Humans logo

Odd Ways of Love

Marcus Perkins

By Marcus Alan PerkinsPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
5
Odd Ways of Love
Photo by Stanford Smith on Unsplash

Sitting on the stool I look around and am annoyed by the others in the sports bar. Their happiness and laughter seem to be orchestrated just to carve the heart from my chest further than it is already. Another round of laughter erupts from the table closest to me and I swivel around and see that one of the men are looking at me as he laughs.

Redness floods my cheeks as my heart beat increases from the anger I feel. My body reacts to another chorus of laughter coming from the table and brings me to my feet. A soft hand comes to rest on my shoulder as a slender woman slides on the barstool next to me.

“Sit down handsome. They’re not laughing at you, look at the television, jeez.” Her voice is mocking yet kind and humorous.

“How do you know?” Turning towards her I take a step back in shock. Her eyes are a light purple and set between a small nose that is above a set of thin lips. Her black hair has streaks of silver and purple throughout and falls in a rounded curtain around her sharp cheeks.

“I know things like that.” She shoves her bony hand out and her smile shows perfect white teeth. “Hi, I’m Silver. Whats your name, handsome?”

“Jared. Is Silver your real name?”

“Well, until I know you better it is. What brings a man that looks like you alone to a bar with a sour look on your face?”

“Things that wouldn’t interest you.”

“Oh, try me! Even if it’s the most boring thing in the world I’ll love it.”

“My mother passed away last week. We just buried her yesterday and I have nowhere else to go for another week.”

“So you wanted to come and drink her memory away?” I look at her appalled by the blunt accusation. What gives a stranger the right to judge how I grieve? “Don’t look so annoyed or whatever, its just a question. Why are you drinking like a fish if you just lost someone close to you?”

“Because I’m sad, mad, depressed. I’m every emotionally bad thing there is. Did you just come over here to judge me?”

“Nope. Came over here to stop you from doing something stupid to the group there who’s just trying to have fun and enjoy their time out and about. Thought you were cute and was wondering why you’re here, but if you wanna be a dick I can leave.” She gets up to leave, but I reach out and touch her hand.

“Please stay, excuse my rudeness. May I buy you a drink or something to eat? It’s the least I can do after acting like I did.” A smile turns her lips up and she winks at me.

“I would love something to eat, maybe a burger and fries? Oh, maybe a nice Merlot! You got to eat with me though, I hate eating alone. And lay off the booze, if you’re nice enough I would like you to remember me tomorrow.”

“You’re kinda demanding, you know?”

“You could be on to something with that accusation. I have a feeling that you may like that a bit though. Just saying. What do you do for a living, Jared?”

“I’m a consultant of sorts.”

“What kind of sorts do you consult about?”

“Construction mostly. What about you Silver, what do you do?”

“I’m a tech junkie mostly. I actually was a professional gamer for a while, but beating boys got boring so I decided to change it up.”

“So what did you change it to, what does a tech junkie do?”

“I design software for whoever needs something done. Nothing that interesting unless you understand code and that crap.” Her odd eyes run along my body, taking in the blue jeans, plaid shirt and beard before she adds. “I’m assuming that you aren’t very interested in tech stuff.”

“I’m not up to date with it by any means. The most I know about computers and stuff is how to turn the thing on and write up construction costs and other documents like that.”

“Interesting. I was hoping that you would surprise me with knowing about it. Something about you seems to scream that you’re more surprising than you seem. Maybe my ability to read people is declining with age.”

I laugh at her and let my eyes roam down her body. Even sitting down I can see that she is proper and well postured. She is slim and dressed in baggy clothes that make her seem more skinny than she actually is. Her clothing is expensive and looks as if tonight is the first time it’s been worn, which makes me wonder why she wore them to a sports bar.

“You’re what, maybe mid twenties. I don’t think you have to worry about anything declining just yet.”

“Some people decline faster than others. Maybe I’m one of the unlucky few that will only live thirty some years.”

“You seem pretty okay with that.”

“Someone has to be the statistical anomaly that lives far less years than what they’re suppose to. If I’m the one who it happens to then at least I know that nobody I care about will; or at least I wont know about it since I’ll be gone.”

“Well I hope that you don’t. The world could use your beauty in it, with how ugly everything has gotten.”

