Humans logo

Oct, 2014

The Story on How I Lost My Best Friend

By Emily LyonPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I remember almost every detail of this day. Lachante was a beautiful person, inside and out. I often introduced her as my soulmate, because that's what she was. She was good for my soul. We were always together.

Anyway, I was woken up to one of my best friends (Lindsey) calling me. I thought it was odd, it was around 9 AM, she was working and I had to be at work at 1:30 that afternoon. I answered the phone and could tell something was wrong. She asked if I heard from our other best friend, Lachante, (La-shawn-tae). I proceeded to tell her no and asked what was wrong. She then said she didn't show up to work and asked if I could go to her girlfriend's (Katie) apartment to check on her. Apparently some detectives went to where Lindsey was working and asked her a couple questions and stated there was a body found behind the Kmart in front of Katie's apartment, that matched our friend's description. So of course, I spring up, throw on some clothes and head over. It's about a ten minute drive from where I was living and traffic wasn't bad that morning. I remember having a pit in my stomach but thinking there was no way it was my best friend.

When I pulled into the apartment complex and park my car in front of Katie's door I see her, standing and talking with two men in suits. She sees me and that's when I knew. It WAS my best friend. I jumped out of the car. The next ten seconds changed my life forever.

"Katie! Katie, where is she?!" She didn't know what I was talking about, I guess they didn't tell her yet. The detectives turn to me "Are you Emily?" I continued at Katie, "Where is Lachante, Katie?!" Katie stated she went home last night. I then turned to the detectives, "Is It her? Is It Lachante?!"

"Yes"

I dropped to my knees. The rest of the day was a blur. I had to call Lindsey and tell her our best friend was dead. We had to call and tell our boyfriends. I had to call and tell my brother, my sister, my parents. Everyone loved her. I called out of work that day. We went to her mom's house and I just hugged her. I didn't know what else to do. I hugged her little brother.

That day my life turned upside down. I received calls from people I hadn't talked to in years, offering their support. Old friends, old teachers, new friends.

When I woke up the next day, late for work, my boss understood. I still didn't. I didn't understand why she was taken. I still don't understand. I still think about her. I still have her things. I wonder what my life would be like with her here. I spent her 21st birthday with her, she was supposed to spend mine with me, and Lindsey's with her.

It NEVER got easier. I just had to learn to live without her.

Thank you

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.