Humans logo

Pandemic & True Friends

Muse #16

By Valorie TaylorPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Pandemic & True Friends
Photo by Mohau Mannathoko on Unsplash

I know, I know, I know! COVID-19 restrictions mandate 1. a social distance of 6 feet, 2. where a mask and 3. keep in mind that everybody is racist or is some hazard or harm to you, right?

Wait. I think that last part is POTUS’ mandate. But let’s not get political today.

Truth is I miss my friends. I miss impromptu Champagne Girls Nights at my house with Ginger and Denise.

I miss fussing over a Pinterest-worthy charcuterie board because someone is dropping by or coming in from out of town.

I miss catching up over Cadillac Margaritas and nachos with Tammy. And breakfast at some local dive with Tammy and Tim.

I miss design talks with Lydia about my next home improvement project.

I miss game night with the Francis’, the Dickersons, the Jacksons, the Williams’ and the Tellus’. Oh, the fun we had!

Darn this pandemic! Stepri, Diane, Toni, Vanessa and Kevin, we are in as soon as...

I know, I know, I miss.

But (in my baby voice) I’ve been a bad wittle girl.

I’ve had one or two friends over at once. Sometimes we chatted in the front yard or hung out on my patio to keep up appearances. Other times we plunged ourselves right on the couch and caught a movie in my living room.

I took a business meeting the other day in my home office because the air quality was so bad from the Solono, California fires.

I visited my besty of nearly 40 years for prayer this week. It’s ironic that we only planned to be together for an hour like if you visit you’ve got to rush. But there we were three hours later, late for other appointments and just getting to our promised prayer time.

Life must happen, folks. I just don’t believe this pandemic can annihilate true friendships. Some people will and have stepped passed the mandates to nurture relationships that mean something to them. It’s that human connection we need right now especially for mental health reasons.

Now, before someone reads this article and calls the COVID police to tattle about all of my irascible behaviors, I want declare that I am a mask wearer. The reports of people who’ve been infected with this virus is alarming to me and often heart-breaking. I respect myself, my own health and the health of others.

I won’t force the issue of togetherness if someone’s health is compromised. I mean, raise your hand if you, too, are dealing with aging parents whom you cannot visit. It’s more than a notion.

The other day, our dear friends Lyd and Marcel drooped by. We haven’t seen them in a long while. I hugged them. Our history is long and rich. They wanted to treat me and The One to lunch for our anniversary. So the convo began with what restaurants we refused to go to versus which restaurants we would consider even though we’d have to sit outside. You know, that presumed rush we’ve all fallen into?

Well, it came down to grabbing grub from this one place and bringing back. Let me tell you, we had the best time. No waiters. No traffic. No breathing exhaust because we had to sit curbside. No strange looks from other patrons. Just us and a few laughs. Oh did I mention we ate without our masks on?

Therapeutic? Very.

I enjoyed just seeing their faces. I hadn’t realized how special it is just to share a meal with friends. True friends.

Will I break rank again to spend a little time with True Friends during this pandemic?

Probably. Yeah.

Will you?

Carry on.

Pandemic & True Friends (c) Valorie M Taylor August, 2020. All Rights Reserved.

friendship
1

About the Creator

Valorie Taylor

I love words.

The pulse and rhythm of words. The startling presence of words and their amazing audacity to make us think, halt, change, laugh, cry and grow.

I am a Writer. A fictionalist (see, I created a word) Weaver of tales long & short.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.