through it until she put it down on the table she pushed it towards me. I looked at it "Dad; Mae, I hate to have to tell you this but something came up and I decided to open up another business that I will be requiring you and your brother to go run together. This is a sudden change, but never the less a required one." I picked up the phone and re-read it four times. "This tells us …Nothing." I stated before holding the phone back out to her, she took it and sipped at her coffee. "What I don't understand is why, why now?" I asked as I diverted my eyes and leaned back in the chair. Then, it hit me like a ton of bricks as to why.

Author disclaimer:

Thank you for supporting me and my work, I put in a lot of time, and effort that I hope will not go to waste, please check out my other work and if you like this, please consider leaving a tip or even sharing it on your social media. Thank you again.

family
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.