Humans logo

Running Through The Rain

Sub-Story

By Lily AnnPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1
Running Through The Rain
Photo by Ankhesenamun on Unsplash

Jace's POV

Jace walked along the long corridor to the dorm room, on his way to see her. To see Samantha, he knew she was on her way to the airport after attempting to gain his parents approval for the past year. He past doors after doors to dorm rooms, while hoping she was still packing. once I reached her door and knocked, once, twice, three times. Before Maggie finally opened the door, "She's not here." Maggie said as she leaned against the door frame.

Maggie, Samantha's best friend since she started middle school, and stayed there until current. I looked down and sighed hard as I ran my hand through my hair. "I need to see her Maggie." I stated before looking back up at her, she's my whole world." She shook her head and folded her arms and stared at me for a moment before moving aside. "Don't hurt her again." Maggie stated as she let me walk into the room, Samantha was just walking out of her bathroom with a bag of toiletries. "Samantha, I..." I trailed off as she stopped and stared at me with blank eyes. "You don't understand, please listen to me." I started, hoping that she would at least give me a chance. She just blinked and walked around me, I watched her as she grabbed her stuff and started for the door. "I don't love her!" I shouted at her. She paused and turned slowly to me. "Then why, why can’t you leave her? why won't your parents accept me?" she said, a bit too loudly that I could tell that Maggie was starting to feel both uncomfortable, and defensive for her friend. I pressed my lips together then moved towards Samantha, reaching out my hand to try to comfort her but she pulled away. "I can't because of my parents, Samantha...I need you to understand, my parents will not let it go." I started, knowing that this is hurting her more inside than she will ever let me know. "I don't love Cynthia, but my parents will keep fighting until I give them what they want anyway." I watched as Samantha started to tear up and turn away. "Then I guess this is goodbye Jace." She said as she turned to leave.

Samantha's POV

I walked up to the old mansion in New Orleans, it has been five years since I have been to this house. Six long years since I have worked here, and three years since I found out what had happened to the family that lived here, to his family. Looking back at the old, paved driveway, I felt a longing for comfort. Comfort from someone that I have not seen in a long time, someone that I have never fully gotten over. Turning back around I stare at the empty mansion that was once filled with light, faces flashed in my mind of memories, of Jace, of him kissing me, of his sister Sarah, and of her husband. Then memories of seeing Jace and Cynthia together... She brushed tears out of her eyes and gripped her bag she started up the stairs to empty house, It’s been a month since she got the litter from Ruth, stating that the now empty house has sat empty for far too long without the family and Ruth had put it in Samantha's name for Jace's sake. What that meant, I was not sure. She spoke of house the family got caught by the hunters, that nobody has seen or heard from any of them in three years. Ruth said they are believed to be dead.

I choked back tears as I put the key into the lock and opened the door. Everything was the same as it was the last time she had been here, a large entryway leading to the living room to the left, to the right, a large dining hall with an oversized fireplace. I walked forward and walked past the large marble staircase and through to the ballroom where she has memories of several balls she went to, she kept walking until she was met with the stairway leading from the kitchen to the maids stairwell. She knew the stairwell like the back of her hand. I checked my phone and sighed, Ruth was supposed to meet me here, but it looks like she will not be joining me through this. I put my phone back in my pocket and started up the stairs, I kept walking until I reached the third level of the house, from there I walked out into the long hallway. I made my way to the bedroom in the far side of the mansion, I paused in front of the double wooden doors and shut my eyes for a moment then I opened them and turned both door handles and walked into the far too familiar room. To the left, a king-sized bed, still covered in the silk white sheets and light blue blankets. To the right, a large desk filled with books, undone paperwork, and an open laptop. I walked over to the laptop and looked at it for a moment before closing it. I then unplugged it and picked it up, hoping that I could get whatever was left on it.

I let out a sigh and turned to go back out into the hallway, just then my phone buzzed pulling it out I bright it to my ear. "Let’s go find him." It was Ruth, "Where are you?" I demanded. "Don't ask questions, just meet me at the pier." Ruth said before hanging up. It was then, I knew what I had to do.

Disclosure: This is a sub-Chapter to a book that I am currently in the works of writing, I hope to put more sub-Chapters out as I write the book and hope that it brings as much mystery as it does romance.

-Lily

literature
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.