Humans logo

My life in a Nutshell

The choices I have Made

By Jay LeTron DobbinsPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
My life in a Nutshell
Photo by Jake Blucker on Unsplash

Life is very much like the car you drive to get you to your final destination. It is very important you choose the right vehicle to make sure your trip is a pleasant one during the experienced events you take a chance to encounter. I have thought about this for some time and my description has nothing to do with how I value people, but it has a great deal as to how I value the decisions I have made in my life, right up to the current moment.

I have a joy for cars and expressing myself on paper. If anyone who truly knows me, will tell you those are my two greatest joys. I was recently asked to gauge my life in age quadrants. This exercise triggered a deeper thought and compelled me to write this. Hopefully this will give you a greater sense with your current decision process, because some of my life decisions were not so great, and others were ok to get by. Life is trial and error, but you don't want to be that person who always ends up last. I think that making your choices in the people you are close with, is essential to life success.

Now I will give you a fast forward version because when I look back on life, everything is a chance and there is never a sure shot in anything in life. So what I'm about to tell you has nothing to do with my life turning out any differently, but I tell you that I am truly sorry that I gave some sorry ass people a chance getting close to me.

Life really started in Atlanta, GA for me. The military was a "starting block" and should I set myself up better financially, I would not be facing some of the problems I am facing now. However, the experience is like no other and I am glad that I served my country (where it is hard for me to get a business loan). Nonetheless, Atlanta presented many opportunities and life was full access. Good job with potential of growth and nice perks. Access to sporting events (court side or lower level seats) and could always place my hand on a ticket with the right connections. Life's journey was on the way! I could care less of the car I used to get there, I was just having fun at the moment. Well Atlanta had all kinds of sports cars and exotic vehicles to drive, but along with the looks and the "high-speed" life, came the maintenance tag and responsibilities that came with these exotic vehicles. The journey was fun, but living my life with the RPMs being redlined most of the time, was a certain plan for early burn out. Though I often enjoyed the nights out and driving exotic vehicles, my mental compacity could not take this lifestyle for long. With a combination of life events and my desire to want different in life, relocation was the solution to remove me from the current surroundings and focus on something new.

New city and a new vibe, with more practical vehicles to take on life's journey. Unlike the exotic and fast, high maintenance type in Atlanta, the models are "better" equipped for the mentality that my life had in mind and the ride to my destination would be smoother and with a sensible approach. I had the "perfect" vehicle in mind and did not want to trade, or sell. Seeing what was before me, was the right fit to rides life's journey and the rest was history. Just take care of the maintenance here and there, and continue to put those things into place in order to keep my vehicle in good shape to last for the long haul and what life had in store.

Well someone did not put the owner's manual in the car or did not give it to me. What appeared to be a magnificent vehicle in the beginning, turn out to be a "buy here, pay here" special with electrical problems and then the performance issues started to surface. Now as I look back on life, I consider what I had and now my current situation. One would say that I was better off living the fast life and driving exotic vehicles was a better option. However, there is no "solid" outcome on anything we decide to do in life. The best results come from those lessons we learn from the decision we have made in life.

travel
1

About the Creator

Jay LeTron Dobbins

Casual writer! Love to express in print! Tell people how you feel and love life to the fullest with no regrets. Try to say something good about a person when they can hear it, and not when they are gone! Love like no tomorrow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.