Humans logo

Obsessed Ukrainian mother, unborn child, and cruel world.

Based on a true and personal story.

By Kamran Mehmood Published 2 years ago 5 min read
4
pexel.com

My pregnant wife felt a sudden pain on August 17, 2020, at 9:00 p.m. local time, and we rushed to the nearest maternity center. When we arrived, one‘s guard informed us that the lady doctor was not available; we then move to the next hospital, but unfortunately, these were covid 19 peak days, and every hospital was jam-packed with patience, and no one accepted us; she was dying with pain. It was our first baby, and I was scared, as was my other family.

Suddenly my mom and sister in law shouted please drive fast I was shocked and terrified when I looked back she was out of control, her color had turned yellow, and her tongue was hanging out of her mouth, it was pregnancy fits she leaked amniotic fluid when we arrived at one of government hospital they refused to admit us, saying because she's in a dangerous situation we can’t handle her here you should take her to the big hospital, which was 70 to 80 KM far, it was night time no ambulance was available, we prayed a lot at last one ambulance came we start our journey to Peshawar lady reading hospital.

It had been a nightmare. I had left my mother and sister-in-law on the road alone in the middle of the night, while my wife and baby were in danger. I lost all senses, recited the prayer, as well as every time I asked the driver when we would arrive, he answered very soon, keep praying, and don't give up hope.

Every twenty minutes, she had a fit, and she went comatose after each one. I assumed she had died and began crying, I don't know how we got to the hospital but they suddenly admitted her to the emergency ward and started treatment, time was 01:00 am they asked for pregnancy kits I brought them from the outside store but I was consistently praying because my wife was in severe condition but believe me I forgot my baby that time because of my wife's condition.

Every 5 seconds, tears welled up in my eyes, and I felt like a helpless man in the world. Suddenly, my mother-in-law approached me and said in a crying tone, "Don't worry, God will give you another baby, just pray for your wife," and I actually realized that my first child had died, it was a baby boy, a tear had started again, I had no control over them. I cried a lot that night.

My father gave him the name Umer. They brought him home for final rites, and now my heart is split in two: one is at the hospital, and the other is in the cemetery.

I was upset and lost hope when the doctor came to me at 4:00 a.m. and said we should shift her to the ICU unit since she had gone into a coma. I had disappointed and lost my hope, I never know whether we will meet again or not.

After a lengthy fight and continual hard work, as well as a few sleepless nights and tiring days, Allah almighty granted her a new life and she awoke after 14 days.

I was crying again, thanks to all the doctors, but when I greeted her, the first thing she said was, "Where is our baby?" I wasn't expecting this response, so I told her a falsehood that he was at another hospital's nursery. But my heart kept asking me if she would ever find out the truth. I don't have any other choices.

Now I thought about these three Ukrainian moms who were pregnant and Russian forces bombarded on maternity homes fortunately according to AP news two of them survived with their newborn babies but one has unfortunately died with her innocent baby.

When I heard that news about pregnant woman and baby die after hospital shelled and watched the image of the woman on stretcher my heart goes crying again same like that night when my wife and son in trouble.

According to BBC Mariupol's A pregnant lady was killed together with her baby after being injured in a Russian bombardment of a Ukrainian maternity facility. She was transported to another hospital after the spot where she was supposed to give birth was bombed.

Her child was delivered through Caesarean section but showed no signs of life. Timur Marin, the woman's surgeon, told the Associated Press that her pelvis had been crushed and her hip had disconnected. According to medics, while they were attempting to save her life, she knew she was losing her baby and yelled, "Kill me now!"

When it became apparent that the infant had died, doctors attempted to revive the mother but recognized after 30 minutes that it was hopeless. Doctors stated they didn't have time to ask the woman's name before her husband and father arrived to collect her body. They said that this ensured she did not wind up in one of the mass graves being excavated for victims of the Russian bombardment of the city.

It was an unpleasant, sad, and scary story, and I couldn't sleep this night after hearing the news. Now I'd like to pose a question of Russians and people from other countries: Are there any norms of war? Being a history student, I learned that there are some laws to war, such as avoiding attacking schools, hospitals, or public sites. You cannot harm women, children, the elderly, and vulnerable members of society.

Now, either Russian troops are ignorant of certain norms, or they are so strong and nasty that they don't care about anybody, including pregnant mothers and babies who haven't even opened their eyes in this world.

If they inquire what their fault was, would we be able to provide them an answer?

I hope that the rest of the world will step up and force Russia to stop this foolishness, inhumanity, and barbarism. Let us quickly liberate Ukrainians and allow them to live their own lives freely.

humanity
4

About the Creator

Kamran Mehmood

Freelance content writer,Ghost writer| Teacher

Reading and writing are my cognative enhancers.

writing of orginility

Trying to explore world with beautiful words.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.