Humans logo

My heart break turned into opportunities.

High school through college.

By Rén.Published 4 years ago 5 min read
Like

Hi, this story is hard for me and to this day still makes me a little upset. The people in this will be random names to hide the real names.

This all started up in my junior year of high school. Me and my friends went to prom and one of the girls “Sarah” (that i didn’t know) was chilling with us and her boyfriend. Sarah didn’t want to dance the whole prom so she let her date dance with us. The guy “Trent” interstates into our friend group after that. Trent and Sarah broke up after a month of dating.

Trent is still in our friend group and she left. After awhile me and Trent started to date. We dated my 2nd semester of junior year , of and on for 3 years. We loved eachother so much, after a year he got me a promise ring. He was my first kiss, and took away my innocence. In high school, I was not that talk ice so I never had a boyfriend up until this point . I was focused on my grades and getting into college but there was something about him. Trent was the funniest, caring , sweet and very handsome. I was seventeen and he was sixteen when we started to date. Up until my senior year, my friend got a little to interested in him and started to tell him what I had told her in secret about my feelings. Trent helped me through my anorexia , helped me through all my health issues and cared. Whenever we stoped talking he still made sure I was ok when he noticed I wasn’t in class or he didn’t see me in the hallways since our classes were close to eachothers. This girl , her name was Cara. Cara and I were friends since ninth grade. One day me and Trent had an argument and it involved me balling my eyes out running away, Trent went after me but cara stopped him. Instead of her comforting me, she went to him. Later that day...she told me . Trent broke up with me and she had told Trent I broke up with him. So me and him stopped talking. Since it wasn’t right that we weren’t talking or in eachothers life we made up, and became friends. Trent denied cara and her feeling so she stopped being friends with him. While I found out later on that she was the reason we broke up. Me and Trent were just friends from then on. He still drove me home, took me to church , and hung out like normal.

eventually all good things come to an end , we tried again. To be with eachother. That lasted 4 months until my 1st semester in college. Trent realized he couldn’t be with me because I was to far away and I could find someone better. (Bs excuse if you ask me). That was the last time and when I heard that something snapped in me. I went through an uncontrollable depression. I drank, slept, and talked to no one. For my whole first semester I don’t remember. I passed all my classes , and continued onto my second year. Life without Trent.. did not feel right. He was there for my junior and senior prom, my graduation and me getting my acceptance letter.

Years go by , where I still though about him. Tried to text him , but I was always ignored. Of course Trent found someone new, broke up with her for the same reason and kept moving on. While I was just stuck. I couldn’t get over him , I cried every night in my dorm room because it was so routine to FaceTime before bed. I never went home because he lived down the street. Even though I only lived an hour away I couldn’t bring myself to go home. When I did go home, I didn’t go out...hell I didn’t even tell my “friends” I was home.

Eventually I got over him . Met a nice guy and we dated for 6 months before he broke up with me. I’m thinking at this point , I have to be not enough for anyone to want me. Which made things spiral even more. After awhile i went on dates , and dated one more person. Realized it felt weird to be with someone else, but I had to come to a realization Trent no longer loved me.

I go onto my 3rd year and I’m finally of with being alone . Today I am still in college, I have one more semester until I graduate. I haven’t thought about him much but I know I do not need him. When I started to work where I do now. I met a guy , who is two years older than I am. Matt is the sweetest guy I’ve ever met. We started talking and now we are dating. In those years before I met him , I realized even though it was so hard , I had to love myself and become confident. I had to shake off the damage that Trent caused me to feel and realize that I am worth it and I’m worthy of love.

Me and Matt have been dating for months and I’ve never thought about Trent once. Me and Trent still now and then talk but I realized .....I love Matt way more than I ever loved Trent . Matt saved me from myself and all of the doubt. He treats me like how men are supposed to treat women. With respect and so much love and care.

When I decided to forget Trent I worked on me. Instead of still alone in my room I went to the gym and worked on my body , I started taking my medication and getting on track. I stopped drinking and studied . Made friends and we hung out everyday and had sleepovers . To this day I am still friends with them and Matt introduced me to other friends who I love dearly. They all saved me from any doubt of me being not worthy. They all include me whoever they go out , and keep me up to date of parties Incase I’m off of work.

Getting over Trent was the best and hardest thing I’ve ever done. It opened so many doors and closed more. That part of my life is a good memory but that’s what it will always be. Just a memory.

breakups
Like

About the Creator

Rén.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.