Humans logo

Please Keep Reading

story

By Mark GrahamPublished about a year ago 3 min read
novel (pexels.com)

After so many years here on Vocal.com I believe I am finally getting more reads. I am really appreciating the likes that I am getting for my writing. When I first started here my idea was to share what I have learned from all my years in college, and the best way, I thought, was to rewrite all my lecture notes into article form.

In my years of college and graduate school I studied programs starting with right after high school I went to a small local business school and studied Accounting and it turned out the small, local business school was going under, and I finished after one year with a certificate in General office skills with some Accounting. Moving on and trying to find a general office job ended up being a housekeeping for a local community college for a year before going back to school to study Teacher education (Early childhood) for I spent several years caring for my sister's young children and really liked 'teaching' them their letters and numbers and all the very basic skills that are needed before entering Kindergarten. After finishing that degree and only being hired as a Substitute for several years for a Head Start program and no full-time positions seem to be opening, so I decided to take a course in nursing assistant and became a Certified nursing assistant and after two years I went to a Vo-Tech school and started a one year program to be a Licensed Practical Nurse and worked for the next 14 years for a Behavioral health unit mainly dealing with geriatric patients dealing with various psychiatric issues mainly Dementia/Alzheimer's disease.

people (pixabay.com)

This is the position that led me to wanting to study Human services with a little social work counseling for I became an Activities assistant and worked in this capacity when the Music therapist went to a conferences and/or on vacations. I was accepted into a Master's counseling program as a provisional student and just too enough of the courses to help me in that job of being an Activity director, since I did have a Bachelor's degree.

After, awhile I decided to go on and finish my Master's but getting one in Education, but more precisely Curriculum and instruction. This is when a very sad family issue occurred and me and my mom moved to the Deep South and I finished my Master's and moved on to getting a Graduate certificate in College teaching and a Doctorate in Reading and literacy. I am now a volunteer book reviewer and freelance writer for several sites like this and a new one known as Substack.com. The books that I review range from children's to adult, but I do not review erotica mainly because those books are mainly boring for you know what they are about. Recently, I have become a textbook reviewer for Sage Corwin and have reviewed two textbooks and three more on the way for them.

english (pixabay.com)

books (pixabay.com)

This has led me to trying to become a full-time freelance writer and the new site known as Substack.com that is a site for creating my newsletter of book reviews and various other type articles, but I also need paid subscribers there to make at least a little money, as I do here. Also, I am trying to find a position somewhere where I can be a copy typist otherwise known as a text to text transcriptionist.

After working 16 total years as a nursing assistant/practical nurse and earning several college degrees and now kind of semi-retired, but still needing something to keep my mind active, so that I do not end up as the patients I cared for during those years. That profession even though is hard at times it was still fulfilling for me that led me to other facets for me. I love being a writer. Please like, comment and offer a tip if you would like to for I would appreciate it very much.

humanityfeature

About the Creator

Mark Graham

I am a person who really likes to read and write and to share what I learned with all my education. My page will mainly be book reviews and critiques of old and new books that I have read and will read. There will also be other bits, too.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Mark Graham (Author)about a year ago

    Just wanted to share my thoughts on how things from my past affected my future.

Mark GrahamWritten by Mark Graham

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.