Humans logo

Need I say More?

Cassi-Handy-Work

By Cassie FordPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Over the last couple of weeks, Cassie’s Handy-work has really revved up, as we finish renovating. First, I attempted painting, which we all know was not my strongest suit, mainly because I get more paint on myself than the area I’m painting. I even managed to get paint on myself yesterday and I wasn’t even painting. I helped Kristal and Brooke put together the flatpack wardrobes, and really, they would have been lost without my watchful eye and expertise. The way I hammered the back of the wardrobe on was nothing short of amazing. There were 8 nails which required hammering and Kristal only needed to remove 4…or maybe 6, which is really a win for me.

But today I have really out done myself. On Sunday, Kristal, mum and the kids were at my house, we had just had the new entertainment unit delivered. It was a flatpack again. I had planned to put it together myself, Kristal positioned it in the loungeroom, and I got ready to put it together. But, before I could Kristal was shoving me out of the way. She wouldn’t even let me help. So, I went for a massage instead.

It took Kristal 2 hours, and she got most of it together, the only part she left off were the doors, which really bugged me. So, yesterday after I finished work for the day, I got to putting the doors on. I removed the fixtures from the box, I lined up the doorhandles before I fix them in place, then attached the hinges. Once the hinges and door handles are attached I try to figure out which why the handles would go, at the bottom or top?

Once I have figured out that the handle clearly goes at the bottom, I sit down in front of the unit. I position the door making sure the hinges line up. I extended the hinge, so it was straight. I hold the door with my left hand, and try to hold the hinge, and screwdriver with my right, while trying to screw the screw in to the hole. While I attempt to juggle the door, the screw and the screwdriver, I drop the screw, followed by screwdriver and door. I start again. After about the third try, I decide to use my legs to hold the door in place, which works.

I screw the first screw into the top left hole of the hinge, followed by the bottom right hole. I repeat the process for both hinges. After about 10 minutes I had screwed in all the screws, I try to close the door, but it doesn’t close. It was hanging low. So, I loosened the screws and try to lift the door up.

Once I have lifted the door, I repeat the process. After another 5 minutes I try to close the door, again, still it hits the bottom but not as bad. This time I unscrew the screw on the hinge, and fiddle with the door before tightening the screws. The door closes, but still it is not great, the door is on an angle and there is a large gap at the top but no gap at the bottom and it was still hitting. I repeat the steps for the other door, which went better. It was still not great, but the right door looked better than the left. But both doors were on an angle and couldn’t close completely or were level.

All last night I looked at the doors, and they were really bugging me. This morning while on work calls, it was as if the doors were mocking me, all I could look at was how uneven they were. So, this afternoon after I finished work I decided to try again to level the doors.

I started with the left, I removed all the screws in the top hinge, which was a mistake, as the last screw became lose the door dropped almost pulling off the bottom hinge. I lifted the door and removed the other screws in the bottom hinge. I repeated the steps I had taken yesterday, however I spent more time trying to get the position right.

It took 10 minutes, but was way better than before, not a 100% but I could live with it. It still had an angle and wasn’t closing properly. I repeat the steps for the right door, when I was finished it wasn’t 100%, the doors did not close properly but it was something I could deal with.

“Bro.” I hear the painter Col behind me. “I was going to ask did you need a hand with those doors?”

“Haha Col.” I say in a mocking tone, “No. But thank you. I am pretty handy you know?”

“Better hope they stay and don’t fall off.” He says

“I do know what I am doing.”

“Sure, you do.” He says before leaving for the day.

I start to tidy up around the lounge room, but my eye keeps getting drawn to those damn doors. Something just didn’t look right. I don’t know what else it could be? I had removed both doors and put them back on three times each, but still they don’t look right.

My eye keeps being drawn to the position of the handles at the bottom of the door. It was a little strange that the handles would be at the bottom of the door. But, hey if that is how someone has designed the entertainment unit to have door handles on the bottom of the door, who I am to question it?

But, just to be safe I went onto the website where I had bought it. I search T.V units and scroll until I find the one I had just bought. I click on the picture to enlarge it and there I see it… I had put the bloody doors on upside down.

I quickly text Kristal the photo of what it looks like on the website and what mine looks like. Need I say more? She calls me.

“How? No, seriously how?” She asks without even a hello.

“I don’t know. I just thought that they would go at the bottom.”

“Didn’t you read the instructions?” Before I could answer, “Wait don’t answer that. You didn’t even look at the instructions, did you?”

“I don’t know where they are.” I say in defence.

“All I left you were the doors. I thought I have done the hard part surely Cass can put on a couple of doors. Really how much could she stuff it up?”

“Really?” I was shocked she even thought that.

“Yes, I thought your handywoman skills had improved. I know, it was my fault really.” She sighed.

“Just another job for Cassie’s Handwork.” I say.

“And for Kristal Fix Jobs. You are going to make me rich!”

Post

Block

No block selected.

Open publish panel

Document

diy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.