Our food comes out just then and we stop talking to eat. She devours the food and laughs at whatever is on the tv while I finish mine. Her laugh is pretty and makes me want to hear more of it. When she speaks to the bartender I realize how musical it is. I steal glances at her out of the side of my eye and cant believe how beautiful she is.

“So Jared, are you from around here?”

“No, I’m from upstate. About ten hours from here. What about you?”

“I live a couple miles from here, where are you staying then? Surely you’re not going to try to drive? You smell of booze and I think that I’m just now getting you sobered up a bit.”

“I’ve got a hotel room next door. Crappy little thing, but it has a bed.”

“That just wont do. I think you should come home with me, I have a spare bedroom with a nice bed and a shower that is actually clean.”

“You wont tell me your real name, but will let me come to your house?”

“You haven’t asked my real name since we began talking. Heather is my name, everyone calls me Silver because of my hair.”

“Heather, I like that name.”

“Thank you, I like Jared as a name too. So what do you say about staying at my place tonight after we sober you up a bit more here?”

“If you don’t mind I would love that.”

“Then its been decided.”

She inches her stool closer to mine and snakes her hand through mine. Her cool skin feels nice against my hot flesh and I curl my hand around hers to absorb as much of her coolness as possible. She surprises me by leaning her head on my shoulder while resting her chest on my arm, her breasts are much more full than they look under her loose shirt.

“I could get use to this, maybe you’ll have to move down here once we get to know each other better. Surely you could consult from down here.” Her tone is serious, making me uncomfortable.

“I probably wont move anytime soon. I mean we just met, why would you bring anything up other than what can happen tonight?”

“Because I’m a planner. I don’t like to waste time with duds that wont amount to anything other than a night. I have toys that I can use if I want to have fun, and they work better than any man, I promise you that. Plus, guys can tell within an hour of meeting someone if they want to be involved with them.”

“What if the guys drunk?”

“That’s why I have been sobering you up. Duh.” She laughs as she squeezes my arm. “Plus I’m rich, sexy, smart, funny, and so much more. You’ll learn.” With a wink she lays her head back down and continues to watch the game.

She is right about men. I knew I wanted to have a relationship with her as soon as I actually payed attention to her laugh. The sweetness in it, the authenticity of it, when I heard it I knew I wanted to hear it every day. I never imagined that I would feel like this towards someone who I just met in a bar after burying my mother, but here I am leaning my head against hers.

“Are you thinking that I’m right?” Her playful tone makes me smile.

“I imagine that you’re use to being right, aren’t you?”

“Typically, but I have been wrong a couple of times. Like, maybe three in my whole life.”

“Oh, whatever! It has to be more than that.”

“Nope, don’t you know that women are always right? Plus I’m beautiful and rich, so I’m like untouchable.” Her laugh fills the space around me and I smile into her hair.

“You know, you were right about me liking your attitude. It’s intriguing.”

“What do you say we head to my place and you can see my playfully aggressive and commanding attitude?”

“Do you think I’m sober enough?”

“We can make it work.”

She throws down what looks like a couple hundred dollars in twenties and stands up to leave, waiting on me to follow. I do and am shocked when her hand grabs my crotch instead of the hand I had stretched towards her. An erotic laugh comes from her before her hand moves to mine as she leads me out of the bar.

When we get to her house I barley have time to close the solid wooden door before being pushed against it. Her hands run through my hair as her long legs wrap around my hips. Desire courses through my veins and my lips push against hers. The sweet scent of roses comes from her hair and clothes as she kisses me back.

I walk with her wrapped around me to the couch in her large entrance room before laying down on her. My hands explore her body as I begin to unbutton her shirt and pants. My lips leave a trail of kisses going from her neck to the center of her chest. Her snow white skin is smooth and beautiful.

We spend the night exploring each other to the fullest extent possible. Her body and mine connect in ways that I didn’t know where possible. The slowness of our exploration and the time we take to build led up to an orgasm that would bring envy to Aphrodite herself.

Heather leaves the large bed to shower, but before I can get up to join her I am overtaken with sleep. My dreams are of the beautiful woman I had just spent the night with and I wake up with a smile on my face as the sun washes over my face.

dating
5

About the Creator

Marcus Alan Perkins

I’m a father, published author, student, avid reader, husband, and advocate for equality for all. I am going to use this platform for my short stories and poems. Follow me on Facebook: @Author.MarcusPerkins, Twitter handle: @AMarcusperkins

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.