Humans logo

My Niece Was Shot!

A call for help in recovery stage and to end domestic violence

By Slim Jim LongfootPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Parris Porter, survivor of domestic violence

As I write this, it is April 4th 2022. 54 years ago today Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. was assassinated. Earlier today I went with my sister to visit her daughter, my niece at a rehabilitation center. My niece is there because she is a survivor of domestic violence. Two months and two days ago on February 2nd 2022 despite the actions of a psychopath, my niece survived a gunshot to the head. I am so thankful that she survived and is recovering.

My family does need help. I have created a GoFundMe to ensure my niece's safe recovery and to help with the accumulating bills over the past two months. In a world where money is more valued than people, we must do better to protect our families. Men are suppose to protect their family not harm. From February 2nd to March 24th my niece was at the hospital. She was sent to the rehab center because she reached the threshold allotted for patients with no insurance. I selected the number of $500k to ensure that:

A. Any debt accumulated throughout this ordeal is paid.

B. Any future surgery costs (a piece of her skull is currently missing)

C. The physical and mental rehab she will need

D. Housing for her and her kids (at the time of the shooting she and her kids was preparing to move, the family of the psychopath owns the house they were staying at. At this time has yet to reach out to help or apologize on his behalf, other than to ask the kids to come to the February 24th memorial service. That was the biggest farce I ever witnessed in my life).

I thank you all who have sent prayers, blessings, manifestations of healing, donated and/or shared the GoFundMe link. Please continue to do so. I want my niece to be ok. For the record, I never liked that coward. I at least hoped he would be a protector. In instances such as this, I hate being right.

We was fortunate enough to have Hope Ford, a reporter from WXIA-TV Atlanta (11 Alive) to interview my sister and hear her recall that night when my niece was shot, because she was there. This ordeal has indeed been a challenge for my sister. Tending to my niece back and forth to the hospital and now the center and making sure my niece's kids (ages 14, 10 and 5) are taking care of as well.

I as a man have never been ok with men being violent towards women on the domestic level. It is truly the definition of a PUNK in my honest opinion. The "man" who shot my niece was her kids' father. Before this incident he had never harmed her on any physical level.

This is a call to men all over to CHECK OTHER MEN....because domestic violence is NEVER ok. As a man you are suppose to PROTECT your family. If your relationship ends, especially because of your own actions, then LET IT GO! To be on that "If I can't have you, no one can" mindset is BEYOND PATHETIC. I pray onto the Most High that no other woman ever has to be victim to the idiocy of domestic violence again. I know that is a stretch but if real men and women read this, please ensure that this is shared.

I wrote this article to manifest healing for my niece and blessings for her continued recovery process. For more details and updates, please go to my GoFundMe page.

Please donate to ensure her recovery. If you can't donate, PLEASE SHARE THIS OUT. https://gofund.me/78b57964

family
2

About the Creator

Slim Jim Longfoot

Artist/writer; co-founder of UGI Studios in Atlanta, GA. Self-published author of 4 books (three mature adult books and a motivational book), children's illustrator of three books and independent comic artist/writer. YouTuber.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.