Humans logo

Our Final Dream

Together

By Ezra Scarlet Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1

“Wait!” she yells from behind me, “Hurry up!” I chuckled as we playfully trotted around the lavender field. “Careful, there’s a pi-” I warned looking back to find my girlfriend on her knees, “a pit, I know” she says sassily. As I helped her up, I noticed a batch of red blood on her white summer dress. With my eyes filled with concern, I found that her knee was bleeding.

“So much for sneaking out of the hospital, eh?” she sarcastically jokes.

“Always with the sarcasm” I say with defeat.

With arms crossed and a pout on her cute face, she whines, “Do we have to go back?, its’ just a little scratch”.

Her honey brown skin glistened as I looked into her deep gold eyes that only seem to shimmer in the sun. It amazes me how much I grow to love her with every word and movement.

I reached for both of her hands, “If it gets infected, it would make your condition worse”. She looks up at me with sorrowed eyes, “I know, I know” I softly repeated into her ear as I pulled her into a tight hug.

For that moment, we took in everything around us, the sounds of the winds, the little cricket in the distance, the tickling of lavender’s on our legs, the blinding light of the sun and the warmth of each other.

There she was, back to the confinement of a hospital bed with cancer treatments by her side. She glances away from the window to peer into my eyes.

“What’s new with my disease, Doctor” she utters nonchalantly with the tilt of her head. “In simple terms, you’re fine thankfully” I said professionally with a small smile.

She slowly nods away back to the window with a bite of her lower lip, I could see her trembling arms and held back tears.

“How’s this fine?” she whispers to herself

I sat opposite her on the bed, reaching her her hand as I landed a gentle kiss on her knuckles. I tenderly caressed her cheek as if to say I’m listening.

“Fine would be if I could go on countless dates with you without the need for countless checkups” she grimly mutters, “Fine would be if I could spend a night with you under the stars while drinking a glass of merlot wine”

I moved to sit beside her, encouraging her to lean against me as I wrapped my arm around her shoulders. “Fine would be a proper chance to be your girlfriend” she softly cries out into my chest.

I smoothly patted her head as I pulled myself off the bed and made my way to her mini fridge. I glanced back at her confused expression, clueless to what I have in store for her.

I held out a chilled bottle of Merlot wine in my hand and two wine glasses in the other. “What do you say we go see those stars” I laugh as joy sweeps into her face.

The chilly winds blew passed us as we lay comfortably on roof of the hospital in which we were trespassing. Cliché as it is, it didn’t matter what our worries and fears were as long as we had each other.

We talked and laughed for what felt like to be centuries under the moonlit night. For once in a long time, it felt normal again.

The warm tickling feeling of her breathe entwined with mine as our lips met which only drew her closer into my arms.

With a soft breathe and intertwined hands, the words “ I love you” escaped our lips, not ever knowing when’s the last time they’ll meet.

love
1

About the Creator

Ezra Scarlet

Hello, I'm a novice writer hoping to share stories with others while learning to improve my writing.

I also write on Medium, my ID is @ae1996123 or on Wattpad with my username, @QueenIchigo123.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.