Humans logo

My Habiby

Part 1

By Carin OdenPublished 4 years ago 9 min read
Like
The Pyramids of Giza. Photo courtesy of Carin Oden

I never imagined this day would come. I mean, I hoped and prayed it would for many years now, but never actually thought I would see the day.

My Husband, of 13 years, has finally decided to let me go.

Its a surprisingly mild day in the middle of October as I sit here smoking a Benson and Hedges Menthol light.

Mel hated the fact that I smoke.

I think I'll have 2.

With the sun beating on my face like a hot towel I am at a loss for words.

Do I cry? For the failure of my marriage that was doomed on my wedding day? Cry? For the fear of my family comparing me to my mother who has failed 5 marriages by this point???

Do I run? Fast as lightening, like a caged animal that has barely escaped the grasp of her captor. Run fast into the dense forest only to fade into the darkness??

What about my 2 kids? What will they think of me?

My boy, 13, is a strong and handsome young man who is starting to adjust to his changing body and deepening voice. I call him Jono. His name is Jonathan but when he was 6 months old his baby sitter nicknamed him Jono and I have been calling him that ever since.

My girl, 9, Julia, is my "Mini me". Attitude for days, but totally Mommas girl and if anyone would have my back Julia would be the one I could count on.

I guess I've got some decisions to make. Like which club I was going to visit first.

All I can do right now is turn on my P.C, get on Youtube and play my favorite song. Turn that volume up and listen to my girl Beyonce sing "All the single ladies, now put your hands up."

Since my computer is open I decide to go to AOL.com and check out a chat room. Why not chat with some fellow singles?? Maybe they can show me what all the hooplah is about. Why is it so much fun living the "single life"?

I've never been single since I've moved out of my parents house at the age of 18. I moved straight to Arizona and lived with my Father. Then, when I got pregnant with Jono I moved back to Washington to live with my Oma and Opa. After I had Jono at age 19 I met Mel, and married him at age 20 in order to get cheaper car insurance.

Did I mention "doomed" from my wedding day???

I hear the all too familiar "Ding" from AOL instant messenger. It startled me, as I haven't been on the internet scene in a very long time. I didn't know what to expect.

I decided to just go with it. It's just the internet, right?

A man presented me with an "ice-breaker" to start the instant message.

"ASL check" He typed.

I felt smart, as I knew this was an acronym.

Ok, my teenager taught me the basics. These teens know all the secret codes for chat room talk.

I replied, "31, F, Washington."

"Ding" I hear again. "My name is Hesham" he replied in the text.

I typed back, "Where from?"

"Egypt." he quickly replied.

I have been intrigued with the ancient civilization ever since I first learned about it briefly in high school. Many years ago.

Hesham and I talked all night.

I never made it to the club, as I stayed glued to that computer screen for hours and hours. Talking to this strange man from across the world.

He is an IT Engineer for a major airline in that Middle East area.

Good Job. Check

Great communication without a translator. Check

So far so good.

We talked and talked and before I knew it the clock said 5:00 am. Oh Crap I have to be at work at 9:00 am.

Time to get some sleep.

We said our "Goodbyes", but with promises of speaking again later.

It was difficult to concentrate at work today, while my mind was fluttered with the thought of this exotic, Egyptian man.

I think I was more interested in getting a picture of him so I could see if he looked like what my mind had already made him look like.

That night when I got home from work I went straight to my computer to see if he happened to be there waiting for me when I showed up. I waited for a whole 4 minutes.

"Ding" said AOL.

"Hi", I replied in the text.

We started right where we left off from earlier in the morning.

"Can I get a picture of you Hesham?" I asked shyly.

"Just turn on your camera." He replied

Camera? Huh? Ok, I'm new to this technology stuff.

"How?" I asked. I didn't want to sound too behind.

"I don't think I have one, Hesham." I sighed.

"LOL" he typed.

I know that acronym, too, thanks to my teenager. I made myself chuckle inside.

"Go to the store and buy one. They're not that expensive, and then we can video chat". He suggested.

"Ok". I promised

We chatted for a few more minutes, but then he had to run. There's a 10 hour time difference and this time he had to get some sleep before work.

