Humans logo

Problems with Our Instinctive Expectations of Love

We believe what love can feel like, or we actually know the feeling, but question is, are our expectations influencing the path to us finding it?

By andie cannPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like
Photo taken by author in Colmar, France

Even though I am still young to be thinking about the big "I love you." the movies on TV are subconsciously altering my view on love. Yes, I am guilty of watching 'romantic' comedies with these undeniable cute scenes, while being perfectly conscious that it isn't realistic. But while Disney movies and Netflix movies show two people finally realising they're actually in love with each other, I begin to question whether that is possible for me. I feel like these fictional movies are putting a slight hinderance on my love path. -- Is that weird?--

What I do know is that there is a 0.00001% chance of your crush singing "I can't take my eyes off of you" to you from the bleachers while you're at practice. (Yes, how could I not mention 10 Things I Hate About You) But because I've seen so many of these movies with the guy (or girl) doing these huge acts of putting themselves out there, you begin to question whether you'll ever get that... and then start to feel silly for even thinking of that because "it only happens in the movies".

It begins to make me wonder whether my obsession with these romantic movies is actually creating this false hope that someday a guy would do that for me? Whether my expectations of a relationship and finding that love is much higher than it should be for real life. Let me know what your thoughts are on this.

This being said, I'm sure there are some people out there who have experienced this movie-worthy memory. For example, high school sweethearts usually have so many stories of how they met and how 20 years down the line they now have 2 kids, a dog and are still very happy together.

This is the problem though. We convince ourselves that these movies aren't realistic and then come across someone who has experienced it and we're left at a standstill. Do I dream of possibly having it? Do I not even let myself begin to think about the possibility? Am I seriously just overthinking it now?

To be perfectly honest, my mind is not necessarily clear when it comes to love. But I'm ok with it because it's definitely a process and a journey toward growing. I don't think it'll come anytime soon as I'm still finding myself but I guess you never know! I just hope nothing is necessarily blocking it without even realising it.

I think, all in all, it's just important for us all who watch these movies to not take it seriously. This means understanding that it is a movie but also not settlings for something you know isn't enough. We deserve the best so go ahead and search for it.

Don't just settle. Find someone who finds that balance between your comfort bubble, and pushing you to be better.

Photo by Everton Vila on Unsplash

love
Like

About the Creator

andie cann

Just a girl who has continuously moved around, experiencing it all! I'll tell you my story and what I've learnt along the way – on top of those endless thoughts I occasionally have.

Find me on Instagram and Youtube! (Both under andie cann)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.