Humans logo

Painting on people

Living art

By Crystal Dawn LesherPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

The creative project that brings me the most relaxation and joy is a bit out there. Dare I say it is something that one would not expect. It is not something that I can just go find a group that enjoys the same things to talk about. It requires a lot of skill and is a work in progress for me.

I would love to get someone that I can learn under to get more skilled in this craft but being a parent of two and working many jobs to support my family I often have to "make" time just to give myself a chance to unwind with it. I often have to have people volunteer for me to have a chance to practice. It is actually quite an expensive hobby to keep the supplies needed to do it.

I did ask someone once if I could work under them but was told that they did not have time to teach me how to draw. Which threw me off because I had some of the people I had worked on there with me to show him what I could do. He said that I should practice drawing until I was able to draw a picture of anything without looking at another picture to do it. I guess that would be a good idea to do though if one has a business out of it and has a lot of walk-in clients. That way you could work quicker and on the fly. For a person with a family that is insistent upon constant attention though I am not sure it is really reasonable. I understand they call them starving artists but I cannot afford time without getting paid as I have children.

However, at that moment when it is just me and the tattoo machine and the soft buzz in my ear, the only thing that matters is doing a good job that I can be proud of and that the volunteer can appreciate. There is no mom I need this there is just the hum of the machine and whatever music I might be playing in the background. Sometimes there is some small talk like a person would get at a beauty shop.

In the moments that it is just me and the artwork, I am trying to do and nothing else is expected of me I find my peace. The inner quiet of my soul. The moments when the world feels like everything is going right. Sometimes I have bad tattoos where the ink just does not seem to stay. I just take the time to go back and fix it and correct the previous issues. Every tattoo I do I feel I get so much closer to being the "artist" I hope to be.

For me, that is what a hobby should be moments when nothing else around you going on matters and it is all about that very moment and what you are accomplishing in it. A person that loves the tattoo I give them is the most enjoyable feeling. I have given them a gift that will last their entire lifetime and will never leave them. It is not like a ring or an item that can get lost. It is till the day they die.

I love my hobby and it gives me both pain and pleasure. Due to my family home-life and the fact that in those moments when I am doing it nothing else matters. Here's to maybe one day my hobby helping me to take care of my family, until then I will settle for moments of meditation the use of my tattoo machine.

art
1

About the Creator

Crystal Dawn Lesher

I am a mother of 2 amazing children. That does all sorts of things to try to keep my family taken care of.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.