"Goodnight, Habibty" He said.

Radio Shack was right up the street from my house. They don't close till 9:00 pm and it's 8:15 pm right now so I made the drive over there. The drive was exciting and I don't think I obeyed any traffic laws on the way there. A 10 minute drive took me 6.

I ran into the store and told the clerk what I needed. He was quick to find the correct webcam, and rang me up. He sent me on my way.

When I got home I ran into the house and hooked up my webcam to my computer and joined the AOL chat room. I was just sitting there watching and reading the conversations between all these men and women. Interesting, to say the least.

"Ding" said AOL.

My heart pounded out of my chest. It was him.

"Hi Hesham, I thought you were sleeping." I started.

"Hi, Carin. I couldn't sleep. My mind wouldn't stop thinking about you." he explained. "Did you get a webcam yet?" he asked.

"Yeah, I did. I'm turning it on now." I said, nervously. "Can you see me?"

Both of our cameras were on and working well. I can finally see the man that I have been thinking about none stop since our first instant message. Oh My Gosh!!!! He is everything and more than I imagined. He is Egyptian.

Of course, I already knew that but he is more than that to me. He looks like an Egyptian God with his slightly wavy hair cut short. He sported a perfectly groomed goatee. He is not dark, and not brown. More like a slight tan. He is dressed like a business man who travels in 1st class on every flight he takes.

"Carin, you are so beautiful". He said, matter of factly. "You are far more beautiful than I could've imagined", He muttered .

I believed him. I don't know why. But, I did. What is wrong with me? This man is 15 hours flight across the planet. Nothing can ever become of this.

Over the next 2 months, Hesham and I talk everyday. Sometimes more than 2 times. Sometimes for hours at a time. We were always on camera and headphones.

We never ran out of things to talk about.

We talked about my kids, our dreams, our future, and of course, his virginity.

Yes, he admitted to being a virgin. At age 34, this exotic and absolutely beautiful Egyptian man with the sexy accent has never laid down to enjoy the pleasures of a beautiful women???

He swears this to be the truth.

"Ok." I whispered.

"Carin, Habibty, I think I'm falling in love with you!" He said, quietly.

I was speechless. Not because I didn't believe him. In fact, I completely, without any doubt, believed him.

I was speechless because I was in love with him too. And that scared me. How could this work? I thought to myself. How on Earth can 2 people half a world away possibly act on the feelings they share in the deepest way?

"I'll start saving money." he said. As he smiled that flirty smile, his dimple on his left cheek popped out at me and made me smile.

"For what?" I wondered. I wasn't quite sure where he was going with that statement.

"Come to Egypt." He said. "Just to visit me for a week. I'll take you around Egypt and show you the Pyramids and the Sphynx. I'll rent a flat that we can stay in while you're here." He proclaimed with excitement.

"Umm.....Seriously?" I asked

"Yes, Carin. I want to be with you and I don't want to wait any longer."

His voice sounded like desperation. The sound of longing for someone who was just out of reach. Trembling.

I'm sure it's expensive to fly that far from this side of the U.S.A. (West Coast), so I'm sure saving up will take a while, but I've never had an opportunity like this before. How could I possibly pass it up? This is what you call a "Once in a lifetime" type offer.

"Ok, Hesham. I'll come meet you, but I can only stay a week because my kids need me." I proclaimed.

"I understand." He said. "Of course."

The next day I learned the intense process of obtaining a U.S passport. It takes a lot longer than I expected because you have to have all the appropriate documents, all the proper forms filled out, the perfect size passport photo taken and all the funds to pay for it.

But, I am determined to get to Egypt and see this Virgin Egyptian man.

I've never taken anyones virginity before. And thats the only place my mind would go as I stood in line at the Post Office.

The required documents, forms and fess are being sent out at once.

The process is supposed to take up to a month or so.

We shall see.

In the meantime, Hesham and I don't skip a beat on the communication.

Everyday we talk. For hours everyday, throughout the entire day.

What seems like every minute of free time is dedicated to each other.

I can't wait to show this man what love in person really feels like.

To be continued......

love
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.