Humans logo

On-Line Dating

The Dos & Don’ts...

By YOUPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
For the Guys!!!

We’ve all been in relationships. Some good and some bad but the reality is that it used to be a lot easier to meet people. We’d meet after work for happy hour at the local bar, then maybe go to dinner and perhaps even a club afterwards. Now, if you are anything like me, you’ve hung up your party hat many years ago. I’ve even gone so far as staying single for five years on purpose. I know, imagine that?! With great awareness comes great solitude and after being aware that I was the problem, not my ex-boyfriends, I decided to do some work on my inner self in Bali where I lived for 5 years. I’d like to say I’m a Guru but I’m not. I’m just a girl standing in front of my iPhone 11 Max asking some stranger to swipe right ;). With a good profile pic and a pretty generic bio...I set up 3 different online dating accounts and without naming them (of course if you ask me to I will) I began the search for my perfect man. Not perfect in general, just perfect for me. I actually put that in my profile bio, that along with some ex-modeling photos, I got hit up pretty hard for dates. After two months, I’m no longer single but I did decide to come up with this list of the 10 Do’s and Dont’s for men that in my opinion are deal breakers. You can either use them, laugh at them or criticize them...whichever you prefer (but the ladies do agree so you decide) and here they are...enjoy!

Do:

1. Be genuine and respectful on and off the site.

2. Post real photos of yourself and any other important people in your life.

3. Ask for her number and give her a call old school. You will know immediately if there’s a spark just by how the both of you communicate.

4. Speak your truth without digging too deep at first. A little mystery goes a long way!

5. Be a gentleman and invite her out. If you’re worried she’s after your money, you shouldn’t be on a date with her at all.

6. Wait until the end of the date to kiss her goodnight, being too pushy will only drive the good ones away.

7. Dress for the date, impress her with your style, wit and charm.

8. Feel free to talk about a future (if you’re feeling it) that’s exactly why she’s there in the first place.

9. Believe in true love and the magic it can bring into your life. Otherwise, what’s the point?

10. Stay positive, be kind and polite no matter what her size and appearance may be. Karma’s a bitch!

Don’t:

1. Post a photo with a fish, axe or ex.

2. List all the things you hate about women in your profile.

3. Say your 6’0” when you’re really 5’9”.

4. Post photos from 10-15 years ago.

5. Show yourself next to a yacht, Ferrari, mansion or any other luxury item if you don’t actually own them. You’re sending the wrong message.

6. Expect to date a gorgeous, young woman in her 20’s if you’re in your late 50’s or older, without acknowledging their could be an ulterior motive on her part. I’m just saying...

7. Talk about your horrible ex’s when you’re on a date. It’s boring and makes you seem petty.

8. Ask for pics from a woman you just started texting when she has already posted more than enough on the site.

9. Expect too much at first, she may just be shy and/or a bit nervous.

10. ‘Ghost’ for no reason...a simple you’re not the one for me would be a much nicer message for her to receive.

That’s it!!!

And ladies...let me know, if you want your own “10 dos and don’ts”. I have had the pleasure of hearing what the guys have to say and as much as the truth hurts it couldn’t hurt to know 😉...right?

Ciao for now! 💋ML

dating
Like

About the Creator

YOU

Asking ourselves a simple question like “Who Am I”? Helps us to find the unique person we are from within. If you’re having trouble adjusting to changes, fearful of aging and/or just wanting to find a more spiritual path? I can help YOU!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.