Humans logo

Passions of the Heart

By: Katie Foster

By Katie FosterPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
Passions of the Heart
Photo by Tim Marshall on Unsplash

Passions of the Heart

As a mother of five children, a registered nurse, a wife, homemaker, and artist, my passions lie within creation and for people. I was in an abusive marriage for fourteen years and I’ve always wanted to have a blog, to tell my story, and to reach others who have suffered or are currently suffering at the hands of their spouse, significant other, or by family members. Inside my blog, I would have acrylic painting, cooking, and crafting tutorials as a way to reach my audience and give them resources to heal and put the broken pieces of themselves back together. Art, crafting, cooking, meditation, and videos to connect to my members would all be outlets to reach out and have that connection become reciprocated. I am passionate about being a mother, working as nurse, going to school to become a Family Nurse Practitioner, reaching out to others; it is everything I am and will be about. The happiness of people, connection, making someone’s day, helping someone through a dark time regardless of the cause; they’re all passions within my heart.

Having five children, one of them being my oldest son’s best friend that I’ve recently adopted, as well as being a wife and homemaker would allow me to reach my members in a multitude of ways. Fast, quick, and easy homemade meal tutorials and recipes. Advice for mothers, fathers, or both parents having children from any age. Life hacks to make lives of parents that much easier. Video or blog post entries discussing parenthood, divorce, marital issues, familial concerns, “how-to” tutorials, blog posts for single moms and dads, etc. There’s really no end in the realms of parenting and the possibilities of reaching and connecting to people within these specific subjects on their own.

I am a registered nurse and have practiced for nearly eight years. I am currently in a master’s degree program to obtain my Family Nurse Practitioner degree and certification. I could reach people with health issues or concerns, post health and nutrition blogs, medical information for children, be able to help people with rare genetic disorders like that of my own inherited condition, Ehlers Danlos Syndrome. I would not and could not practice as a nurse via blog posts, but I could connect in a medical/educational way. I could reach other medical professionals and even students in the medical field.

As a crafter and artist, I have made wedding floral arrangements nationwide, acrylic pet portraits of several people’s most loved fur babies, or even for people who have lost pets suddenly. My work has been distributed across the country and even to Canada! My pet portraits have brought so many people happiness, peace, and have brightened many days. With my creative background, my members would have access to painting tutorials, “how-to” crafting videos, blog posts relating to art, woodworking, furniture upcycling, making t-shirts, creating multipurpose pdfs for events, invitations, creating your own planner, holiday crafts, gift ideas, creating and inspiring painting ideas for artists ranging from the beginner level to experienced artists wanting to learn something new, and more! There is nothing I cannot create with my hands if I have a visual picture in mind of what I want to make. I want to inspire that level of confidence in others and provide ways to be creative, even if you’ve never had a creative bone in your body. Personally, I have found that writing, painting, crafting, cooking, and photography, are all therapeutic outlets for me. I could definitely connect to people in this way. It’s fun, peaceful, keeps people learning, and developing new skills. Having or creating a creative side would allow people to express themselves, develop new skills they didn’t know they had, create a fun way to bring light into the darkness, or just to have fun!

As far as being someone from an abusive relationship, I have wanted to have a blog specifically aimed towards this subject, and one day maybe even a book! I was in a couple abusive relationships, had narcissistic family members throughout my life, and have experienced loss in an immeasurable number of ways. Domestic violence, abuse in any form, escaping the clutches of an abusive partner or family member, divorce, posts inspiring self-worth, love, hope, recovery, and healing would reach a variety of people in unimaginable circumstances. It would be a safe outlet to discuss their issues, fears, ask questions, and feel a sense of community with myself and others a part of the membership/blog/website. On this blog, I could have links to other blogs I have created so that my members can connect and reach out in many different ways. I feel it is vital for people who have suffered at the hands of someone, or in some cases by the hands of several people who were supposed to love and care for them, to tell their story, to vent, or to have a “safe hub” to go to. Also included in this blog, or website, would be online resources for help, in any capacity. At one point in my career, I worked for a mental health crisis line. The disparity of mental health issues, resources, and ways to find help are a HUGE deficit in this country. Mental health issues, regardless of the cause, is major population health concern nationwide AND internationally. Having mental health issues or concerns is considered taboo by much of society. As a sufferer of post-traumatic stress disorder, panic disorder, and major depressive disorder, I know what it feels like to feel trapped, to feel like my emotions are being validated, how it feels to feel numb and hopeless, the importance of needing to tell my story and feel heard, the need to feel accepted, desperate for someone to talk to, or for someone just to help me. My ability to relate to people in this way could be monumental to my members. If I could just help one person, I would feel complete and fulfilled. My brother committed suicide at the age of 18 and I wasn’t able to help him. I couldn’t stop it. If I could help someone, or help someone help someone else, my passion and motivation to reach others hurting and suffering, I feel like I would complete my purpose in this world. If I ever had a larger-than-life passion, this particular subject would be the primary priority, with my other passions being interconnected within it.

Connecting to people, helping someone in need, inspiring change, inspiring new hobbies and therapeutic outlets, telling my own stories, creating varieties of ways to reach people in any form, is everything I am about as a person. It would be a dream come true. Growing up I always wanted to become a nurse, but as an adult who has experienced life in a variety of ways, I could help people and connect to people in countless ways. Life is too short to sit idly by, watching people in need or in search for something more. I can’t and I won’t keep my passions to myself. There is so much passion, love, empathy, and ideas I have to offer this world. I can’t see myself doing anything else. I may have several passions and may seem like I’m a lot to handle, but I have a lot to offer. The possibilities are endless! No dream is too big, or willingness to reach people too small. I feel it’s important to have outlets of self-expression, “go big or go home” moments in life, to dream the impossible and achieve it, to create and share passions, and to have a sense of community regardless of the subject or passion involved. The world needs more of this. More compassion, more connection, more acceptance, more love. Without these, humanity is lost. There’s no better way to reach people than through technology as the world and society continues to grow and advance in this way. BE that change, become and achieve that “unreachable, unachievable” dream, be that person who wants to inspire and connect with others, share passions of the heart.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Katie Foster

Born and raised in Texas. A busy, busy mother of 5, a registered nurse, married to my best friend, and in school to become a Family Nurse Practitioner! I am passionate about MANY things including writing, painting, photography, & crafting!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.