Humans logo

My Pride Journey: How I Learned to Accept My Sexual Orientation.

At certain times in their life, people may identify more with one sexuality than the other.

By Sami TechPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
Image by Boris Štromar from Pixabay

INTRO.

When I was young, I was forced to hide my sexual orientation from everyone, including myself. Hiding in the closet like that didn’t make me feel proud of who I was; it made me feel as if there was something wrong with me and made me afraid of being judged by others. In time, though, I found the courage to come out, and my world has been more open and bright ever since.

When I was young.

Most young people are taught that being gay is a bad thing. They’re told it’s disgusting and immoral, or even that it can be cured. And if they do come out, many of them will be rejected by their friends and family. It seems like an impossible world to be gay in—but when I was growing up, my father taught me that it didn’t have to be that way. He taught me that our sexuality doesn’t define us; he taught me to accept myself for who I am. So what did he teach me? Let’s take a look at some key moments from my pride journey.

One day, while talking with one of his friends on the phone, he asked him what the word gay meant. We were sitting together at the time and I could tell something was bothering him as we talked about homosexuality as though it were a rare disease. When my dad hung up the phone, he turned to me and said That word means someone likes boys instead of girls.

When I was a teenager.

I felt trapped. I felt like there was no way out, and everything around me was telling me that my struggle wasn’t real. When you’re struggling with your identity and feeling like nobody understands, it can be very easy to feel alone. It can be very easy to think that nobody is in the same situation as you, so you have nobody to turn to for help or guidance. But the truth is, many people are going through the exact same thing you are right now. And I want to tell you that it gets better—that things will get easier—and most importantly, that you aren’t alone. You may not know it yet, but there are countless others who are on the same journey as you. The first step to finding them is accepting yourself for who you truly are. Your sexual orientation isn’t something that defines who you are; it’s just a part of the bigger picture of who you were created to be. The more time we spend living in denial about our true selves, the less fulfilled we become and the more pain we cause ourselves and those around us.

As an adult.

Most of us are introduced to the concept of sexual freedom at an early age. As kids, we’re told that sex is a taboo subject and shouldn’t be discussed—or even thought about. Of course, we think about it anyway and quickly realize that no one else seems as interested in talking about sex as we are. And when they do talk about it, they seem pretty embarrassed by the whole thing. In other words, the message most people get from their parents is something along the lines of Don’t have sex; if you do have sex, don’t tell anyone; if you tell anyone, lie. If you can follow these three simple rules your life will be fine. Oh, and there’s another rule: It doesn’t matter who you love or what gender(s) you like because love has nothing to do with sex.

Today.

Our sexual freedom coalition aims to bring awareness and end the persecution of people who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, or transgender. It’s time for the LGBT community to be accepted and celebrated. We are all human beings with the same basic needs and desires. We want to love, be loved, share our lives with someone special—and we should have the right to do so without fear of being ridiculed or discriminated against. The main argument against sexual freedom is that it promotes promiscuity and the spread of sexually transmitted diseases. However, if you look at the countries with the highest rates of STDs, they also tend to be some of the most repressed when it comes to sex. The national coalition for sexual freedom believes that everyone has a right to their own body, regardless of gender identity or orientation. The movement was born out of a need for visibility in a world where many still believe that homosexuality is wrong and immoral.

Conclusion.

This article tells the story of how one writer learned to accept their sexual orientation. They talk about the struggles they faced and the journey they took to get to a place of self-acceptance. If you are struggling to accept your own sexual orientation, this article offers some hope and guidance. Please like, follow and comment to show your support.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Sami Tech

I worked in writing and photography since 2017, After attaining a BA in journalism and Mass Communications at the University of Michigan. Tague is journalism career has led to positions at. the City Michigan journal and several weeklies.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.