Humans logo

#MyWorstDate Story

From Positive Beginnings...

By Sapphire RavenclawPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

I have never really been one for "dating" as such. Relationships always seem to just happen. For a short time in my life, I did try the dating scene after coming out of a long-term relationship.

He was nice.

I dated one person who was really nice. Now, I don't like to use the word "nice" too often because it is one of those bland words that doesn't mean a lot. However, I think it is a perfectly appropriate word for this situation.

We met through a dating site where we would have short chats, getting to know a little more about each other, and decided to meet.

The First Date

The first date started off well. We had a drink, talked about the places we like to go, and our hobbies. Well, he didn't have any hobbies, and he was quite down on one of my favourite places. That was not a major issue, though, and the first date was quite short, so we did have a second date.

The Second Date

I agreed to a second date because he seemed like a lovely person and I did enjoy his company. The first date was OK but, as I discovered on date two, this was mostly down to the fact that it was a short one.

For the second date, we watched a film. That was fine. Once the film was over, I tried to make conversation. It is all very well if someone is quiet or reserved but, although he seemed interested in me, he had absolutely no interest in anything. He had no hobbies, no interests, did not enjoy any of the things I enjoy (I enjoy a few things you might call "niche" hobbies but I enjoy a varied enough range of activities and will try new things).

Basically, I found that we had absolutely nothing at all in common.

Boring isn't the worst thing someone can be...

I have had long-term relationships (partners and friends) who share no common interests. It's possible to find common ground, or talk about what we've enjoyed.

I've also been in a bad relationship before. Perhaps that's why I gave this one a chance—it didn't matter that he was boring, at least he was nice and genuinely caring. So, not having things in common, or not having any of his own interests wasn't necessarily the worst outcome but I couldn't imagine continuing to date someone who will sit in awkward silence for hours on end with nothing to say.

We are still friends, though. He is a nice person and I have nothing against him. It's just that being "nice" is the most interesting thing about him.

Dating my Fiancé

I met my now fiancé around the same time as I met Mr. Boring. We met through a friend.

The first date was at his place. We watched a film, then watched Doctor Who, and talked about so much. I'd met him a couple of times before the date. He was lovely and, if I hadn't already been attracted to him, he'd have had me at "I'm wearing a Superman t-shirt." He has so much life experience, he's intelligent, he can talk more than I do sometimes, and he enjoys many of the same things that I enjoy.

I would have settled for someone to watch Doctor Who with me, but I found someone with so much more in common.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Sapphire Ravenclaw

I am, among other things, a freelance writer and mother. I enjoy writing poetry and articles. Currently, much of my spare time is spent working on a book about Paganism (one of many subjects which interests me).

More of me:

WordPress

My Poetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.