Humans logo

Pretty With a Purpose

The Pretty Purposeful Marigold

By Jenae SmithPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
3

As pretty as I am, I was created with a purpose. I was created not just to look pretty but I was created to protect you from the vampires, but some may refer to them as pests and insects, but I repel mosquitoes specifically. While you sit outside and gaze at me with pride, it pleases me to know how my beauty makes you smile. So I come annually to protect you for a while. I come in many colors, yellow, orange, white, red, gold and bicolor. But at the end of this story hopefully you don't judge me and like Marshawn Lynch you'll know what I came for! I'll say it again; it's to keep the blood suckers away. For I am a marigold; pretty with a purpose.

I really want to see you happy despite what some may say. I was created to keep the blood suckers away. I was created with a purpose and some don't want me to serve it; so they’ve chosen to slander my name. Some say I come with jealousy, grief, despair and mourning but that is where I serve my purpose. I was made to show you how jealousy, grief, despair and mourning can cause someone to feel like you're taking their love of life and all their joy away; no matter how beautifully they were made. And because I have been a witness and someone even tried to make me their victim. So really because of my strife I was recreated to bring life to those who are still amidst the fight. See some of you have sucked the lives out of others; not caring whether it was their mother, father, sister or brother. They are jealous of you because even in your downfall you continued maintaining. And everything that they thought would destroy you was only elevating. And because I refused to be defeated I was left rejuvenated. Every morning getting confirmation with a new revelation. I learned some creatures were created to suck your blood and drain you and I refuse to stand by and watch you lose. So I bring to you positive emotions and energy that is my only motive. For I am a marigold, tried and true, here to protect you from pests, insects and I've heard I ward off evil spirits too. So when I speak of vampires, it's pests and insects, but mosquitoes are what I keep away the best. Those blood sucking, virus transmitting leeches that float about to and fro and leaving you itching before you even know. But I'm happy to say that I'll take care of that if I'm the flower you plant and grow.

In this story I compare a marigold to humanity. Creating an analogy hoping to show that the person that you think is just a good looking part of creation may have been created for more than you gazing; and because of jealousy, grief, despair and mourning that others expose them to only cause their dreams to be delayed. But as a witness to such destruction I plan to give a little motivation. Because like that Marigold, pretty with a purpose, I couldn't fall victim so I wear it like a crown, the purpose I have found. See like a marigold I am self-seeding, so I'll be here year round fighting off the mosquitoes; who only want to suck your blood and drain you. So the reason why I've experienced so much, just like the marigold is able to live regardless of the season I had a purpose so I was created with resilience. To fight off pests and insects wouldn't have been my first choice, but warding off evil was something I was created for. Just ask Amy Enfield, instructor and content creator for Scotts Miracle-Gro. So keep this in your notes, so we can all become aware of the purpose we possess. I'm not a fortune teller, but I do wish for you good fortune and that's my best. For I am a marigold with love as my potion. Protecting you from blood sucking, energy stealing mosquitoes is my daily devotion. I was created with a purpose and trust I will serve it.For I am marigold, not agreeing to let you take my shine and any mosquito I see I plan to fight. Because as pretty as some think I am, I have a purpose to fulfill morning, noon and night. And that's to keep away the things that sometimes aren't even in your sight. I am a marigold; pretty with a purpose. And nothing will prevent me from serving it, because I am self-seeding so I will just keep returning. For I am a marigold must I tell you; pretty with a purpose. Yeah I said it again, maybe this time everyone heard it. For it sticks in my head, I am pretty with a purpose! For I am a marigold with so many stories of lives I've saved, by simply keeping the blood sucking mosquitoes at bay!

friendship
3

About the Creator

Jenae Smith

I greatly enjoy every part of the writing process. Yes! From content creation to publishing. I also enjoy formatting and editing just as much. I have been writing since I was 14 and excelled greatly in my writing even in business writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.