Humans logo

Rain 1.2

Short Story

By Lily AnnPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
Rain 1.2
Photo by Sergei Akulich on Unsplash

Rachel walked down to the dining hall filled with costumers settling down for their supper for the night, my father was seated in the right side of the room with a small group of people. A man, tall, dark haired. He was dressed in loose-fitting shirt and trousers, he was with a woman a bit shorter than him, dressed in a dark misty brown dress. her hair tied up in a tight bun in the back of her head. and another man, almost equally as tall. Dressed the same, with pepper grey hair.

I walked over and attempted to put on the best smile I could muster up and laced my fingers together, as I approached closer I noticed the younger man rub his hands together and give a small smile before all four of them stand up and face me. Once I reached the table my father clears his throat, "Liam, this is my daughter Rachel." I looked from my father to Liam and nodded my head. "Pleased to meet you Rachel" Liam stated before reaching out his hand, I took it and watched it as he brought my hand up to his mouth kissing it gently. "Pleased I'm sure." I replied before taking my hand back I turned to the woman and the older man shaking their hands "Lucy, Edmond, this is my daughter Rachel." Father said. I smiled and bobbed my head slightly then watched as Lucy slightly stuck her nose up at me before they both sat down, not even saying two words to me.

That evening was spent with Liam talking between my father and his family, while I sat and watched them. We had boiled chicken stock soup, with bread, carrots, and potatoes. And a small bowl of mixed fruit which I had brought from town earlier this morning. While I am sitting at the table listening to them chat among themselves, I think of the man that I met this morning, what was his name...William... I remember his blond hair tied back with strands falling in certain places showing his sharp jawline. His deep green eyes, they looked so unlike anything I have ever seen before. He looked soft, from head to two...I could imagine him touching me, his hands gently caressing my cheeks, fingers touching my shoulders slowly moving down my arms, while he slowly leans down his hands going back to my cheeks as he leans into me for a kiss. "Rachel?" My father asks, snapping me back to my own reality. "Yes father?" I ask as I put on a small smile. "Liam had asked you something." I look from him to Liam who was staring at me a bit nervously. "Yes, Liam?" I asked as I gently fold my hands on my lap. "I asked, if you would allow me to court you, with your father’s approval of course." "If course you have its Liam." My father replied to him before I could respond. I smiled and nodded slightly. "Of course, Liam." I said in agreement.

William's POV

2019 Winter

I stood in front of the grave site and stared down at the tombstone which read Here lies Rachel Mast And her birth and death dates. I stared at her death date, 1707, I draw in a deep breath and sit on the ground next to where her body should be laying. "I still miss you, my love." I whispered. I sat like this for a few more minutes before leaving the usual bouquet of roses and bowing "I will meet you again this time next year." I stated before turning to leave which I noticed a small white bunny hopping around by my feet, I smile and start walking away.

I walk out of my bedroom and almost knock into Mae, "Brother, why aren't you at work yet? Are we feeling a bit ill today?" She asked, I tried to ignore her annoying little pun by moving past her. "Have you made any coffee yet? I am dying for some before I make my way into the office for the remainder of the day." I grinned at her, hoping she would enjoy the replies in puns. "It's on the counter, you know I usually don't make it until after the show though, Riley is coming over tonight by the way!" She shouted before heading into the overly sized living room and laying down on the couch to which she went back to her phone. "Thanks for the warning!" I shouted before making my coffee and heading out of the house and to work. Usually I don't work so late, but with everything going on, I couldn't miss a chance to stay up and search for that woman that I saw at the coffee shop, She just loosed so much like Rachel that I feel I need to find her, I need to know who she is. I swerve in and out of the crowd in front of me, until I feel something. Something pulling at me to follow it, like a cord connecting from me to something else. instinctively I follow it back to the coffee shop, I walked in and nearly started gasping for air. There she was, behind the counter talking to other costumers. We locked eyes, and it felt as though nothing else mattered for me other than this woman.

Disclosure:

Thank you again for reading my stories, this is something that I work hard for and enjoy doing. Please if you have any ideas or anything you would like to see me write about, do not hesitate to reach out to me.

Lily Ann

literature
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.