Humans logo

My Worst Date Story

Last Blind Date Ever

By Inesita de los SantosPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

#MyWorstDate

I had been like six months single when my friend Erick told me that he was going to set me on a date with one of his friends. I didn't want to do this because I wasn't desperate for a man and I didn't want to have a blind date, but he promised me that it was going to be fine, so I decided to trust him. He sent me pictures of the boy and he seemed cute (not hot). The guy texted me and told me to meet at a restaurant near to my college and I accepted.

And there I was, waiting for my date, almost thinking that he changed his mind when a boy stood next to me. I looked at him and asked him if he needed anything when he told me "I'm Erick's friend." I stared at him from the bottom to the top: it was definitely not the guy from the picture. He was smaller than me (and I'm 5'2") and he was inflated with exaggerated muscles. It was like Johnny Bravo, but bold, shorter, and with a funky smile. I cursed my friend for a few seconds, but I decided to give him a chance to enchant me... although I knew what might be his favorite topic.

We requested some drinks and our plates. The waitress left and it was like a bomb: he only talked about the gym, exercise routines and that he was a trainer. Of course, someone like him MUST be very obsessed with all that, but what bothered me the most was that he never stopped talking. I tried to talk about other things and he led my comments back to the gym and routines. He even suggested I train with him and I didn't know if I should have felt insulted by that because I didn't feel bad with my appearance for the first time in years.

The date continued, only to be worse. The food arrived and he was eating like a complete beast, talking with food in his mouth. I tried my best to be polite, but it was like one of those bad dates set as a prank by MTV.

It was almost over when the check came to the table and another big joke happened: he slid the check towards me. I stared at him for a few seconds, especially because he was the person who suggested the date. Even the waitress stared at him. I decided not to touch the check, waiting for him to tell me that it was a joke and that he was going to pay. But he continued his silly conversation about the gym and his clients; he is a trainer and he couldn't pay the check. After the waitress came for the third time, I decided to take my debit card and pay the check. The funny part was that he even told me to leave a tip for the waitress. Not that she didn't deserve it... but seriously?!

After that, I walked straight to my car and he followed me. I thought that he was thinking I was going to give him a goodnight kiss... until he asked me if I could give him a ride to his place. I really didn't want to do it, but I wanted to end this in peace, before insulting my friend. So he gave me the location of his apartment and I drove towards it. When we arrived and I saw that he lived in a tower, I started laughing like a psychopath. I unlocked the door and asked him to leave the car. He approached me, apparentely to kiss me, and I just gave him my hand for a handshake. He started laughing, now thinking I was joking, but my face answered him very well that it wasn't. So we shook hands and closed the door. He walked towards my window and asked me when we were going to see each other again. I stared at him and simply drove away.

I didn't wait for the next day. I called my friend and told him to NEVER fix me in a date with anybody. The next day he told me that his dear friend thought that I was the one who had to pay, because I was the one looking for a date... which I wasn't.

#MyWorstDate

dating
Like

About the Creator

Inesita de los Santos

I'm a Dominican screenwriter, living in Los Angeles, California. I have a blog named "Cinefila en RD" where I post critiques about movies, TV shows, and awards. I also write about my experience living in Los Angeles.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.