Humans logo

My Imagination

“Miss you Mandy, Love Wes”

By Cathy DeslippePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Beautiful juicy grapes - the best crop we have ever had.

Your Always On My Mind

“Hi everyone, my name is Wes. I was born and raised on a beautiful vineyard in the eastern parts of Europe.” “ Hope you don’t mind , but I really want to share my heartbreaking story with you?”

Very secretly I have had a great love for a young lady ,called Mandy. Years ago she came and worked on our vineyard ,on a study she was doing on cross breeding grapes. My family were honoured to have her come, I was to. The more I got to know her, my love for her just grew. Yet Mandy was there to do her work, if she had any passions for me, I never knew.

Mandy lived miles away. I kept in touch with her over social media, sent her pictures of our land, most importantly there was always a photo of me. Printed on the back -” Miss you Mandy, Love Wes”.

I know, you probably think I sound like a looser, I should have and could have told her I really loved her. I dont think it was the coward in me, yet I really wanted Mandy to succeed in her studies (graduate and do what she had always wanted to do). Maybe a very big part of me, was waiting for Mandy to feel the same.

You are always on my mind

I would be picking grapes and stop in my tracks and invision the two of us, down by the lake. I would have a beautiful chicken dinner prepared, soft music to listen to or dance. Most of all our finest Merlot (our favourite) poured. Shaking myself off, I had to get back to work but most importantly, I needed to tell Mandy soon. Her graduation was coming up.

I Really Needed To Know More

I didn't want to look like a fool the next time I talked with Mandy, I wanted to take an interest in things that she liked (corny - right guys) ,but I had it bad for her.

My MaMa spent so much time when Mandy came to visit ,so I decided it was time to share my passion with her, also learn of the things MaMa may have known about her that I didn't.

"Oh Wesley, my son. Your in love, how could this be when she is miles away?"

On the other hand MaMa told me of Mandy's passion for painting, for an enquired french taste of food. She also spoke of one day settling down and finding her true soul mate. Possibly live on a farm and have a family, while she still studied. MaMa had excitement in her voice, yet a smile so brightly when she looked up at me. "Oh Wesley, you must share your feelings and tell her soon, love doesn't happen to often."

Having Something In Common

Reading front to back, I hoped I hadn't missed a page of every recipe I could find. Now the trick was to try to cook them and see what they taste liked. I failed on a lasagne but my French steak with all the fixings were perfecto. My brother Brock sat right up beside me and finished off what I couldn't eat. The Merlot, the French steak and homemade buns were successful and now it was time to share with my sweet "Mandy".

"I am so excited, FaceTime is Loading"

FaceTime Date Is Planned

After my plan got into action I thought I could just relax. Actually I was swetting with my favorite denim shirt on, my cologne (had no idea why I put that on). Checked my hair, didn't look to bad (spiked a bit), I was trying my best. (maybe to hard)

I had checked to make sure our French dinners had arrived on time, each two bottles of the best Merlot and bouquet of Lilacs and soon it was time.

Wow, there she was. "Hello my beautiful Mandy".

We had so much fun, she couldn't believe all that I did to set up the date ovr the internet. She even called it her first date with me. We laughed at how I ruined lasagne, pouring our Merlot like it was water. Listening to some amazing music. We even got close to the screen to see each other up close.

It was that moment, looking deep into her eyes I said." I have loved you since you came to visit".

A tear trickled down her cheek," I love you to Wes". I always have. A kiss on a computer screen for now.

Marigolds of Passion

Summer Brought More Than Marigolds - My Mandy Came Home To Stay

Mandy arrived, this time there was no computer screen, just the two of us. I honestly have never kissed a woman, like I kissed her. As for the rest, "were heading to the lake". xo

  • “Waiting can seem like forever when it comes to passion of the heart”
  • “Yet the distance grew us so close, will never be apart”
  • love
    1

    About the Creator

    Cathy Deslippe

    Catherine Deslippe

    At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

    Reader insights

    Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

    How does it work?

    Add your insights

    Comments

    There are no comments for this story

    Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sign in to comment

      Find us on social media

      Miscellaneous links

      • Explore
      • Contact
      • Privacy Policy
      • Terms of Use
      • Support

      © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.