Humans logo

Paint it Red

What do you do when the price of caring costs you?

By Stephanie WatsonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Chandeliers hung overhead as we entered the auditorium for the annual Evening Under the Stars gala. A greeter led us to our table and slipped a note into my pocket as they passed me.

Tyler, my mother's boyfriend, kept glancing around the room, checking out other women. My mother was trying to hide the bruises she'd covered with makeup and a shawl as men looked her over. I felt disgusted to be there, but I put my best face on to shield my sister Courtney.

When the auction started, and the bidding paddles began going up, I went to the restroom. I locked the door and waited to hear four taps before I let my contact Dee in.

"Do you have everything I asked for?"

I handed her the small black Moleskine notebook with dates, times, and quotes that Tyler said. My phone chimed, and an e-transfer of twenty thousand dollars arrived in my email.

"That's everything, and you should have the email of voice recordings when Tyler was abusing my mother. I included times he also said perverse things to Courtney and me or my friends."

"Thank you, Scarlett, everything here will help the case against him."

"Why are you doing this?"

Dee turned and plastered on a sad smile as she peeled a fake skin off her face revealing burn marks.

"I don't want this to happen to another woman. Take the money and never return here."

"I'm moving at the end of the school year, and I promise I won't be back."

Dee gave me a side hug then left with her gown trailing behind her. I waited a few minutes then followed her out only to be bombarded by applause as Tyler won something.

The gala ended around ten, and by eleven, I was home in pj's sitting on my bed with a book. My mother and Tyler were off in a hotel room somewhere in Toronto while Courtney slept at a friend's house.

My phone rang, and Jordan's name appeared on the caller ID.

"How's it going, Rudolph?"

"I'm beginning to regret telling you my middle name," he laughed. "Wanna hang out?"

"Sounds like fun."

I put on some jeans, and a baggy sweater over my shirt, then went outside to wait. Stilted silence filled the night of the full moon with anticipation. I lay down in the middle of the road, counting the stars, then the sound of rollerblades brought a smile to my face.

He stopped at my feet, then came and lay beside me.

"What are you looking at," he said as his hand touched mine.

"Trying to figure out how to get to the moon by next Friday before another gala."

"That bad, huh?"

"Between my mother playing the role of arm candy and me being forced to wear makeup, yeah, it was bad."

Jordan laughed, then rolled on to his side and brushed some dirt off his sleeve.

"It's almost midnight," he whispered.

He stood up and wandered over to the willow tree on my front lawn. I followed him and stretched my back, then went and leaned against the trunk.

"What's on your mind, Rudolph?"

"I like seeing you smile."

Heat rose to my cheeks, and I tried to hide it, but he stopped me from covering my face.

"After being forced to perform for so many people, it's nice not having to fake it. I'm comfortable being myself around you."

"Even if I come a little closer?"

My mouth went dry when I felt his hands around my waist and his eyes resting on my lips. I went on tiptoes and let him pull me close enough that his breath tickled my ear. He kissed along my jaw, and it sent shivers up my spine.

Then I realized what I had done, letting him become emotionally involved with me. I couldn't kiss him.

My heart sank when I saw his deep blue eyes meet mine as I pulled away.

"I'm sorry," I said as I ran back inside and slammed the door.

My chest was pounding while I leaned against the door, pleading for any distraction to take me away.

A month later, Courtney and I handed the flight attendant our tickets as we got on to the plane. My dad picked us up from the airport when we landed in Vancouver and drove us to his house.

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Stephanie Watson

Writing allows me to share a small part of the worlds in my head and bring them to life. I hope my future readers enjoy them.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.