Humans logo

One of My Kind

It's a fictional first date story with a lady that may be too good to be true, but lucky for him a glass of merlot will help him relax& work toward a next date.

By Henry GutierrezPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

Once upon a time I got a match with an attractive lady on Tinder, I know sometimes I think that I look for love in all the wrong app's, but she's a unicorn! She had told me that she liked my bio & that I was the only guy to not send her a dick pic. Thankfully my good manners rolled out the red carpet for her, and we began to send message to each other more and more extensive until one day she decided to let me have her phone number.

I wasn't used to meeting someone like her, she was 1 year younger than me, had no children, like's to read & probably enjoy's working out as much as I do. How does a 31 year old bachelor from L.A. get so lucky!? It's pretty bad being a straight guy, I mean I have to fight off so many stereotypes, also it's so hard to show off that I'm a woke gentleman with a bit sarcasm & charm.

A week had passed and we had began escalating our interactions from messaging to talking to video chatting. I felt comfortable & confident in being myself with her, and when I had asked her if the feeling was mutual, she said yes! So I asked, may we have our first date this weekend? She said yes! So we planned our first date. We'll be meeting on Saturday at a winehouse.

I was so eager to really meet her because I had hoped that she was the same person I had been acquainting until now. She certainly knew how to make an entrance, punctual, looked better than her pictures & wore a dress fabulously, of course I did my best to smell good with presentable dapper semi-formal attire. We met at the entrance & greeted each with a lovely strong hug. Our chit chat went nervously along with us until we sat at our table. Our sharp waiter was ready to take our order, I had asked for a glass of merlot & she asked for a pint of stout. The funny thing is that I only order Merlot because its effect on me is that it makes me talkative, and her order surprised me because I would have gone with that choice in a more comfortable setting. Shortly after our waiter left, we were going through the daily errands of our day. Then our waiter had arrived with our drinks & I had to ask why she chose to use the app. She mentioned that it was one way to meet a potential boyfriend due to the pandemic, though it seemed like a nightmare for her because most of the men were similar in their introduction, approach to be acquainted & way of harassing her, eventually in any of her matches she was almost sure that the next guy would be like the last, though she tried to keep hope in romance, yet even I was expected to give her the same old charade as the other guy's, but she was surprised by how our conversation led to our date. She said "it felt real & like one of my kind."

She took a sip of her stout & looked at me as to sign "your turn." I chuckled nervously for a bit, took a sip of my merlot & I reached with my right hand to the back of her right hand & tried to show her that I empathized for her when I said "I'm so sorry for you having gone through that experience, I can't imagine what a nightmare that was for you, yet I commend you for sharing that with me & I'm glad it's led up to our first date, I hope that you get to see that I'm different from them," she didn't try to pull away, nor was my hand heavily resting on her's, and then I retracted myself & began to tell her of how my experience was.

We laughed louder by how my experience was, it was like I was roasting myself because I had to explain how she was the exceptional one, the attractive one, the one I thought was really my kind from the unattractive women who would send their like's, even if I had made exceptions for them, then I'd be getting less than I deserved, yet I was embarrassed for saying it, but I had to be honest when I said, "it crushed my heart to think that the only ladies attracted to me from the app were less than what I know I deserved, they were so unattractive, but then you came along, I was glad because it was you who was attractive, interesting & my mind was blown by this very posibility of having met someone who was was one of my kind" She recognized the end of my statement, so she raises & opens her arms as to gesture a hug that she wants to give me & an intent to reciprocate the same empathy that I had shown her earlier so I went to her, gesturing with my hands for her to stand as I pulled out her chair, so she may give me a proper hug, and she stood to give me a warm hug.

It was in that moment that I had felt my whole being tell me to kiss her, we were still embracing each other, I looked to see if she would look me in my eyes & she lifted her head from my chest & looked me dead in the eye. So I asked her if I may kiss her, she smiled expectantly & nodded yes, so I moved my hands from her back to her head & I gave her a sweet soft kiss on her lips & it was followed with a few more and more extensive kisses.

We had left the winehouse soon after making-out before the people in it, so I asked if it's okay to leave. She knew there were half empty drink we would go to, those were not for us anymore, so I held her hand & led her to the outside of the winehouse. It was there that I knew I had wanted to be with her again, so I started to let her know what I had in mind by telling her, "Thanks for meeting with me tonight, I've had a good time getting to know you & I hope that we could meet again, so would you want to have another date with me?" She said yes!

We gave ourselves one last kiss & one last hug before saying good-bye. Afterwards we went our seperate ways & I'd felt that bittersweet goodbye was one of the nicest.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Henry Gutierrez

I enjoy holistic health exercises, reading & writing. I've placed an importance to continuously develop my body & mind. I hope to attract some readers to my POV in my stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.