Humans logo

White Roses in Spring

Merlot musician

By Crystal Dawn LesherPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2

It was a wonderfully nice spring day. I went for a walk around and park looked at all the beautiful cherry trees blooming. Fed the ducks in the pond and also watched the koi fish swimming. A slow gentle breeze blowing all day. The sun warmed my skin just right. The air was fresh smelling like after it rains. Every once in a while with the breeze blowing you could catch the smell of grass being trimmed. The bird nests full of baby birds peeping. Despite the wonderfully cheerful day, I could not shake the feeling of being watched.

I looked every where and nothing. The peaceful feeling of the day was just not right. I began to walk back to my vehicle and head home. I walked a few feet and looked down a single white rose was laying on the ground I picked it up thinking how strange for a flower to just be laying on the ground. I wondered if someone had dropped it maybe. While wrapped up in my thoughts I kept walking thinking about this beautiful rose, I look down and there is another one. I bend down and pick it up, it is sad something so beautiful should be wasted and left on the ground. I continue walking. By the time I had made it back to my vehicle I had found 12 roses.

While standing at my vehicle, I hear the most enchanting voice singing a very poetic song and see an intriguing man strumming a guitar. He is sitting on a bench with the guitar case open to make some extra coin. I walk up and listen to him play. He is so melodious. I am very moved by his performance and find myself swaying to the music. I realize after quite some time I had been standing there listening for a good 30 minutes if not more. I feel as though I should leave some sort of gesture of appreciation so I put the roses in the case as I do not have any money in my flowing sun dress. I head back to my vehicle again as I am tired and ready to go home.

I get back to my vehicle and they day takes a strange turn there is an empty wine glass sitting on my hood. I know that was not there when I first came to my vehicle where did it come from? I stand there looking at the glass with a look on my face that I am sure shows how confused I am. Even more confusing my glass starts to fill with this deep red almost purple color it is semi-transparent with opaque core. I instantly recognize the fluid as a Merlot. I turn around to see who is pooring this liquid in this glass. I am stunned. It is the gentleman that was playing the guitar.

"I hope you do not mind, I have been watching you walk through this park and enjoy the life of it around you and you have awakened the muse within. To pay you back I laid the roses on the way back to your vehicle and the glass on your hood. Then, when you put the roses in my case because the music I was making made you happy I knew then for sure I had to talk to you."

"I felt like I was being watched.... That was you?"

"I came to the park today to find my inspiration and it seems I have I found you. Watching you made me start my music and I knew I had to repay you for the awakening you had given me. So, I placed the roses for you. Then you surprised me when you came over and listened to me. I could not believe you left the roses in the case for me."

"Your music moved me so and I had found myself listening for a long time and I knew I had to compensate you somehow. So, I left you the roses. Like one would get at the end of a ballet or play."

"Well, my name is John. Would you be interested in having a candlelit dinner with me in this park under the stars tonight?"

"Nice to meet you John. I will be happy to have a dinner with you under the stars. Should I bring anything to help with the dinner? Oh, and my name is Angelica."

"Angelica I have dinner. All you have to do is show up. Being in your presence is all the payment I require."

"Ok John, I will be back at 5. I will see you then."

"I will see you then dearest Angelica."

I came back that night and I was floored. He had hung lanterns in the trees and the softest looking blanket on the ground. In the middle of the blanket was a candelabra. He had two wine glasses full of the most glorious looking Merlot I had ever seen. There was an exquisitely prepared chicken breast on each plate. Next to the plate was a beautifully plate of chocolate covered strawberries. The blanket was covered with rose petals. We sit and eat in silence. By then end of the meal the sun is setting and the lightning bugs are flying in the sky making the most beautiful glow in the sky. It is truly breathtaking.

"Are you enjoying yourself?" John asks.

"The park after dark is just as breathtaking as it is in the day. The lightning bugs flying around and the stars overhead make me want to smile and dance."

"If you dance will you dance with me?" John asks.

"I would gladly dance with you but there is not music. All I hear is the chirping of the crickets."

"No, you are hearing the beauty of nature."

He then begins to sing matching so beautifully with the sounds of the crickets chirping that I am just aww. I do not know what heaven is but this day has been the most wonderfully breathtaking day I have ever had. Who would have thought I would spend the day with Merlot and roses.

literature
2

About the Creator

Crystal Dawn Lesher

I am a mother of 2 amazing children. That does all sorts of things to try to keep my family taken care of.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.