Humans logo

On the Shelves

Serbinand take a leap forward… 🤪

By Jeffrey KippelPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Proud moment over here! What you are looking at is the first retail location to put my book on the shelf 🎉‼️

So I started this adventure many, many, many, moons ago! When I was in my mid teens I enjoyed the book series Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. It was the first time I realized that I could laugh from a book… a book! I laughed, smirked, giggled and yes, even laughed out loud (which made it kinda embarrasing in class lol)

It was fun, kept me in imagination land with a smile on my face. The boring classes seemed to melt away into a world of silliness, random phrases that made me think and yes, and laughter.

When the series ended I thought ‘what next?’. So I read it again. That was fun, and… I wanted more.

So I created it!

I imagined up my own world, characters and situations and began writing it down. The first line I ever wrote was: “From the distant star of Placellner he travelled.”… and I let the creative flow take over!

What I found was that I was laughing… 3 times in most cases - once in my head, then when I transferred it to paper (yup, that was way before laptops, iphones and the internet) and then finally when I read it‼️

When my friends laughed too I know that I was onto something 😉

Life then got in the way of the adventures, and I would continually go back to the story to escape and laugh, and add a bit more to the book. Until one day the occasional approach no longer made sense and it was time to jump right in! It took about 18 months to get it finished and into circulation, each step a learning lesson along the way, that’s for sure!

The ebook is different than the paperback, and the audiobook was an entirely different experience and project. Learning how to get them listed and published up on Amazon, Kindle, Kindle Unlimited, and Audible required even more skills.

And, it was all worth it!

Seeing the book in its various versions up online is so cool 😎 Placing it on the store shelf at a retail location was an extension of that amazing feeling 🙏 Somehow, that seemed to make it so much more real.

So from the first imaginings to its birth into the physical world, the journey now continues as it makes its appearance on store shelves, worlwide!

They already asked me to invoice them for anticipated sales of the first five books. WOW, that is so awesome 😮 Feeling grateful!

Anyone else have a location in mind? 🤔

A little about me 🤪

My name is Jeffrey Kippel and I am the author of the book The Ridiculous Adventures of Serbinand. It’s a blend of Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, Monty Python, Family Guy with some Star Wars thrown in. 

I am also an Ambassador for the rethinkFIT initiative which is all about spreading the message that being FIT goes beyond just strength and appearance, that it also includes mental, emotional, social, spiritual, financial and functional health too… and one of the ways I do this by being a mentoring & coaching people want to empower others to love better how they think, feel, act, look and dream.

My book helps to spread the message too as it is also about escapism, self discovery and growth, with a bunch of laugh out loud moments in between.

Search “Serbinand” on Amazon & Kindle and Audible.

—> You can also go to my www.serbinand.com to to get a sneak peek.

literature
1

About the Creator

Jeffrey Kippel

Helping raise social consciousness with laughter, wellness & empowerment; with my comedy book, as a talk show host & as an ambassador for rethinkFIT.

www.jeffreykippel.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.