Humans logo

Navigate The Stars With A Taurus

Characteristics You Can't Shake

By Inez AnettePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Navigate The Stars With A Taurus
Photo by Nastya Dulhiier on Unsplash

Although I don’t believe it to be an exact science I do feel that there is some truth behind horoscopes. You’ll never catch me reading a daily horoscope as if it’s bible, but I have the characteristics of a Taurus seared into my brain for life. I don’t think I would care so much if they weren’t true, but the first time I read these characteristics I was shocked by the accuracy of them and how aligned they were with me as a person.

If you look up the characteristics of a Taurus you’ll most likely read that they are practical, reliable, and place high values on stability and security (both emotional and material). Taurus tends to be faithful and patient, but when angered we evolve into vicious bulls, and although bulls can be extremely stubborn it’s this determination that helps us to achieve wild goals. After reading this I was baffled because it’s exactly how I’ve been described by family and by co-workers. Although I absolutely hate when people refer to me as stubborn, which they have my whole life, and much rather prefer the term ‘devoted’. I love money and appreciate the safety that comes with having a significant amount of cash in the bank.

Taurus are steady and have a stable temperament, which is the reason we are often the one family member that everyone turns to when they need help. This is accurate for me, and for the longest time I thought it was just part of the job description that came with being the oldest child, but after working alongside other Taurus’ I’ve found that it’s the same for them as well, despite them being the youngest. We are the backbone that keeps things in order for the whole family.

As a Taurus we are often drawn to outgoing people, and when we marry we stick by our partner no matter what, for better or worse. It’s true. I might be a bull, but this bull knows how to ride a wave.

So, after going through all these characteristics and being able to identify with them a piece of me still felt like perhaps all of it was mere coincidence. Just because my horoscope aligned well with me doesn’t mean it aligns for everyone else, but I was quickly proved otherwise. Like I stated previously this is not an exact science by any means, however the jest of it tends to be fairly accurate.

I know that I’m unbearably attracted to the physical appearance of most Gemini’s, and yet outside of a friendship we would make a rocky romantic pair. It must be true what they say about opposites attracting, because as soon as I bump into Gemini's it's lust at first sight, but any attempt at a serious romantic relationship ends up in rollercoaster ride. I somehow effortlessly befriend every Pisces and Cancer I meet without knowing their astrology signs until much later in our friendship. That being said, my most satisfying and thriving relationships are always with Capricorns, whether its romantic or just friendship. On the other hand, when I bump into people who feel as if they are polar opposites from me I can safely bet that they are either an Aries or Leo.

There was a period of time I tried proving the stars wrong and went out of my way to spite horoscopes by dating a Scorpio, which turned out to be the sting of a lifetime. Ouch. I couldn’t meet the demands of the major lifestyle adjustments required by Scorpio, and naturally preferred a lifestyle of peace and quiet. In the end it felt as if we were simply trying to tolerate each other rather than nurture a romantic relationship.

Many scientists refer to astrology as a psychological phenomenon of self selection, which is made up of interpretations that match what we hope to be true. In other words, as humans we magnify the positives and forget the negatives. To some extent this is true and horoscopes are likely to be flattering for the most part, but I have read a few that are brutally blunt and paint characteristics that were once my strengths as some of my greatest weaknesses. For example, being devoted is misconstrued as stubbornness, and enjoying the stability that comes with having money is misconstrued as materialistic, and so on and so on.

All in all I believe that the characteristics of someone's horoscope are accurate, but that nobody can predict your day to day life. Everything is what we make it, and every morning we roll out of bed to decide for ourselves what will or will not be. You are the writer of this story and nobody can take that pen from you, but knowing someone’s characteristics in advance will help you navigate a relationship with ease, whether it’s romantic, friendship, or a work relationship.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.