Humans logo

Omar's Diary for December 2020

The red thing, Christmas, dreadful present and bad manners on social media

By Alan RussellPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Me at work drawn by the talented Gemma Gill of Peg's Pony Pictures

THE RED THING

Leading up to Christmas Day there was much discussion amongst the Servants about the possibility of a new car arriving on the driveway of Omar Towers. If these discussions come to fruition, then I for one will be much relieved and dare I say “happy”. It will mean the “red thing” will be gone.

Watch this parking space.

CHRISTMAS

For the first time since I took up residence here the Servants have decorated the outside of the house. Man Servant has stretched his DIY capabilities and has strung various strands of lights across the front and into one of the trees in the front garden.

As you already know he is not the most practical of his species. I winced painfully in the anticipation of serious injury more than once as I watched him climb up and down a ladder with an electric drill in his hand. And on a wet day. Lady Servant did not witness his precarious efforts and has insisted he seek help when it is time to remove the lights.

Inside we have the usual decorations including a Christmas Tree in the hallway.

This has proved to be a source of much pleasure for me and annoyance for the Servants. When I become active in the early hours of the morning the temptation to play with the decorations is just too great to resist. On the lower branches there was a Nativity set of decorations that were suitable targets for my playfulness. Every night I would manage to knock one off and bat it around the floor of the hall into the kitchen. Every night I would hear the Servants wake up, put the lights on and say “Omar’s knocked off another dec”. It was usually the Virgin Mary. Each morning Man Servant would come downstairs, find the errant dec by painfully stepping on it. He really should wear slippers.

After a week these favourite targets had been placed out of reach further up the tree and the fun was gone that is unless I climb the tree. Now there is a thought.

Oh Christmas tree, oh Christmas tree

How I long to set your baubles free.

CHRISTMAS PRESENTS

On Christmas morning Mitzi and I received our respective gifts from the Servants. Mitzi was given a bag of luxury biscuits and I was given a fish.

Not a fresh one but a toy one. I must admit it is not my favourite as it is so gauche. It is not at all passive like my yellow bananas. There is something inside it that when I touch it makes the fish flip around the floor in a most frenzied manner while blaring loud pop music and flashing lights that match those outside the house.

The very gauche and loud fish

Man Servant really was brave and bought a painting for Lady Servant. Not a pastoral or equine scene but a rather quirky piece painted on to what looks like and old door. The piece has taken up permanent residence in the living room and I really wish it had not. Those two amber eyes are scary. They follow me around the room. Their unblinking and merciless stare has rather put me off entering the living room at night now when no one else is there.

I don’t think hares are carnivorous but I am not taking any chances and I have told Mitzi not to either.

See what I mean about those merciless eyes

SOCIAL MEDIA

I apologise if it appears I have been absent from my social media platform but in the run up to Christmas other things took over such as shopping and rearranging Christmas decorations.

All my friends on Facebook are fun to be with. There is mutual respect, friendly banter, very little bad language and a sense of shared community. Marvellous!

However, I see posts on the contentious subjects of the day. COVID, BREXIT and the economy. Opinions amongst servants on these issues are polarized to the point where the mention of any opinion au contraire (I believe that is French for "on the contrary) raises the ire of others removing any space for the respect, we all deserve and have a right to. Man Servant and I derive fun from watching the verbal shenanigans that go on and he does love to stir the proverbial hornet’s nest occasionally.

We have also noticed that the stronger the opinions held and expressed are how the standard of English language usage slips. Sipmle smelling mtisakes that once nocited become a distrcation from what is bieng siad. Instead of tyring to unsdternad what is being said we keep lokoing for erorrs.

NEW YEAR

Christmas Day has gone and now we can look forward to the New Year. So I will take this opportunity to wish you all a very happy New Year during which you are all able to stay safe, healthy and happy.

Me? Thank you for asking. I am so looking forward to the new car arriving and waving goodbye to the “red thing”.

humor
Like

About the Creator

Alan Russell

When you read my words they may not be perfect but I hope they:

1. Engage you

2. Entertain you

3. At least make you smile (Omar's Diaries) or

4. Think about this crazy world we live in and

5. Never accept anything at face value

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.