Humans logo

My Journey From Shy to Independence and Bravery

true independence comes from having the courage to pursue our dreams

By Yogesh SawantPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
My Journey From Shy to Independence and Bravery
Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

I am Sam, and I've always been an independent and curious person. As a child, I spent hours exploring my surroundings, asking questions, and trying to figure things out on my own.

As I grew older, my sense of independence only grew stronger. I began to challenge authority, question the status quo, and forge my own path in life. While some saw me as rebellious or difficult, I saw myself as someone who refused to settle for mediocrity or conformity.

After I finished high school, I decided not to go to college like most of my peers. Instead, I took a gap year to travel and explore the world. I backpacked through Europe, volunteered on an organic farm in South America, and taught English to children in Asia.

During my travels, I learned to rely on myself and my instincts. I faced challenges and obstacles, but I always found a way to overcome them. I learned new languages, tried new foods, and met people from all walks of life.

When I returned home, I felt more confident and self-assured than ever before. I decided to start my own business, using my savings from my travels to invest in a small online shop. I worked hard to create a brand and a product that I believed in, and slowly but surely, my business began to grow.

At first, it was difficult. I had to learn everything from scratch, from managing finances to marketing my products. But I refused to give up, and eventually, my hard work paid off. My business became successful, and I became financially independent.

One incident that stands out in my mind where I had to become brave was when I was travelling in Asia during my gap year. I had decided to take a solo trek in a remote mountain range, and everything was going smoothly until I suddenly found myself in the midst of a dangerous storm.

The wind was howling, the rain was pounding down, and I was completely exposed to the elements. I knew that I needed to find shelter quickly if I was going to make it through the storm alive. I searched frantically for a place to take cover, but there was nothing in sight.

As the storm grew more intense, I began to feel a sense of panic rising inside me. I had never felt so alone and vulnerable in my life. But I knew that I had to keep a level head if I was going to make it out of this situation alive.

Drawing on my inner strength, I forced myself to remain calm and focused. I remembered the survival skills that I had learned during my travels and put them into practice. I used my backpack to build a makeshift shelter and huddled inside, trying to wait out the storm.

For hours, I lay there, listening to the sound of the rain pounding down and the wind howling around me. But eventually, the storm began to subside. The clouds parted, and the sun broke through, illuminating the world around me.

As I emerged from my shelter, I felt a sense of exhilaration and triumph. I had faced a dangerous situation and come out on the other side. I had proven to myself that I was capable of being brave and resourceful in the face of adversity.

That experience taught me a valuable lesson about the power of inner strength and resilience. It gave me the courage to continue pursuing my dreams and taking risks, knowing that I had the capacity to face any challenge that came my way.

My independence allowed me to live life on my own terms. I traveled when I wanted, pursued my hobbies, and spent time with the people I loved. I didn't have to answer to anyone but myself, and that freedom was the greatest reward.

Through my journey, I learned that independence was not just about being self-sufficient or stubborn. It was about being true to oneself, taking risks, and pursuing one's passions. I had become the independent person I had always wanted to be, and I knew that my future was bright and full of possibilities.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Yogesh Sawant

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.