Humans logo

Our First Awkward Date

Our First Awkward Date

By DeepshikhaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Our First Awkward Date

Please note i am submitting this story for Dream Date challenge but for some reason option not available here.

‘I do not know if I call it a date or an Seminar’

My Name is Sonia, I work as an Education Counselor in a company. This story is 2 years ago, When i started my career after graduation and I got an experience of my first date which was weird and I got 2 things as well, but today I have one thing and the other thing has gone away from me. My company sent me to attend a seminar, who was in a five-star hotel. The seminar was for 2 days and one night which was organized by an international university. When I reached there, I noticed that many counselors from different companies also came to attend the same seminar. Well let me tell you, such seminars are always very boring but this seminar was different.

In this seminar, fun activities were organized for all of us guests and besides the food there was a cocktail party too. We all went to the hotel at 11 am on Saturday and the room reservation was already done by this host. While waiting for the room key at the hotel reception, I glanced at a man who had come to attend the same seminar. At first glance, his personality attracted me but at that time I did not get a chance to talk to him and we went to our respective room.

At 12 o'clock on the same day, we had a group meeting in which we had to give our introductions to each other. We arrived in hall number 3 at the same time, there were 4 enlarged tables and each table had 10 chairs. I went to the last chair in the second table, after some time the man came into the hall and sat in the chair next to me. During the introduction we spoke to each other and I came to know his name Sam. After that whatever activity happened, we both participated together and we also had lunch together which led to a good friendship between us.

Around 4 pm we were all sent to our rooms so that we could rest a bit. At 5 pm the hotel staff gave me a card. In which it was written * you are invited for a cocktail party at 6 pm in the hotel club * I got a little late for some reason and I reached there at around 6.30. The party had already started there, everyone had glasses of red wine in their hands, now I was feeling a little strange and I sat to the corner. I was attending a professional seminar for the first time at the time and that atmosphere was new to me, so it was natural to get a little nervous.

Sam immediately came to me and said “You are late” I told her “Yes my fault and now I feel strange” He looked at me and smiled and said “follow me.” He brought me from the back door to the pool area and then I notice that he has a bottle of red wine in his hand. We sat on the chair and then we started talking.

I said “Don't you think we should not come here separately, I mean everyone is enjoying there”

He smiled and said “You said that you are feeling strange there” well the truth was, I wanted to spend time with him separately, so I did not say anything further and just smiled.

Then He said “so….. Can we start our first date?”

I was surprised to hear this and I said “Date” in a loud voice.

Seeing my reaction, he started laughing and said “Off course you and me, this beautiful evening and this red wine.”

I could not understand then what I would say next or how to react then I said after a little thought “Our First Date.... with Organizer wine”

He looked at me and said “Will this change the wine Taste or will it affect in this romantic evening?” After saying this he went to the waiter

After Sam's leaving for a few time, I was able to relax myself and then I said to myself in a low voice "Sonia why are you thinking so much, you should enjoy this moment and your awkward date"

Then after some time Sam brought two glasses, opened the wine bottle and put the wine in it then he gave me a glass of wine in my hand and said “This is my favorite merlot wine and I am sure you will like this taste.” And he was absolutely right when I took the first sip, I found that was such a unique, fruity taste. We talked a lot and after drinking two glasses of wine went back to the club where everyone was already enjoying but even among all of them, we were both enjoying ourselves separately because for us it was our first awkward date.

Even after that seminar we continued to meet each other and enjoy our Merlot wine but some such circumstances became that we could not stay in relation for long. This wine is still with me and its unique taste reminds me of the moments in which a seminar became our first awkward date.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.