Humans logo

On Being a Bad Ally

My Experience With Complacency as a White Ally, and Where To Go From Here

By Adeleine GrubbPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

I was one of the white girls over the summer who proudly posted a black square on Instagram in solidarity with the Black Lives Matter movement. I was vocal on social media about my support; reposting articles to help educate people on why change was necessary. I posted links to Facebook to GoFundMe campaigns and donation sites.

And then the months went by.

I was still donating here and there, and I would try and sign every Change.org petition I saw. But the fire that had been lit under me at the height of the Black Lives Matter movement in the summer of 2020 had essentially been reduced to a mere flicker; occasionally sparking to life every couple of months to share an infographic.

So I languished, while the members of the black community I had so gallantly tried to uplift continued to fight.

I need a break, I said, after a few months of doing the bare minimum. This justified my inaction in my own eyes. But the more I listened to the black YouTubers I am subscribed to, the more I came to realize that this was hardly enough.

My black friends, sorority sisters, and fellow human beings at large, don't want an "ally", they need an accomplice. They don't want a black square on an Instagram page, they need a commitment to actively fight racism regardless of whether it's trendy or not.

It was truly The Artisan Geek, an eloquent and informed black Booktuber I watch, who snapped me back to attention. In a very well formed video discussing the rise of anti-Asian violence, her quiet and forceful voice reminded me that activism isn't a fair-weather indulgence. Regardless of the season, fighting for civil rights will always be necessary.

Furthermore, she reminded me (and the rest of the viewing audience) that activism isn't one-size fits all. Getting out onto the streets and demonstrating is an option, but even less visible actions can create a culture of anti-racism. Educating yourselves or others, for example, or offering donations to organizations committed, as we are, to defending human rights and supporting marginalized groups; these too can be an effective counter to racist sentiments.

The important aspect here is to continue to fight anyway you can, and don't stop, because we are far from finished.

I'm not a good ally. I'm very far from the accomplice I would like to be. And it is on me to improve on this part of myself. The Artisan Geek, amandabb, As Told By Kenya, Most of Miree, Melina Pendulum and the other black YouTubers I watch were my call to action. But it is on me to constantly be aware of what is going on, and to stand up.

This entry will be the first in a series I will be making on this blog. Every month, I will make three donations to causes which I am passionate about. I will post about these causes, why I chose them, and include links to both the organization itself, as well as lists of other places to consider donating to. I hope that this will be a helpful resource for anyone who may read this blog, and hold me accountable.

This is such a small gesture in the grand scheme of things, I won't deny that. But I do hope it will remind me to continue to fight, because racism isn't resting, and I can't be complacent either.

Where to Donate This Month (my very, very abbreviated list):

Stop AAPI Hate: With the increase in hate crimes against the Asian American community, and the global Asian community at large, I feel embarrassed about my silence regarding this issue. I have a number of friends, especially from high school, who are Asian American, and my inability to voice my disapproval has been deafening. This gesture is late, and for that I am truly sorry to my friends who did not see my solidarity until this moment. This organization stands against violence towards Asian American and Pacific Islander populations, and their website offers portals to donate, read news stories, and even report hate crimes when they occur. https://stopaapihate.org/

(List of other places to donate to Asian American and Pacific Islander populations: https://nymag.com/strategist/article/where-to-donate-to-help-asian-communities-2021.html )

Native Wellness Institute: The situation in Palestine this month has caused me to reflect on the colonization and extermination of the Native American population in my own country as well. This organization is dedicated to helping to heal the generational trauma that has afflicted Native American communities since the introduction of white colonists onto the continent. https://www.nativewellness.com/

(List of other places to donate to Native American populations; with additional links to "homework assignments" to further educate ourselves on the continued oppression and struggles of Native American groups: https://www.purewow.com/family/native-american-charities )

(Link to donate to Palestinian refugees: https://donate.unrwa.org/-landing-page/en_EN )

The Audre Lorde Project: May is my lovely partner's birthday month and I was eager to provide a donation to an organization that supports the black LGBTQ+ community. Even the home page feels inclusive; and offers links to programs, events, and even jobs and internships with the ALP, along with a link to donate. (I love you, babe! :) https://alp.org/

(List of other places to donate to black communities, in particular black trans and non-binary organizations: https://www.harpersbazaar.com/culture/politics/a32870451/how-to-help-black-trans-lives-donate/ )

Links to the YouTubers mentioned in this blog:

The Artisan Geek: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCamkpihJtPvMuH49D6FejEw

amandabb: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCUCygxhG2VsJXz7i1GkmLVQ

As Told By Kenya: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCfdQZXHsR1L2g4jDrMmVMTw

Most of Miree: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCSeCAChMFerPDPLXm-QaHEA

Melina Pendulum: https://www.youtube.com/user/MelinaPendulum

Support BIPOC creators and people everywhere. Stay informed, and be well.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Adeleine Grubb

Hello!

My name is Adeleine Grubb and I am a 2020 graduate from the University of Iowa's writing program. I am working on building up my writing portfolio, and I am appreciative of any and all support that I receive. Thank you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.