Humans logo

Ode to Peter and His Mom

Summer of 2015 got a little easier

By Don Anderson IIPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
Photo by Rex Pickar on Unsplash

Back to 2015 for probably the last time here, part of the journey is the end, right? 2015 was just one big fight like Avengers: Infinity War and Avengers: Endgame but there were a lot of emotions involved. Luckily, I was glad to have a resting place where I could gather everything together and be ready for everything later.

My friend, Peter, who also told me that he had feelings for Sofia was dealing with the news too but as far as I know, he seemed more chill about the news than I did but I'm sure he was still hurting over it. Luckily, for me, I may have come across someone who was remotely feeling the same thing as me for the first time in I don't know how long. Who knows?

About a month before this, I had already been to Peter's place with Sofia and Ellen and another friend of ours. We met his mom the same day, she wasn't home a lot because she was a military mom and she was on base most of the time but she was nice. She kinda reminded me of my mom for some reason. A few days later, we were at school about to go to Peter's place again and he said that if his mom knows you, then you're all good to come over. I took advantage of this as much as I could when the summer hit when it was time to deal with Sofia and Ellen's newfound love and relationship with each other.

First time I went over there on my own, I was originally trying to go spend time with our mutual friend but I didn't know that she had to work that night and I was stuck in the city she was in because I rode the bus at 8 or 9 PM so I couldn't go home after that. I ended up walking to Peter's place and I was glad I remembered where he was because I almost walked all the way home which was in another city and it would've taken me more than 30 minutes to get home.

When I got to his place, I had to spend the night, which was fine and his mom was okay with it. The next day, I quickly got out of there because Peter also had to work and I didn't want to be at his place alone so I went to go see if our mutual friend was home from work. She wasn't so I stayed at her place until she came over, she wanted to get some sleep so she went with me to Peter's place a few hours later. His mom was there and she told me that she made breakfast for me but I never ate since I left when I woke up. I felt bad I didn't stay for breakfast, not gonna lie.

Over time, I started to lose track of time when I was on my own. It felt like I was a zombie, I remember one time when I was at home, I freaked out because I was running late for work so I went but when I got there, my boss at the time stopped me before I clocked in and she told me that I already worked the previous day and the day I was there was one of my days off. That was when it was time for me to head back to Peter's place so most of the summer, I spent it with hanging out with Peter. A few of our friends came over sometimes but I always stayed there.

We went on drives and store trips together sometimes but we mostly stayed there while I watched American Dad to get some laughs through the depressing summer I was dealing with while he was drawing and talking to a few people he knew from his hometown, Philadelphia. All of this was helpful especially when Ant-Man was coming out because given that we're both Marvel fans, we didn't know a lot about the character so we had some help from YouTube. Hell, we even went to a comics event at a library once and it was okay. Then, we watched our favorite show on TV at the time, The Strain.

There was a lot of stuff that went on when I hung out with Peter and I don't think I ever thanked him for letting me recuperate emotionally at his place when I couldn't do it at home. Sure, hanging out with him was a risk since Sofia and Ellen were possibly coming over on some days but as long as Peter was there helping me, I was fine so Peter, thanks for letting me hang out when I was going through what was probably a shitty summer. Also, Peter's mom, thank you for your hospitality and for letting me come over when I needed some company for emotional support. Lastly, thanks for giving birth to Peter, too, otherwise, I wouldn't have met anyone as dope and nerdier as Peter.

2015 may have been all fight and no breaks but at least the summer wasn't all bad, it was a rough start when it began but it ended in a better place than when the summer started and it's all thanks to Peter and his mom. A few friends deserve some credit too but they know who they are.

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Don Anderson II

Movies, memoirs, music lover, graduate of community college, and university

Quiet writer but I'm sure my stories from years ago are still of interest

Tips are welcomed

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.