Humans logo

My Slice of Hollywood

My vision of a dream realized

By Dios MacPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2

I love finding myself in my own slice of Hollywood. I look out of my 3rd story window and see boundless oppurtunity. There is this fruitful Satsuma orange tree right under me, and it reminds me everyday how I picked this. I picked this version of reality. The 9-5 grind was not ripe for me, so I picked a life a little more out of reach. The endless oasis of sky is large and it seems like it just goes on forever. The sky meets my eye at the "horizon," or in my case, a collection of amazing apartments which face me. Have you ever seen an apartment building with balconies so perfectly placed that you can just imagine yourself sitting there? Just taking in the views, the sun, the nature, and allowing yourself to feel present in that moment. Connecting less to all the "human" problems and finding yourself in the beauty of now. These Hollywood skies have the ability to do that to you. Even if it is hypothetically on someone else's balcony. In Hollywood, everything just seems movie ready. No matter what kind of film is being shot. I can see the success story of a hood kid turned millionaire, and I can simply switch my gaze and see a mother of 2 who lost everything. It is all here. Anything can happen here, and anything can happen here. I see this one balcony across the way that looks really romantic. I wonder if I'm the only one that puts an imaginary version of himself in a dramatic love scene in every beautiful place he sees. I can see that balcony housing some amazing sunrises with kisses that last long and conversations that feel right.

I love when birds land on the telephone wires. I like watching them take a break from flight to call out to their mates. They fly past and feel so untouchable, but when they are right near my window, still and singing, I feel like we are one. I watch them call out for someone to continue the journey with, or at least talk about it. I definitely know when I finally take a break from movement, all I want to do is share those calm moments with someone. That feeling hits really close to home.

I love the colors that the sky turns when the sun sets. It's as if every building gains a glow. As if all of my world has the perfect light and the mood has been set. Everywhere. The red brick of my building gives me this sense of history. Not only of the past, but of the one being created by my story. The brick perfectly meets the sky and I think of how life is about weathering the storm. What a phrase. "Weathering the storm." As if we must gain characteristics from what we go through to truly be able to go through them. Some of the bricks have this powder white look to them. As if they had been stripped of their color. Stripped of what they were to become what they are.

I love apartment buildings because if they are built the right way, you can see into other households. Each window displays to me a perfect peeping tom's image of my neighbors life in a snap shot. 301 is enjoying a meal. 311 is making a song and singing along. 315 has the blinds closed and I can't help but think there is sex going on behind them. I hope they are all enjoying their experience. I hope that my open windows give them a perfect glimpse of life in 306; because they are all apart of my beautiful vision. A dream realized.

humanity
2

About the Creator

Dios Mac

I am an artist of many expressions. I offer my understanding of myself, the world, and the human experience in my work. I hope what ever I express in my work finds you in the best of spirits and helps you along your journey. Love always.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.