Humans logo

Please Stop White Male Bashing

Do we really need any more hate in this world?

By Chris HearnPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3
Image by Haris Memović/Unsplash

I cannot stress enough how important diversity is. We, the human race, come in all shapes, sizes, colours, genders, sexualities, ethnicities and backgrounds and deserve to be on an equal level to one another as much possible. We all need each other in our societies in cultures. It is important to celebrate all that we are as a species, and work together for the common good of human progress. Yes, we need to work to decrease racism, sexism, homophobia, and other prejudices to help create a better world.

But, as a white, straight, middle aged male, I cannot help but notice in this quest for a better world, white males receive a whole lot of bashing.

I may be white. I may be male. But that doesn't make me a bad person. I am still a human being with real feelings who is struggling to make it from birth to death as best as I can, just like everyone else. And the path I am on is as unique and individual as the ones that anyone else taking.

I am not a CEO of a mega corporation. I am not in any boardroom making sweeping decisions that can affect thousands. I'm not the leader of a country that can make sweeping decisions that can affect millions. I am not in the KKK. I'm not wealthy. I'm not well educated.

I am just a white dude who is sitting here writing this after another period of time on social media watching as so-called "progressives" take aim at people like me (which, includes me) because of the fact that we are white and male.

There is no doubt that stereotyping and prejudice has happened and continues to happen against some groups who are now fighting for equality and fairness. However, I do not believe that the way to combat that kind of stuff is to just turn it around and use it against white men. FFS.

And yet, somehow, in modern progressive rhetoric, things that would be said about literally ANY other group that would be classified as racism, sexism, etc., is somehow seen as perfectly fine, and even celebrated. How can this be??

If you want to see some of the rhetoric that I speak of, merely type the term "white male" or "white men" into your Google search. Or, go on Twitter, and search for "white men".

And, for some reason, even questioning this approach to working towards better societies, one is deemed part of the problem. Case in point...

So, if I happen to say, "Hey, whoa, can we stop this bashing please??" the answer appears to be, "HA! You are the problem!

Oh, here is a nice little heartwarming tweet about white men...finally!

Yup. That's pretty much the best on will find on social media. White men are okay...sometimes. Maybe. Possibly. He will entertain the idea.

Sometimes, in the course of white male bashing, other prejudice and racism accidently pops in there without anyone noticing. Like, in this tweet:

So, what is this saying? People of other races aren't libertarian? Only white men? There must be an awful lot of libertarians from other groups scratching their heads about this that are trying to figure out if they are bad or good...bad because they are libertarian, or good because they aren't white men?? Very confusing.

The Google search has not found one article or mention of white males in any positive way. None. Not one, so far. All of them discuss the "problem" with white males, men, "Whiteness", patriarchy, toxic masculinity, etc. Not one says anything uplifting, inspiring, empowering, loving or supportive.

Same thing on social media. Absolutely nothing that I can see that paints white males in a positive light. And, as a white male, that scares and frustrates me.

Personally, I struggle with my self esteem enough as it is. To further feel demonized or disliked merely because I am a white male can be overwhelming and hurtful. I didn't choose my skin colour, my gender, my sexuality or where I was born, None of those things were under my control. So, please, don't judge me on these things just as I should not judge anyone else based on those same factors.

I'm not sure why I get lumped in with every other white male as if we are one giant homogenous group that all think, act and look the same, and are all on the exact same social and economic page.

I have often felt completely rejected by all kinds of people in our society, including other white dudes. Being a white dude isn't being part of some club where we all get a membership card and learn secret handshakes and scheme to keep everyone else out. Being born white and male isn't an automatic free pass through this world.

Now, in no way do I mean to downplay the suffering of others. Clearly, there have been historical events and even current events that have greatly effected other groups. And we, as a whole, do need to address these concerns and work to make things better for everyone.

But, do we REALLY need to bash straight, white males in the process?

humanity
3

About the Creator

Chris Hearn

I'm a 47 year old writer, amateur photographer and amateur dad living in Winnipeg, MB, Canada.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.